We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and good value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenan Lodge Guest House
Ranked #17 of 29 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at Glenan Lodge for four nights. Due to the b&b being full to capacity, we were upgraded to a a family size room with a double bed and two singles, so plenty of room for us! It was very comfortable, clean, had a tv with limited free view channels and tea and coffee making facilites. The room also had en-suite toilet and shower which suited our needs.
As we had a long drive up to Glenan Lodge, at the time of booking we requested if we could have an evening meal on our first night. It was the best decision we made! The food was fresh and tasted great and very good value for money - so we ended up eating there every night of our stay! Breakfast was fantastic too - with options available, and it was cooked to order.
The b&b is out of the way, so it was very quiet, but perfect for us. As we came for a driving holiday - we used the b&b as our centre point and was able to drive anywhere we wanted to.
The owners of the Glenan Lodge, Lesley and Rob were such a nice couple and made us feel very welcome. If we go back to Scotland, we would definately try and stay here again.

**If you are using Sat-nav to get to the b&b, it may tell you to turn right at the brown tourist signs for Glenan Lodge, this will direct you up a very narrow lane with lots of pot hols - however, if you turn left at the "Tomatin" sign and follow the road round to the whiskey distillery, you can drive up up this road, follow it under the bridge and turn right, and you will arrive at the parking area and the b&b after the cattle grid.**

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazylady83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

We where made very welcome.
The room was excellent, very big and roomy and very clean.
The breakfasts and evening meals where absolutely delicious.
Aviemore, Inverness and lots of other lovely areas all close to hand.
We will be recommending the Glenan Lodge Guest House to everyone we know, and will be ringing up again soon to rebook for another week.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the family room and perfect for any family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scouserbabe64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Arrived at 6.50pm and was told if i'd arrived 5 minutes earlier they would have fed me but now would have to travel to Carrbridge to find food. Also be specific about what you would like for breakfast or you'll go hungry!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fudgie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Stayed for a 2 night break to relax and enjoy outdoor activities. You need a car to get out and about. The owners can organise fishing on the local river. There are plenty of good places to eat within 20 minutes drive and the owners does serve evening meals with a bar on site.The large house is 100 years old but despite it being the first cold night of the autumn it was warm inside. The breakfast included excellent local produce.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Stayed here for one night on the way around Scotland. Ignore the signs off the A9 and head through the distillery to get to the guest house as the signed route is full of pot holes. Although we faced a bumpy journey from the A9 the welcome was very warm. We had advised ahead we would be having dinner, which was served at 715. A tasty two course, home cooked meal at a very reasonable price with local beers which were very nice. After dinner, we went for a walk into the village - although if we had had more time we would have walked down to the viaducts. The room was very clean and very comfortable. Home cooked breakfast the next morning was a great way to start the day. We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ash_Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2009

We found the road to the guest house enchanting! It's not in a big city, but nestled nicely down an old little road. The house on the outside is beautiful :) Looks very pretty. And on the inside it only gets better! Robert and Lesley were very friendly! They helped us plan out our route for site seeing the two days we were there. We had a lovely stay, the room was beautiful! And the food was delicious!
We can not say enough to describe what a nice place it is! :) We are defiantly going to stay at the Glenan Lodge Guest House on our next trip to Scotland!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snowboardingwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Glenan lodge was booked online and looked good in the photo. The house was approached down a potholed track which my wifes car could only just traverse. The house was nice with an attractive dineing room, and very smart lounge. Our room was somewhat dark, but OK. On arrival we were told to adhere to our alocated time for breakfast as the Landlady was on her own for six weeks and she had "seventeen in".Although on her own ,I got the impression that any number of bookings would have been taken regardless of staff shortages just to "get the cash in". The "nearby" Pub discussed over the phone was in fact about a mile away, and as we had to use the car it may as well have been ten miles away. There was abar in the dineing room, but no amount of ringing the bell could get a response.We were first downin the morning, had no problems, and breakfast was OK. Later guests, undecided what to order were told to get a move on as there were more guests coming down shortly! We loaded the car , and I was almost afraid to pop back in and pay the bill incase I was holding her up! All in all I think you could do a lot better than staying at Glenan Lodge. Peter and Beryl Wright, Bedford

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank critical6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
8.5 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
263 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,316 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Cairngorm Guest House
Cairngorm Guest House
#12 of 29 in Aviemore
288 reviews
8.6 mi away
Craigellachie Guest House
Craigellachie Guest House
#3 of 8 in Carrbridge
133 reviews
8.4 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#5 of 8 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenan Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenan Lodge Guest House

Address: Tomatin | Inverness-shire, Aviemore IV13 7YT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range: £80 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenan Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glenan Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenan Lodge Guest House Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing