We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food / Poor Name Choice” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roo's Leap

Roo's Leap
Ranked #9 of 61 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$22
Cuisines: British, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food / Poor Name Choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Having previously lived “down under”, I was looking forward to some authentic Australian food and beers. Unfortunately, despite a number of Aussie beers being on the drinks menu the staff member informed me “we don’t sell any Australian beers”. A casual perusal of the food menu was equally as baffling with only two “Australian” themed dishes. That said, the food was very good and you could not fault the efficiency of the staff or the atmosphere with plenty of Peter Lik photos on the walls which were a nice touch. Overall left the place feeling my hunger was satisfied and we had a reasonable time but I was left completely confused about the ability of an establishment to call itself Australian despite only selling three things which could be considered of that origin. One of those things was Fosters lager, which is brewed in Edinburgh and rarely found in Australia. 8/10 for the food, 2/10 for the Australian theme.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HospitalityMan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    262
    91
    24
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A pleasurable meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

As u enter it is a warming feling with a quick sevice the restaurant is set out well with a range of Australian items
THE MENU
Contains a selection of aussie meals meal arrives quick over all i give it a 4 star it has been a good meal

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Theaakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great value food and friendly staff ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We have been here for dinner and lunch and enjoyed all the food we have had. We even got to watch the steam train going out from the station which was a bonus

Helpful?
Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had dinner there 2 evenings in a row this week. There is a lot of choice on the menu so we could take all different courses when we came back the 2nd time. Each time the food was very good (and the portions were quite big), and the staff was efficient and very friendly. Very good cheeseburgers, beef fajitas, chili and jamaican jerked chicken, and lemon cheesecake ;)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Camille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Went with friends and had pre-booked a table. When we arrived there was a 15 minute wait but we were given menus to look at while we waited and could have had a drink. Food was excellent - good quality, large portions. The TGI Fridays of Aviemore!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jackieandgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roo's Leap also viewed

Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to Roo's Leap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing