We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club
Nearby Hotels
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairwinds Hotel(Carrbridge)
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boat Hotel(Boat of Garten)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cairngorm Hotel(Aviemore)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
55
78
59
35
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
78
59
35
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshole golf courseswimming poolelectricity chargessun roomthrough rcisports facilitiesscottish nightself cateringchip shopdining tablecoffee tablemaster bedroomcleaning staffchanging areasteam roomlog burnergreat holiday
Filter
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We have a timeshare at Lochanhully and have been desperate to get rid of it for years, but you can't give them away for nothing at the moment so as a consequence, we have swapped our week for alternative Macdonald resorts for the last years and this was our first time at one of the old wooden chalets within the Dalfaber complex.

The chalets look like large garden sheds from the outside, however, inside ours was well decorated and furnished. They also have flat screen tv, dvd player and broadband. My only complaint would be with the windows, which do not close tightly enough. As a result most of the heat generated from the electric storage heaters is lost through the windows. Maybe this suits Macdonald Resorts as they charge a small and presumably very profitable fortune for the electricity used over the course of the week, in our case just over £40!

The reception, swimming pool bar and restaurant are very good and the staff very friendly. We only popped in once for a few drinks, the night the pub quiz was on, and the staff were happy for us to sit in a lovely quiet area, close to the open fire in the restaurant and we had a great night.

We will definitely return, possibly even at the same time of year, and probably ask for one of the chalets overlooking the gold course as the views are superb. Aviemore is lovely at this time of year when there is a fair bit of snow around, which makes the scenery even more beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a chalet right next to the golf course as the views are amazing
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKSAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Nice for a short break - the rooms are definitely dated and could be doing with some work to tidy them up. However the main reception has a lovely pool and bar/food (did not try the food there). Nice area and if you get the weather great for walks and cycling.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

stayed in a chalet in December 2012 was very comfy &cosy once we heated it up was really cold at that time of yr ,ate mostly in the chalet with take outs ,used the hotel swimming pool I used the sauna facilities & my daughter used the swimming pool had trouble getting her out of it ,also shopped in Aviemore didn't do much while staying the wkend there as weather was too cold but enjoyable place to visit on the way home visited the highland wildlife park .

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Stayed here as a time share swop with Interval International for home resort in Gran Canaria. Wanted to see snow and we certainly did - 4 days of it! Plan was to walk or stay in and chill - we certainly chilled as the heating in the 6 person lodge just wasn't adequate to get comfortable in February temperatures - even with an extra portable fire. Additionally the charge for electricity for the heating added around £10 per day just to stay mildly warm. There was a nice open fireplace and wood could be purchased but not of an easy to light variety - possibly damp.
Lodge itself was great with plenty of space and facilities including a sauna and overlooking the river with a conservatory balcony - summer should be wonderful. Restaurant in clubhouse was OK with excellent value £6 meal 5 to 6 p.m. Wine prices horrendous though as per the rest of this area.
If the weather had been warmer I'm sure we would have been very happy or if we could have warmed up properly without having to worry about the cost - all would have been different.
The Aviemore area itself is OK for eating, shopping, cinema and a good base for winter sports and walking and trips to many surrounding lochs and nature areas. Just take plenty of clothing layers in February!!

Room Tip: If staying in a lodge ask for a river view
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dashwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We had an exchange to a chalet in Dalfaber for the Christmas week. Check in etc was smooth and the chalet was nice however tiny kitchen , with no work surfaces and all the cupboards were full so there is nowhere to put any food you might have (essential for self catering accommodation I would have thought). On the plus side there was plenty of crockery, cutlery and utensils. It is supposed to sleep 6 but that would be impossible as there were 4 of us and we were tripping over each other at times no more than one person in the kitchen area at a time. Christmas dinner was a huge challenge with the lack of work surfaces, but we got there. There is no washing machine, which we were told in advance but there was no dishwasher either (although given the size of the kitchen I can understand why it is still something I think is standard in most places now). The pool was nice enough, but not very disabled friendly it needs updating and requires handrails for the walk in steps and clear indication of where the sauna and steam rooms are, we found them but they are not obvious.

The steak club was lovely we ate there twice but very pricey if you don't go for the £6 for certain dishes between 5pm and 6pm.

I have stayed in places with better facilities and expected better from a Macdonald resort. Dalfaber is a beautiful area but the chalet accommodation need to be upgraded in line with other time share resorts in the area and I would say 4 people is the absolute maximum in a 2 bedroom chalet.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirkychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews