We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club
scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A perfect break”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I was looking for a 2 night break for my daughter, granddaughter (18 months) and myself not too far from where I live. From the moment we walked into the Cairngorm lodge we knew we had found the perfect place. The living room, sunroom looking over the cairngorm mountains, the bedrooms ..... The whole place was spotlessly clean (as was whole complex) and extremely well equipped if you were there self catering.

My daughter and I both agreed that this place was so peaceful and relaxing and we wished we had booked longer. Will definitely return with hubby next time :)

We used swimming pool which was lovely and warm but did not manage any other facilities.

Room Tip: The living area is upstairs which can be a minor negative point given that we had to carry wee one u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gintyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    66
    45
    25
    19
See reviews for
102
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

We are just coming to the end of a week long stay, and have had a lovely week. We stayed in one of the Patio houses, which are really well done. Three bedrooms and be attached to the other, so good if you have young children as we have. The conservatory and private garden area is lovely too. The house is very well equipped ad had things in it that meant we didn't need to get, ie Tupperware containers, flask....etc etc. the elec bill was a little more than expected, but overall still felt really good value. Our house was in the middle of the complex, so although not really private, it was still very nice and a great view, for which I would say they all seem to have. We used the pool and kids play area a lot. They were both good and kept our three year old well entertained. The only down side was the tv and Internet which you pay fifteen pounds for, the signal is rather poor and ld to frustrations in the week when match of the day wouldn't play! Other than that, really pleased with our stay. Definitely recommend.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JoFerguson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

My husband and I went with our baby for a week in April. We stayed in the Cairngorm Lodge and it was the peaceful week we had hoped for and already planning a return visit with another family. The resort has many different lodges but I think the Cairngorm looks the biggest and its probably the only one I would return to with a baby.
The leisure facilites are great, really clean and the changing facilities and spa are all new.
The restaurant was ok. Quite over priced and our steaks did take an hour to arrive! Probaly the only let down of our week.
The scenery is beautiful. Loved sitting in our conservatory at night with a bottle of wine looking over the golf course.

Room Tip: Cairngorm villa. Cabins look very small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janers2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This is just a fifteen minute walk away from the town and the scenery is outstanding . The lodges are well equipped and are very comfortable , we used the facilities and the pool was fantastic and the pub was cosy and not to pricey .The restaurant was not used as very overpriced head into town for fantastic value for money meals especially the pub called the winking owl. All in all a great stay although watch for the hidden extras even though you have fully paid for your lodge ect on checking out they charge you for the electricity you have used which should really have been part of the original cost !!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Was concerned that our choice of a chalet for an unusually chilly march (-10 on our last night) would result in either a huge heating bill or poor quality of sleep but we were delighted with the property and how cosy it was. The chalet kitchen was well resourced and the dining/ conservatory ideal for families who enjoy eating at a table and/or playing board games. We had a super 3 night stay and used many of the on site facilities the pool was lovely and warm and never overly busy. The Steak Club was a lovely place to eat (nice wine too) but the pizza/chippy in the near by housing estate worth a visit as well. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, we will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatNap66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We have just returned from a week's holiday in one of the wooden chalets as this was a timeshare exchange. Well impressed with the size of the chalets as there was only the two of us plus our dog. Views from chalet were lovely and our dog loved all the walks we took him for on and around the complex. As we were out and about during the day we only used the heating late afternoon till bedtime and our bill for the week was £22. We ate at the Scottish Steak Club a couple of nights and the food was superb. Good selection and you could choose to eat in the restaurant or in the lounge area. Just down the road there is a small supermarket, chip shop and pizza takeaway and we can recommend both if you dont want to cook. Plenty to do in and around Aviemore and can highly recommend it. Brilliant that you can take your dog with you and a few of the local pubs etc also allow dogs in. Although the pool had to close due to a problem it looked very nice, clean and ideal for families. All staff very friendly. 18 hole golf course well worth a visit if you golf. They are building a new club house at present. Holes are long but the views are stunning. 9 hole course on site which is free if you are staying at the resort. Was always people playing on it. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne250253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Booked a two bed Cairngorm Villa, at (was known as Dalfaber ) Now Spey valley country club. The Villa was a semi detatched upside down house, Master and twin bedrooms both with own en-suite downstairs, Lots of under stairs storage, then upstairs to another bathroom, Lounge(sleeps another 2) / Dining room, Fully equiped kitchen, and an upstairs Conservatory with views over the Golf course and the Cairngorm mountains.... The Accomadation was an excellent standard, There was a on sight restraunt which we didnt use but it looked nice, the pool area was nice and warm too! (although chilly in the changing area! ) We used this as our bacse of a ski trip , it was a good base and good location with a bus service up to the mountains too( We needed it one day as our car broke down! ...there is a garage 5 mins away so that was handy too!) The town of Aviemore is a traditional Ski resort like you would find in the alpes, with lots of ski/outdoor equipment style shops, a pub, few restraunts,bakers and TESCO for all your essentials. We went here as we couldnt afford to Ski abroad this year, we were pleased with our choice great value ski holiday in Scotland ! Even more snow and slopes than we had thought there would be, we will deffinatly return - its not the Alps but its a deffinatly worth a visit rather than not skiing at all! -- ps in the summer it will also be lovely as you have loch morlich which offers waterspors(see the sign!) and mountain biking / walking in the mountains!

Room Tip: We had Villa no 3, which overlooked the golf course,stream and mountains ! spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunnybunnymoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.9 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.8 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,253 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club

Property: Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club
Address: Dalfaber Drive | PH22 1ST, Aviemore, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spey Valley Golf & Country Club borders the famous River Spey with spectacular views of the surrounding Spey Valley and Cairngorm Mountains. The Resort is close to the lively village of Aviemore.Spey Valley Golf & Country Club offers luxury lodges, spacious apartments and cosy Scandinavian style chalets scattered around a nine hole, par 3 golf course. The reception area, swimming pool, sports hall and other leisure facilities, along with an excellent restaurant and relaxing bar are all located in the Clubhouse.Whether you are here to enjoy an exciting activity holiday or a break in glorious scenery, you're sure to find what you are looking for at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club. We wish you an enjoyable stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Dalfaber Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Dalfaber Golf & Country Club Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing