We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campsite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aviemore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rothiemurchus Camp and Caravan
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great campsite”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Rothiemurchus is a great campsite that we keep coming back to weekend after weekend in our campervan. Great location for hillwalking and also amazing for mountain biking. The campsite itself is also great - not too many pitches so it never feels busy, and the trees and layout give a lot of privacy and make it very picturesque. The shower block is one of the best I've been in, and there never seemed to be a queue.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ClareOnTheShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    13
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
23
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

only planned on staying 2 nights and then moving on but we had such a great time we had to stay longer ,we pitched our tent in the woods next to a small stream ,we were told site was full but you would never think it ,toilet and shower facilities were great ,with a swipe card system to get in ,always had hot water ,and very clean ,a bucket and mop is left for everybody to clean up there spacious showerroom after they use it which was a great idea ,if you have a mountain bike this place is for you ,miles and miles of track to explore in stunning forest settings ,be aware book ahead you will not get in otherwise ,ps very good value for money ,

Room Tip: cant speak for caravan s etc we were camping we will be back ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiger072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We recently spent 2 nights camping at Rothiemurchus campsite and loved every minute. Gorgeous scenery and excellent facilities. We camped right next to a little river amongst the trees. The toilet block was a short walk away and always very clean with everything you need. The best bit for us was the peace and quiet - it was bliss. Lovely walks around the area with good paths for walking or biking. We will definitely be back and thoroughly recommend the site for anyone looking for a quiet escape away from it all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank traash38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We spent four nights at this campsite and loved it!
You can choose your pitch from several areas set aside for tents only, all amongst the trees, but with the choice of by the river, on an island or on higher ground away from the river, we were spoiled! You are asked to pitch your tent at least 6 mtrs away from others which really helps to enhance the feeling you are camping alone in the woods. They can't accommodate really big tents here because of the trees, ours was a 5 man tunnel tent and we just about squeezed between trees.

Its a beautiful, serene place where the wildlife comes to you if you're lucky, we saw a woodpecker and a red squirrel whilst drinking a cup of tea outside our tent! Waking up to the smell of the pine trees and the sound of water was heavenly.

The facilities are the best I've ever seen on a campsite. They are operated by a key card (which also works the entrance barrier at night if you're out really late) and are split into 5 separate cubicles each with a toilet, shower and sink, its like camping with an en suite! They were also kept spotlessly clean. In addition to the 'en suites' there were also two separate toilets with sinks, disabled facilities and a dish washing area. My only gripe - and I'm really nitpicking - was that the showers were the push button type with about 10 secs of water.

There is so much to do in the surrounding area, we plan to visit this campsite again, no question and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose a pitch away from the river if you're a light sleeper, melt water from the mountains can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alimagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level 6 Contributor
603 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This campsite is fantastic,we stayed here for 4 nights and camped on the little island that had a river on both sides and it was great to be able to sit outside the tent in the evening having dinner & a drink and listening to the water and waking up to it as well.

The site has very clean modern faciliites and everything that you would need during your stay,the staff are friendly and helpful and operate a mobile phone & camera charging service,it's also in walking distance from Aviemore which we did most of the time and a local bus also stops just outside the site should you want to head down to Loch Morlich or back into town.

We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Preyom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
0.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
251 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
530 reviews
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothiemurchus Camp and Caravan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothiemurchus Camp and Caravan

Property: Rothiemurchus Camp and Caravan
Address: Coylumbridge, Aviemore PH22 1QH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst towering Caledonian pine trees in the UK’s largest national park, our tranquil camp and caravan site offers sheltered camping in a unique wilderness setting. Situated a mere 10-minute stroll from the Rothiemurchus Centre where you can book over 50 outdoor activities, this is a fantastic place to stay and experience wild Scotland. Our site boasts superb facilities with a heated amenity building with toilets, showers and a dishwashing area, plus a separate laundrette. It’s the perfect place for a holiday with your touring caravan, motor home or tent. We are sorry there are no holiday caravans for hire. Try the many cycling and walking trails in this area of outstanding natural beauty close to the Cairngorms. Or you may prefer to just simply relax and get away from it all, whilst enjoying watching the exceptional wildlife in this beautiful setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rothiemurchus Camp And Caravan Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing