We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, spoiled by rude unwelcoming and aggressive staff.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aviemore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rothiemurchus Camp and Caravan
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice location, spoiled by rude unwelcoming and aggressive staff.”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Along with my Girlfriend and another couple we stayed for 4 nights at the Campsite last weekend, from Thursday to Monday. I'm 28 and the rest of our party averaged 22 so you could say we were not their average customer.

The campsite was located close to Aviemore with lots of activities within a 15 minute drive. The campsite itself was excellent, set in a woodland area with a small burn and a river nearby providing excellent scenery. The toilet and shower block was excellent with all the facilities clean and inspected regularly.

This is where the review turns bad. When we were checking in the woman at reception, although helpful and friendly, seemed to take a disliking to us due to our age, saying, and I quote "We don't normally let young people on here, you must've slipped the net" Immediately we were anxious and did not feel welcome.

On our first full day at the site we decided to play some games and enjoy ourselves and relax, however the crucial badminton net was missing, this was improvised by tying spare guy ropes from our tent between two trees. Almost straight away the male member of staff came over to us and rudely told us to take it down as the trees were protected and we weren't allowed to tie anything to them. We obviously agreed with the gentleman but the manner in which he spoke to us was despicable. We are, after all, adults and a polite word to say that we couldn't tie to the tree was all that was needed, instead of his raised voice and pointed finger. We especially felt singled out as other campers had improvised washing lines tied to trees, with one other camper even sleeping in a tent hammock affixed between two trees.

On our second day we felt uneasy and that we were always being watched. The campsite clearly showed signs stating that campfires were not allowed, we followed this and resisted the urge to burn wood on the floor of the forest. We did have a BBQ with us and decided to burn a few small dead branches from the forest floor, on top of our BBQ coals, to create a little smoke and keep the famous Scottish midge away from our tempting flesh. The fire was no worse than that of a freshly lit BBQ and was within 5 feet of the burn and over 10 feet away from any trees/tents etc. withing 5 mins the rude and somewhat aggressive male member of staff came rushing across to us stating, loudly with his finger pointing, and again I quote, "If I see another piece of wood go on that fire, I will banish you from the site immediately!" THIS IS NOT HOW YOU TALK TO PEOPLE. Especially customers. A simple word to say that although we had taken precautions with our improvised BBQ/Fire that the burning of wood was not allowed.

The rest of the weekend, we were walking on eggshells and had our BBQ inspected on numerous occasions.

I just hope that the campsite owners read this review and consider employing more friendly staff who are capable of acting as professional adults and conversing with people in a suitable manner.

I will NEVER return to this campsite and I have told all of my friends and family to do the same.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    11
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
23
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Campsite quiet, clean and very well managed. There is no better pitch in Aviemore than this site. Back to nature is what this site has in spades. There are lefty of walks in the forest and the staff are very dedicated .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place to stay! Just spent a week here in a lovely setting! Showers and toilets very clean and staff very friendly and helpful! Best campsite I have been on! You feel like you really are camping in the middle of the forest. Very quiet and peaceful!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This is one of our favorite sites and have now visited on 4 or 5 occasions. Great setting and great for cycling and walking. Caters very well for both tents and caravaners. Main toilet and shower block is very modern - as good as you get.

Only thing that stops a 5 star rating is the use of a sink for the chemical waste disposal point - not ideal - otherwise all brilliant

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We have been going to this camp site for a few years now and we love it. Its set in a pine forest, lovely walks, very clean site and the people who run it are extremely friendly and welcoming. We stayed in a small two man tent and didn't pay all that much really. Its a great site and I recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneliese g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Rothiemurchus is a great campsite that we keep coming back to weekend after weekend in our campervan. Great location for hillwalking and also amazing for mountain biking. The campsite itself is also great - not too many pitches so it never feels busy, and the trees and layout give a lot of privacy and make it very picturesque. The shower block is one of the best I've been in, and there never seemed to be a queue.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ClareOnTheShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

only planned on staying 2 nights and then moving on but we had such a great time we had to stay longer ,we pitched our tent in the woods next to a small stream ,we were told site was full but you would never think it ,toilet and shower facilities were great ,with a swipe card system to get in ,always had hot water ,and very clean ,a bucket and mop is left for everybody to clean up there spacious showerroom after they use it which was a great idea ,if you have a mountain bike this place is for you ,miles and miles of track to explore in stunning forest settings ,be aware book ahead you will not get in otherwise ,ps very good value for money ,

Room Tip: cant speak for caravan s etc we were camping we will be back ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiger072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,270 reviews
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
7.9 mi away
Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothiemurchus Camp and Caravan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothiemurchus Camp and Caravan

Property: Rothiemurchus Camp and Caravan
Address: Coylumbridge, Aviemore PH22 1QH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst towering Caledonian pine trees in the UK’s largest national park, our tranquil camp and caravan site offers sheltered camping in a unique wilderness setting. Situated a mere 10-minute stroll from the Rothiemurchus Centre where you can book over 50 outdoor activities, this is a fantastic place to stay and experience wild Scotland. Our site boasts superb facilities with a heated amenity building with toilets, showers and a dishwashing area, plus a separate laundrette. It’s the perfect place for a holiday with your touring caravan, motor home or tent. We are sorry there are no holiday caravans for hire. Try the many cycling and walking trails in this area of outstanding natural beauty close to the Cairngorms. Or you may prefer to just simply relax and get away from it all, whilst enjoying watching the exceptional wildlife in this beautiful setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rothiemurchus Camp And Caravan Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing