We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant for families”
Review of La Taverna

La Taverna
Ranked #6 of 63 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Torphins, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant for families”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This place is first class for families. They know exactly what you want and how to make it as simple as possible - and the food is great as well.
There is an all you can eat buffet reasonably priced but the main menu is excellent with a great selection of pizzas. Always busy so booking is a must or you face a wait in the bar.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DeesideDowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    764
    505
    159
    43
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tayport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Try the buffet - amazing value and great food!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We are not really buffet people but decided to try it as it looked so fresh! For £10.95 a head, we had a veritable banquet which we thoroughly enjoyed. It is always very busy so it's best to book. Between 5 and 7 there are loads of kids so go later if you like it quieter. This time, the place was packed with diners but the service is always attentive so that works well. The salads, olives, garlic bread, pizzas and pasta choices (all with different sauces) are amazing and nothing is old or overcooked looking because of the turnover. Total bill for three with wine and coffee £54 so it is fantastic value and a highlight of the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heather_suds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aracaju, SE
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great italian food with excelent tables by the window”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

After some time having only my own cook we decided it was time for real pasta ! La Taverna is the place to go ! Usually full of customers, it might be necessary to book if you would like to guarantee a special place. By the way, ask for the tables by the window. At night when it is snowing you have the perfect match for pasta, wine and company. We were there both in November 2011 as well as March 2013

The prices are very reasonable and there is a buffet option if you fell like eatng a lot. We refered the menu options to ensure food was tailored cooked and even then, the dishes are well-served, so you would hardly want something else.

There was not a enormous choice of wine but when in doubt go for the italians (Chianti or Montepulciano) and if you fell like splashing, a Bourdeaux will usually sit well ith anythng.

Waiters are friendly and helpful in making ajustments to the dishes according to customers likes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blean, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love It !!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Been here on a few occasions. It is always excellent, staff are great and food is superb. The ribeye steak is second to none and the cream spinach is to die for. I put this place as one of best italians I have been to and I have been to Italy! Definitely worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Fcav92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 6 Contributor
568 reviews
429 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Very good - could have even been excellent!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

La Taverna is part of the High Range Holiday Complex run by the Vastano family since 1976. It is the first place you see as you enter Aviemore from the south on the B9152. It has ample free parking but booking at weekends is recommended.

The restaurant has three distinct areas - a bar area where you can dine, a lower cosy dining area decorated in mountain style and a lower conservatory area which looks across to the Cairngiorms.

We had heard about their 2013 Scottish Pizza of the year award and were recommended it by family who live locally. We went for dinner and had a window seat looking towards snowcapped mountains.

We had a mix of starters to share the bruschetta and mozzarella salad being nicely prepared, presented and tasty.

For mains two of us had the prize winning "White Lady Pizza" at £10.95, one had a 12" Primavera pizza and the fourth a starter sized spaghetti Bolognese (£6.95). The "White Lady" is a pizza bianca with three Alpine cheeses, Fontana and Aleggio along with finely sliced cep mushrooms foraged from the Scottish Highland woods that surround Aviemore. It is named after the red ski run down the mountain. Food was all good but opinion was divided on the "White Lady" I felt it had too much cheese, versus tomato and lacked edge topping but if cheese is your thing then go for it. I added pepperoni to mine but it still lacked a balancing flavour to the overwhelming cheese.

We finished with various desserts - I liked the limoncella flute. No zabaglione on the dessert menu. Portions are good value and I suggest if you are having two or three courses stick to 12" pizzas. Bill was £134 including 2 bottles of Pinot Grigio and coffees.

La Taverna also offers an "all you can eat" Italian buffet which is apparently both popular and good value.

In terms of service we were promptly seated but had to ask for the wine menu twice, we also had to request parmigiano (parmesan) for the spag bog. Overall staff were friendly and reasonably attentive but you ended up seeing about 3 to 4 staff so not as personal as it could have been and no names given (verbally or on bill).

At the moment my somewhat limited benchmark for Italian Restaurants in Scotland is Vittoria's in Edinburgh but La Taverna has the edge in terms of a picturesque location and with a few service issues improved could be excellent!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorFeelgoodDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Taverna also viewed

Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to La Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing