We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but watch out....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scandinavian Village
Reviewed 16 January 2012

There was a group of 10 of us who went up to Aviemore for the weekend. Everyone thought the villa & apartment were great - homely, spacious, exactly what we needed. The accommodation is very clean with everything you could need for a wee break away from home.
Unfortunately... we got whacked for a considerable electricity bill when we checked out. We knew electricity was extra but were not expecting it to be £5 per person for just 3 nights. The guest folder recommends putting the hot water on and leaving it on for the duration - I'd highly recommend not doing that!
Nice place to stay but watch out for the hidden costs.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AllieP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2012

Absolutely fantastic accommodation. If you visit at new year you will find the town a match for anywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dunlopmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed in the Aviemore RCI timeshare for a week in September 2011. It was not luxurious, in fact it was the least luxurious we have ever stayed in but it was clean, the kitchen was fine, the living area all right and the mattresses adequate.
What we really liked about the timeshare was its location. Walking and biking trails abound and for outdoor lovers Aviemore is a little bit of heaven. We could walk out our back door and get onto the ten km. Aviemore orbit trail. Rochiemurchus estate and its many walks is just down the road.
The village is within easy walking distance and there is a Tesco’s, a fine butcher, and two good bakeries. What more could a man want. Oh, yes a good pub. We only ate out once-at the Old Bridge Inn-a great pub with great food, not cheap but worth it.
This is definitely a place we would consider coming back to.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jongage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

As a family we visited Scandanavian Village at the end of August 2011. The grounds were neat and tidy however the units were starting to show their age. We stayed in a Villa with 2 bedrooms sleeping 6. Be aware that everything is electric including the shower which uses water from the hot water heating cylinder with its emmersion heater and heating is via heating panels in the ceiling. The BIG dissapointment, particulary for families is now the total lack of any free on-site facilities such as a swimming pool, gym, sauna and steam room. We were informed three days before our visit that the nearest free leisure facilities are now at Grantown-on-Spey or Kingussie, a 28 miles round trip!! To use any of the facilities in the adjacent hotel you will be charged - and what a charge!! For a family of 2 adults and 2 children wanting to use the pool each day there is special low rate of £140 a week!! If you want the gym etc, then these will cost extra. This is a big minus point for any visit to the resort in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandiAviemore, General Manager at Scandinavian Village, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

Thank you for taking time to write your review. I would like to clarify that the costs that you mention are for electricity as used and all guests at Scandinavian Village have to pay these. Notification of these charges are sent to guests prior to their arrival. However, I apologise if there was any mix-up in your case.
The pool charges that you had to pay were not to us but to a seperate company and unfortunately, we have no control over these.

I wish you many happy holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Our first floor flat (46) looked out onto the busy A9 which was up an embankment 30 metres away, at eye level unfortunately, which was not comfortable or peaceful. We'd expected a quiet time but sadly the road noise was a distraction. Other buildings in the resort are better located. The flat was clean and well equipped, apart from the terrible sofabed which was painful to sit on. Spacious grounds were well maintained and pleasant, and leisure facilities were excellent in other parts of the resort.

Room Tip: Check location of the flat before you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DorsetAvidtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We had no idea. We booked here on a RCI points exchange. The area (Cairngorm mountains) is beautiful. Mountains (very different from the Alps) for hikes, walks, views. A funicular to get you to the top. Downhill skiing in season (which includes Christmas and Easter). Wild water rafting, canoeing, pony trekking, horseback trips, etc. Leisure resort amenities. Lots of space, peace and quiet for those who seek it.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dlwdlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Very friendly, helpful and welcoming staff. Accomodation warm, comfortable and very well equipped. Ideal place to come back to after a long day out. Located close to all the amenities that Aviemore has to offer.
Likes - Good value for money
Dislikes - None

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IainS31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
271 reviews
6.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
229 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandinavian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandinavian Village

Address: Aviemore Centre | Cairngorm National Park, Aviemore PH22 1PF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range: £108 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandinavian Village 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scandinavian Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandinavian Village Hotel Aviemore
Scandinavian Village Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing