We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the points it cost...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandinavian Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scandinavian Village
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not worth the points it cost...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

This has to have been the dirtiest apartment I have used that can be booked through RCI, I was very disappointed if not shocked, the carpets were all stained, the bedding had marks on, the crockery was filthy, the shower had mould and the vaccum smelled terrible. Aviemore is such a beautiful place, it is a shame to have to stay in such bad accomodation. The noise from the main road directly behind our apartment didnt bother us too much, but there was some sort of underfloor heating and we couldnt get it turned off, so it was suffocating in the room, we made the best of things and had a fab holiday. but would NEVER stay there again, I would rather sleep in the car. oh and to add insult to injury the car park doesnt have enough spaces for the apartments, its a weird set up.

Room Tip: phone before you go up to check your room and if it isnt right complain before you unpack !!! bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandiAviemore, General Manager at Scandinavian Village, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you for holidaying with us, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide quality accommodation for our guests and are very disappointed by your findings. I have looked back through our log book and it is unfortunate that you did not make us aware of your findings as soon as you went to the unit. Whilst I understand there should not be any problems on your arrival - if there are, then we would welcome the opportunity to put things right. Thank you for taking the time to write a comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    52
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
61
63
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dingli, Malta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed at the Scandinavian village from the 11 August till the 18 August. It was a very pleasant stay. Our apartment was very well furnished. The landscape very nice. Lots of activities and attractions in the nearby. I recommend a stay in the resort, If i have an other opportunity I will sure return,

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvio624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Shame we couldnt checkin until 5pm ( had requested earlier and was told by email to turn up early and leave a number to contact when our villa was ready- which we tried to do but unfortunately reception was closed when we arrived due to Thunder in the Glen so was unable to do this) Checkout was 8-10am which I feel should be later. Clean with all you need althought the beds are very hard and we couldnt use the bedside lamps as they switched themselves on in middle of the night! (this happened in 2 different rooms!) also you are charged for the electric you use !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Just back from a nice relaxing week at Scandinavian Village in Aviemore. Had read the reviews about 'road noise' from A9 and expressed concern to staff prior to booking as we had two apartments, one of the bedrooms with the window next to road. We needn't have worried, yes you can hear it if you listen but it did not impact in any way on our trip, so if thats worrying you, then dont!!

The apartments were ready early for us arriving, most seemed to have been and they were spotless inside. Impressive kitchen cutlery etc etc and all very clean. To be fair, we never used the dishwasher or cooker at all during week, bought carry outs or ate out, so cant comment on them and how they work.

We were on a ground floor apartment and it was a wee bit noisy at times with people running about in the apartment above, but again, it certainly didnt keep us awake or affect our trip one bit.

The beds were not the best I have slept in, but again, had little impact on my ability to sleep, once you've been out in the fresh air all day you'll sleep no bother.

The bathroom was spacious enough, quite a tight wee shower cubicle but my mum needed a seat in the toilet and this fitted no probs. The showers could do with upgrading as they are not the best, but again do the job.

No complaints re this place at all. We had a few requirements with regards type of rooms and things we needed provided and the staff were first class with us.

Great location, 5 minute walk from the Main Street and all the restaurants and Tesco etc.

No leisure facilities, but the MacDonald resort has a pool and soft play area, which in my mind is a bit of a rip off for non residents like us, but when it rains, needs must!!!

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stever3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We exchanged into this resort for the first time and have just returned from a week staying in a villa 21 at the Scandinavian Village with my family with 3 grandchildren. We had a wonderful time The whole complex is well maintained, the grounds well landscaped and extremely clean and the wooden sculptures are lovely. The villa was very clean and the bedding was great nice deep pillows I have had worse in top hotels. The kitchen was well stocked for cooking family meals with plenty of plates & cutlery. The bathroom had bath and shower unit and an added bonus was an extra toilet downstairs when having children with you. The whole unit was great for children not so fancy that you could not let them enjoy themselves. The furnishings were good quality and in keeping with the Scandinavian theme. The couch & chairs could have been a bit more comfortable but they were fine. Our unit had a lovely outlook on to fields and ideal to let the children go out to play. We were lucky that as an owner at Macdonalds we had access to the pool facilities and this saved us a great deal, but we did use the soft play and paid as £4.00 for each child for all day access (could leave and go back before 6pm) was excellent value we also used the out door play areas which were excellent. Had meals at various restaurants (IS & Papa Rock) both catered very well and were great with the children. We only paid £12.00 for our electricity as we did not need the heating on and only used the hot water when we needed it as we were out most of the time. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelholicDuntocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeskinLancashire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We arrived early but checked in straight away, which was great. We received a warm welcome from Reception and were very pleasantly surprised with the facilities. We had a one bedroom apartment on the outskirts of the complex, near to the main road. We had our dog with us, so this was great, as we could be in the woods seperating the road from the resort in seconds. We've never seen so many rabbits scampering around early in the morning. (Neither has our dog). We were not really affected by noise from the main road.
The apartment was clean and well equiped with a dishwasher and good kitchen ,which actually had utensils that were more substantial than the norm. We ate in most nights as we had our dog and didn't want to leave her unattended. Aviemore is just a few minutes walk away and Tesco is very convenient. We did have lunch at the Bridge Hotel which was great. (They allow dogs) My only criticism is that the bed was not long enough for me but then most aren't. The air up there does help you sleep. The electricity charge was minimal. This is a quiet resort, very relaxing and was perfect for our requirements.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RogeRowlandson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

First went here last September through RCI points and loved it. Very appealing at first sight - well maintained grounds, peaceful setting, clean well-maintained and well-equipped apartments, and friendly helpful staff. Very central location - only a max 5 minute walk from Aviemore village. Was so impressed that I decided to buy a week, especially after seeing the amazing price on the re-sales leaflet given with the welcome pack (and I'd just like to say this was a VERY straightforward process). I've just returned home from using my purchased week and had a very pleasant, relaxing week - something I can now look forward to EVERY June for a long time to come. Would recommend to anyone (and have actually already done so - on a number of occasions!)

Room Tip: Ground floor apartments have a sliding patio door to a nice terrace area with picnic bench - very ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jaxx57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandinavian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandinavian Village

Property: Scandinavian Village
Address: Aviemore Centre | Cairngorm National Park, Aviemore PH22 1PF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandinavian Village 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Scandinavian Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandinavian Village Hotel Aviemore
Scandinavian Village Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing