We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommadation and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scandinavian Village
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent accommadation and great location”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

stayed at Scandinavian Village 3rd Nov to 10th Nov stayed in a villa, the accomadation excellent, very clean, excellent restaurants close by. supermarket close by. great to have laundry facilities in villa. This is our 3rd visit and we are back in jan. Great area for walking and the dogs love it. Also close to dolphin watching, ad shopping

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    56
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
67
69
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunoon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We visited the Scandanavian Village 31 years ago when it was first built buying our week a few years later and have visited practically every year since. Week 41, unit 21.
It is always spotlessly clean and why the reviewer from Halifax, Carol R, didn't complain immediately to the reception is beyond me. I find it very hard to believe all her negative comments in fact.
The staff of Scandanavian Village have changed over the years obviously but always very efficient and friendly.
This year I must admit there were one or two minor points I brought to the attention of the staff but was furnished with most informative and satisfactory answers. Maintenance is carried out regularly, updating and renewing items of furniture and kitchen equipment when necessary.
Please, if you are reading this, consider the majority of the comments and when you visit this lovely place you can make your own minds up. BUT...... should there be something that does not please you...............TELL THE STAFF.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We booked a two bedroom villa for our family autumn break. The villa comfortably accommodated our party of 4 adults and 1 teenager. Excellent accommodation which was very well equipped and clean and fresh on arrival. The staff in reception were very welcoming and friendly.
The Scandinavian Village is located within walking distance of Aviemore High Street, very convenient, where there are plenty of restaurants and coffee shops as well as a small supermarket which had everything we needed for our stay.
No swimming pool or gym on site but could use the ones at the nearby Macdonalds resort for a fee.
Located in the breathtaking scenery of the Highlands the Scandinavian Village is central for visiting many of the attractions such as the Highland Folk Museum, Loch Ness and many whiskey distilleries.
We will definitely visit again

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rydal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

Brilliant family holiday but beware of the electricity charge at the end!
Very clean and central, wifi and freesat tv, washing machine and tumbler drier, full kitchen and beautiful grounds.
Will be back yearly as we as a family love it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cthom1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Scandinavian Village is situated in the centre of Aviemore and so there is easy access to the restaurants, pubs, shops and all the other facilities that Aviemore has to offer.

There are a number of two storey blocks of flats and some larger villas. Our flat (or apartment, if you prefer) was on the ground floor. There was one bedroom with twin beds and a bunk bed, all right for two adults and two children, but a bit crowded otherwise. The beds were comfortable. There were just the two of us, so space and privacy was not an issue.

The main room was composed of the dining area, living area and kitchen. Not a great deal of room for any more than two people.

The small kitchen area was equipped with the usual microwave, cooker, dish washer, etc. There was no washing machine, but there were laundry facilities on site, free for flats. I believe that the villas are equipped with washing machines.

The dining table would sit four with ease, five at a push. In addition to the four dining chairs, there was another wooden chair with arms and a settee. If you wanted to sit down or watch tv, then the settee was the closest thing to a bit of comfort in the living area.

Television and radio were provided by Freesat so there was a reasonable range of programmes and the picture quality was good.

The shower room was fine, no problems there.

If you are taking your dog you might prefer a ground floor flat to one on the first floor. The same applies if you have difficulty walking up stairs. There is a charge for taking your dog, There are good dog walking areas close by.

The flat and grounds were clean and well maintained.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful.

There are such things as restaurants, a swimming pool, fitness centres and a cinema nearby in the large MacDonald Resort, but they are not part of Scandinavian Village itself and are not included in the price. There are plenty of shops, pubs and restaurants in Aviemore itself, and a well stocked Tesco supermarket.

All in all, not a bad place to stay, particularly if there are just the two of you. I feel that any more than that might be a bit too crowded, A more comfortable settee and armchair would make it better; however, space is limited.

Room Tip: If travelling with a dog, or if you have difficulties with stairs, try and get a ground floor flat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This has to have been the dirtiest apartment I have used that can be booked through RCI, I was very disappointed if not shocked, the carpets were all stained, the bedding had marks on, the crockery was filthy, the shower had mould and the vaccum smelled terrible. Aviemore is such a beautiful place, it is a shame to have to stay in such bad accomodation. The noise from the main road directly behind our apartment didnt bother us too much, but there was some sort of underfloor heating and we couldnt get it turned off, so it was suffocating in the room, we made the best of things and had a fab holiday. but would NEVER stay there again, I would rather sleep in the car. oh and to add insult to injury the car park doesnt have enough spaces for the apartments, its a weird set up.

Room Tip: phone before you go up to check your room and if it isnt right complain before you unpack !!! bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandiAviemore, General Manager at Scandinavian Village, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you for holidaying with us, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide quality accommodation for our guests and are very disappointed by your findings. I have looked back through our log book and it is unfortunate that you did not make us aware of your findings as soon as you went to the unit. Whilst I understand there should not be any problems on your arrival - if there are, then we would welcome the opportunity to put things right. Thank you for taking the time to write a comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingli, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed at the Scandinavian village from the 11 August till the 18 August. It was a very pleasant stay. Our apartment was very well furnished. The landscape very nice. Lots of activities and attractions in the nearby. I recommend a stay in the resort, If i have an other opportunity I will sure return,

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvio624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
5.0 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
6.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandinavian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandinavian Village

Property: Scandinavian Village
Address: Aviemore Centre | Cairngorm National Park, Aviemore PH22 1PF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandinavian Village 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scandinavian Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandinavian Village Hotel Aviemore
Scandinavian Village Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing