We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scandinavian Village - villa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scandinavian Village
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Scandinavian Village - villa”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

two bedroom villa comfortably sleeps 6, or if sofa bed in living room used it could sleep 8. There were 4 of us so we had plenty room. Well equipped kitchen has every mod con.
Bathroom and shower upstairs, toilet downstairs. Patio doors open up to unspoilt scenery and each villa has its own picnic table.
Being only a 5minute walk to Aviemore main street this place is in an ideal spot within the new McDonald resort. Handy for restaurants, coffee shops and pubs.
Aviemore offers everything you want for outdoor pursuits, walking, golf, cycling etc etc

Room Tip: The flats on offer are 1 bedroom, Villas all have 2 bedrooms, normally a double bed in one room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wemweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    55
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
63
67
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray Leics
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The 3star Scandanvian Village is a good place to stay if visiting Aviemore. Stayed here in April in a 1 bed apartment which was great for two but would be a a bit to cosy for four! The apartment was in good order and well equipped with everything you would reasonably need whilst on holiday. Some of the Apartments are near to the A9 and will suffer with a bit of road noise but overall a good place to stay and we will return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Momelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here from 23rd Feb to 2nd March 2013. And what a beautiful place. Scandinavian Village is located on the main aviemore station road close to the market/shopping like 5 mins from a Tesco which is extremely convenient. Scandinavian Village is self catering the units/flats are so well equipped :) I dont even have all the kitchen amenities in my home kitchen ;) we arrived by car the check in was smooth. we got car parking outside our flat.
The staff was extremely helpful. I had access to all their services. They guided us on what we could do in scotland.
Scotland was cold this time of year but inside the rooms you feel so cozy...it was so perfectly warm :)
We stayed in flat number 29 which had beautiful rooms a beautiful garden best of all the view was facing the snow mountains and it was so beautiful every morning getting up to that.
i regret not using the mcdonald hotel for a swim.

I WOULD RECOMMEND ALL TO STAY HERE. IT WAS AN AWESOME STAY A LOVELY TOWN AND MOST IMPORTANTLY A BEAUTIFUL MEMORY.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaxmiAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Scotland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Scandinavian Village is the only one of the three Timeshare resorts in Aviemore that is located close to the village centre, so it is well located for pubs and restaurants without the need to drive. The apartment was spacious with 2 large bedrooms and a large bathroom. There were beds for 8. The kitchen is well equipped with Bosch dishwasher and there was also a Bosch washing machine and tumble dryer. Open plan living room with flat screen tv.

Negative points were the old fashioned immersion water heater which only gave hot water for 2 people to shower before going cold, the creaky floorboards on the upstairs landing and the odd bed lights and came on of their own accord. Reception was aware of the phenomenon! Other issue was wifi is advertised as being available, but only place we could get a signal was in the car park!

Apartment was clean, but it was built in the 1970s and the decor was showing its age.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the wifi boosters to ensure you get a signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caley956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I have stayed here on several occasions,and the villas are superb,very well equipped,cosy and comfortable.They are so central to shops, restaurants and bars.You have a washing machine and dryer.The only down side was the neighbors next door,who were banging on our door at 2.am,and making lots of noise Other wise a great place..

Room Tip: Try to avoid the main road side,a bit noisy with traffic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank marj72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Enjoyed my recent stay at the Scandinavian village. The apartment was clean and well kept. We managed to get eight people around the large dining table. It was good to have a dish washer.
Outside it was -3 but lovely and cozy indoors. We had about two inches of snow, the roads and pavements around the site were kept clear and well salted. My grandchildren played outside on their sledge. There was a number of fine wooden tree sculptures of birds and animals on the site. We had nice views of the mountains from our large patio windows. Lots to do in the area. Picturesque woods and mountains, great for photographers. Five minute walk from shops, supermarket and easy access to a wide variety of restaurants. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend this site for a holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We had a villa with our 2 very young daughters and had a wonderful time. The villa was very clean and tidy, had a washing machine and dryer, had all the kitchen appliances we needed and a nice open plan down stairs floorplan. upstairs we had 2 rooms and a bathroom all of which were clean and well maintained. we had a lovely view of the mountains. The shops were a 5 mins walk away with nice restaurants and gift shops. We were right beside the macdonald resort which is fantastic if you have young kids. Our kids enjoyed the swimming pool, bouncy castles and soft play area. As it had been snowing they enjoyed sledging too. Its a perfect location. We were sad to leave as we had such a good time!

All staff were very friendly and approachable.

We would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janettewright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.5 mi away
Silverglades Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandinavian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandinavian Village

Property: Scandinavian Village
Address: Aviemore Centre | Cairngorm National Park, Aviemore PH22 1PF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandinavian Village 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scandinavian Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandinavian Village Hotel Aviemore
Scandinavian Village Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing