We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Hot Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scandinavian Village
Reviewed 18 January 2014

A bit late with my review here, we stayed here during an uncharacteristic Scottish heatwave last summer and had a fantastic time. The location is fab - off the main road and very peaceful. We only had dealings at the reception on arrival and departure; service was friendly and efficient. We were in the apartment above the reception which was clean and spacious with everything you'd need for your stay. The TV was huge, perfect for watching the Wimbledon finals!

As mentioned, the weather was incredibly hot, making sleeping a little uncomfortable. We had to leave the windows open and share the room with a bunch of moths. The heat, however, totally tired us out so it wasn't too much of an issue.

Would definitely recommend the Scandinavian Village to anyone of any age and I would have no hesitations about staying again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelPineapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week. Our apartment was in the perfect location, upstairs and out of the way. Parking was tight but there is an overflow car park which is pretty large. The decent sized bedroom was perfect for the 2 of us and don't worry about it being cold in the winter as the apartments heating is very good. The kitchen area has a fridge/freezer, cooker, dishwasher and microwave. We used it a lot more than we thought. The living room is open plan and not too cramped.

The hotels location is perfect for exploring the local area on foot, it backs on to the Aviemore Orbital footpath which is perfect for Dog walking or running. The town is a 5 minute walk and the Tesco is only a stones throw away. in the room there is a welcome pack which tells you everything you may ask about what to do in the local area. If you go in the summer months there is a lot to do, winter means that a lot of the attractions are closed but there is still plenty to in the local area.

I cannot fault the cleanliness or standards of the resort, staff were very friendly to us and we never had any issues.

Electric has to be paid on departure so remember to keep money for that but we were only £30 for the week.

Room Tip: Upstairs apartments give more privacy and have a balcony. Walk out the back of the resort to find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fraser87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed here for a week in September and had a lovely stay. The kitchen has all we needed, the lounge was open plan with the dining area. Upstairs was two comfortable bedrooms and one full bathroom with a power shower. Downstairs was a guest toilet. This was an good base to explore the area with wonderful walks, lots of outdoor sports as well as the surrounding area with the distilleries. You have to visit the smoke house for smoked salmon, the woollen mill and Walkers biscuits.And go for the sheepdog show, it is very good and on a working farm. Also try to go for a scrumptious lunch at the Aviemore hotel. All within easy walking distance.The Tescos close by helped a ;lot with last minute food shopping. The resort is clean and well laid out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LandiGauteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We have stayed here lots of times now over the last 25 years! It is a lovely little complex and although there is a 4 of us in a 1 bedroom apartment there is still plenty of room and the kids love sleeping in bunk beds! There is everything you need and if there is anything missing you can just ask reception which is what we did when we couldnt find a can opener! Aviemore is a great (but not cheap!) place with a handy Tesco and some nice restaurants/takeaways. We got Tesco to deliver our groceries to us on the first day which is really handy! There are so many places within an easy drive of Aviemore which is why we keep coming back. It is a great base for lots of fun days out. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nutty73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is an attractive and well presented holiday complex. friendly and very helpful staff. Convenient for all facilities in Aviemore.
The one bedroom unit was well presented and very clean. Quiet location.
Utility costs much less than we expected and very low compared to other places we have stayed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2609jal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A very good location and greenery around the hotel. Kids have playground were to play. There are a lot of bunnies running around, my kids loved to watch them. Kitchen equipped with everything one needs. Villa have also washing machine and dryer. Tesco, Clinic and plenty of restaurants in the neighbourhood. The apartments are cosy with a well sized shower. The villa was super, though one shower but two toilets, one on each floor.

Room Tip: We are members of timeshare. We had Apt 36 situated on A9,at around 6am noisy but we didn't both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Nice and peaceful and not far from the shops. No noise from flats on either side and below.Well equiped kitchen with good quality pots and pans. Well used pine furniture which added to its rustic appeal. The weather was fantastic and we were able to eat out on the balcony. Very friendly and helpful lady at reception. A relaxing holiday. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank terriertam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
6.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Silverglades Holiday Homes
6.8 mi away
Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandinavian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandinavian Village

Address: Aviemore Centre | Cairngorm National Park, Aviemore PH22 1PF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range: £108 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandinavian Village 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Scandinavian Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandinavian Village Hotel Aviemore
Scandinavian Village Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing