We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for a last minute break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scandinavian Village
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great value for a last minute break”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just returned from a one week stay in a one bedroom apartment, rented for significantly less than the annual maintenance costs for this type of property.

The apartment is adequate for 2 and probably a bit cramped for 4 adults.

Location is just off the main road and is ideal to access local shops, bars and restaurants.

The apartment also offers discounts, typically 10%, off meals in local restaurants.

The electricity bill for the week was less that £12, this was for adequate heating (and we had some cold days with snow) and daily showers for 2 so I can't understand some of the moans on here about this cost.

We had apartment 38 which faces the main road behind the development but with good double glazed windows this was not a source of noise.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul51_and_Marg52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    55
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
63
67
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dalry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here for a week in November 2013 and had an amazing stay. The village is in a brilliant location for all the attractions around Aviemore and further afield. It was a 5 minute walk to Aviemore high street where there were lovely little coffee shops, lots of outdoor shops and a tesco... Perfect for buying food to prepare at your lodge as eating out all the time could get expensive.
Our apartment was very clean and plenty of room for us two and our dog but I am not sure if it would be comfortable for four people as advertised. All the facilities were great and the kitchen was stocked well for us to prepare meals. There is a leisure centre and shopping outlet in the MacDonalds resort which kept us entertained when we didn't feel like travelling anywhere.
Being 8 months pregnant at the time of our visit, we couldn't take advantage of all the excellent outdoor sports facilities near by but we are now planning another trip soon to take our daughter and experience what Aviemore truly has to offer and we will definitely be staying at the Scandinavian Village for all of our future visits.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We've just come back from a week's stay in a one bedroom apartment and were really delighted. The apartment was supposed to sleep four but we felt that would be a bit of a squeeze. For two of us though it was great, really comfortable and had everything we needed. The only slight downside was a very small fridge - we like to eat in and found we could only really keep one day's worth of food in it at a time and we kept our drinks in a cool box on the balcony. It wasn't a problem though as the resort is only a ten minute walk to Tesco's supermarket on Aviemore High Street. We did have one small problem when the doorknob came away in my hand but it was fixed very quickly and we had no more problems. The resort is in a great location - easy to walk into Aviemore and the bonus for us of a lovely nature reserve just a five minute walk away. We had the heating on for a while everyday at the temperature suggested but more often than not we had to turn it down, we were delighted at the end of the week when the bill was less then £20. We'll definitely be back, as soon as possible!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had high hopes for our exchange to the Scandinavian Village, but they were dashed on entry to the apartment which we nicknamed the "rabbit hutch". These apartments may be perfect for two people,but not for two adults, two teenage boys and two dogs. We have visited other timeshare apartments which are much bigger so maybe we just expected too much.

On the plus side, it was clean (not perfect, but ok), there were plenty of utensils, pots, crockery etc, and the shower worked really well.

The negatives:

after nearly setting fire to a couple of tea towels because of a faulty control on the cooker, we discovered that the smoke alarm did not work even though the apartment was full of smoke. On reporting this, maintenance arrived and put a new control on the cooker and then after inserting the battery properly into the smoke alarm, told us "it is working" - not good enough - these should be routinely checked when the cleaning is done.

The main heating control had one vital piece missing - the arrow for where to set the temperature has been rubbed off with use therefore resulting in us being cold for a few days - I did report this to reception, but no one came to check.

The fridge is TINY!

There is no room to dry anything if you have been out on a wet day, or have been skiing - the addition of a small conservatory onto the balcony would help this and also help eliminate the road noise from the A9 (this was done to the apartments at Dalfaber which added more space to their already fairly spacious units)

When walking your dog out of the village, make sure it does not do it's business because the groundsman will get on to you - this is difficult because you cannot predict these things, and we did pick up, but he was not happy.

On the whole, the Scandinavian Village is ok - the apartments are too close to the A9 and parking is tight. The villas may be better and we had planned to look at one, but after experiencing a week of what appears to be poor maintenance, we decided against it.

I don't think we will return, but then again we were maybe unlucky this time.

Room Tip: If there are four of you, a villa may be better than an apartment, espcially in winter/wet weather w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weloveshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed in lodge 12 and our whole stay was perfect from start to finish! The lodge was cosy, comfortable and exactly what we were looking for in our stay in Aviemore. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare our own meals too. Very close walk to the main street in Aviemore and other walks/attractions were also close by which was ideal. Already planning on coming back to stay again during the summer and doing more activities in and around Aviemore!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CDT09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Just returned from a week's stay as part of a timeshare exchange. Stayed in Appt 47. Can't find enough words to describe how pleased we were with our stay. Appt was comfy, cosy, heating was excellent and very cheap, wonderful shower with plenty of hot water and in the ideal location - just 10min walk into Aviemore for shops, cafes and restaurants. The apprtment wasn't the biggest or the most modern but if you are looking for a quiet, warm base close to everything this is the place! Staff really friendly and helpful and all little maintenance problems dealt with quickly by a really helpful team. Can't find fault with anything and are busy planning a return visit later in the year

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elgin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed in app 30 which has a double bed and a single bed and a double sofa in the lounge. We have never been away for xmas before. Aviemore is magical place at Christmas. We had everything we needed and the flat was very peaceful. Free laundry room and everywhere spotless. Staff very helpful. Would love to go back. There is so much for the kids to do. Don't sit watching the T.V over the holidays get out and do stuff. Big tip! Contact the Macdonads Hotel for a what's on guide and your children will be so glad you did. So much entertainment for them.

Room Tip: Dogs are also welcome
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irnbru52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.5 mi away
Silverglades Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandinavian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandinavian Village

Property: Scandinavian Village
Address: Aviemore Centre | Cairngorm National Park, Aviemore PH22 1PF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandinavian Village 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scandinavian Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandinavian Village Hotel Aviemore
Scandinavian Village Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing