We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Venue for a holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scandinavian Village
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights it was an exchange for our place in Cornwall, a one bedroom apartment ground floor spotlessly clean, good facilities and in good condition. We got a warm welcome at reception and a small map to show our apartment on the site. We were able to park outside the apartment very easy for off loading luggage etc. The apartments are self catering and the equipment is in good condition, we ate dinner in on the day of arrival, and had lunch in the apartment on one occasion. We found the laundry facilities very useful and they were included in the cost of the apartment it even included the washing powder. My wife used this facility on a couple of occasions. The apartment is ideally situated for travelling around the area, it is also well place for a walk into town to the supermarket or to cafes & restaurants, or the railway station if you decide to take a trip on the heritage railway or a day trip to Inverness. Great value and if you return then you qualify for a 10% discount. We will definitely go back for another week.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon2545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

Would choose this place every time for a holiday. Apartments always clean and tidy and have excellent amenities. A great base to explore Aviemore and the surrounding areas. The apartments are self catering so you either have to cook or eat out, but this lets you be flexible when you want to eat. I have been here every year for the last 30 years and love it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed in the Scandinavian village during Easter holidays. Apartment was first class, everything in apartment spotless and in fabulous condition. Staff very helpful and other guests extremely friendly. Dog friendly so was able to bring our family dog. Amenities also great for families - lots of walks, restaurants and things to do. The folk museum in Newtonmore is a must - free of charge and will keep children well entertained for hours !! Do not use amenities at mc Donald hotel next door extremely over priced , however The Hilton at Coylanbridge accept non-residents to use swimming pool etc at fantastic prices.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alitay49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just returned from a one week stay in a one bedroom apartment, rented for significantly less than the annual maintenance costs for this type of property.

The apartment is adequate for 2 and probably a bit cramped for 4 adults.

Location is just off the main road and is ideal to access local shops, bars and restaurants.

The apartment also offers discounts, typically 10%, off meals in local restaurants.

The electricity bill for the week was less that £12, this was for adequate heating (and we had some cold days with snow) and daily showers for 2 so I can't understand some of the moans on here about this cost.

We had apartment 38 which faces the main road behind the development but with good double glazed windows this was not a source of noise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul51_and_Marg52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Me and my husband stayed here for a week in November 2013 and had an amazing stay. The village is in a brilliant location for all the attractions around Aviemore and further afield. It was a 5 minute walk to Aviemore high street where there were lovely little coffee shops, lots of outdoor shops and a tesco... Perfect for buying food to prepare at your lodge as eating out all the time could get expensive.
Our apartment was very clean and plenty of room for us two and our dog but I am not sure if it would be comfortable for four people as advertised. All the facilities were great and the kitchen was stocked well for us to prepare meals. There is a leisure centre and shopping outlet in the MacDonalds resort which kept us entertained when we didn't feel like travelling anywhere.
Being 8 months pregnant at the time of our visit, we couldn't take advantage of all the excellent outdoor sports facilities near by but we are now planning another trip soon to take our daughter and experience what Aviemore truly has to offer and we will definitely be staying at the Scandinavian Village for all of our future visits.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We've just come back from a week's stay in a one bedroom apartment and were really delighted. The apartment was supposed to sleep four but we felt that would be a bit of a squeeze. For two of us though it was great, really comfortable and had everything we needed. The only slight downside was a very small fridge - we like to eat in and found we could only really keep one day's worth of food in it at a time and we kept our drinks in a cool box on the balcony. It wasn't a problem though as the resort is only a ten minute walk to Tesco's supermarket on Aviemore High Street. We did have one small problem when the doorknob came away in my hand but it was fixed very quickly and we had no more problems. The resort is in a great location - easy to walk into Aviemore and the bonus for us of a lovely nature reserve just a five minute walk away. We had the heating on for a while everyday at the temperature suggested but more often than not we had to turn it down, we were delighted at the end of the week when the bill was less then £20. We'll definitely be back, as soon as possible!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had high hopes for our exchange to the Scandinavian Village, but they were dashed on entry to the apartment which we nicknamed the "rabbit hutch". These apartments may be perfect for two people,but not for two adults, two teenage boys and two dogs. We have visited other timeshare apartments which are much bigger so maybe we just expected too much.

On the plus side, it was clean (not perfect, but ok), there were plenty of utensils, pots, crockery etc, and the shower worked really well.

The negatives:

after nearly setting fire to a couple of tea towels because of a faulty control on the cooker, we discovered that the smoke alarm did not work even though the apartment was full of smoke. On reporting this, maintenance arrived and put a new control on the cooker and then after inserting the battery properly into the smoke alarm, told us "it is working" - not good enough - these should be routinely checked when the cleaning is done.

The main heating control had one vital piece missing - the arrow for where to set the temperature has been rubbed off with use therefore resulting in us being cold for a few days - I did report this to reception, but no one came to check.

The fridge is TINY!

There is no room to dry anything if you have been out on a wet day, or have been skiing - the addition of a small conservatory onto the balcony would help this and also help eliminate the road noise from the A9 (this was done to the apartments at Dalfaber which added more space to their already fairly spacious units)

When walking your dog out of the village, make sure it does not do it's business because the groundsman will get on to you - this is difficult because you cannot predict these things, and we did pick up, but he was not happy.

On the whole, the Scandinavian Village is ok - the apartments are too close to the A9 and parking is tight. The villas may be better and we had planned to look at one, but after experiencing a week of what appears to be poor maintenance, we decided against it.

I don't think we will return, but then again we were maybe unlucky this time.

Room Tip: If there are four of you, a villa may be better than an apartment, espcially in winter/wet weather w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weloveshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Silverglades Holiday Homes
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.8 mi away
Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandinavian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandinavian Village

Address: Aviemore Centre | Cairngorm National Park, Aviemore PH22 1PF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range: £107 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandinavian Village 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Scandinavian Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandinavian Village Hotel Aviemore
Scandinavian Village Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing