We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Units, but friends got twin beds?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scandinavian Village
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Nice Units, but friends got twin beds?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were two couples, staying in two units here. My understanding was that there was a double bed in both units, but on arrival, our friends found they were in a unit with twin beds and bunks. We offered ours, but they graciously let my husband and myself have the unit with the double and twin, as they were age 82 and 77, so snuggling wasn't quite as important. There was also a delay in getting our second unit, which we got at 5 pm. I was forewarned about the extra power charge, and it wasn't much, though we did a lot of cooking. After all, it was July, and a Highland heat wave, at that (around the low 70's, some days!). This was an RCI trade for our two-bedroom lockout unit in Las Vegas, and I am very satisfied with it, over all.\, and would come back.
The units were well equipped, allowing us to do a good bit of cooking, and having the Tesco in easy walking distance (shopping bag in the unit closet) was handy, especially after we found the "back way" in! Having a balcony was very nice, as well. The one thing that was odd was everything electric in the bathroom operating by pull-cords, but we got used used to it.
Be warned that if you are not used to European washing machines, it will take forever and a lot of frustration to figure out the machine in the free laundry room. It might benefit from an instruction card. What should have been a simple process turned into an ordeal, as I tried to do laundry after 5 pm (laundry room shuts at 7pm), as the washer was very hard to understand and there was no one in the office at that hour. Still, it was nice to have free machines.
People have remarked on traffic noise. We live in a city, so I was aware of the quiet atmosphere, occasionally disturbed when a car would drive by on the highway at night! Contrast, I guess. At home, there is a background hum that never goes away...

Room Tip: If you're a couple, check to make sure you aren't getting twin beds!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jilara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    54
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
62
65
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from a week at Scandinavian village to mixed feelings. Positive- great location close to town centre, villa properties very spacious, very clean on entry(we were in villa 11 spotless), reception staff friendly and informative, kitchen facilities great, everything you need for a week away. Overall it's a real home from home property that will suit those with families. It was by no means perfect though. 1. The wi-fi signal!! My oh my why have more people not complained about this?! - all week could barely get enough signal to browse the odd page- never enough to check emails, download anything or be able to use properly for work or leisure. Reception give you a helpline number but they never call you back (I phoned 3 times with no callback despite promises) and in my opinion their customer service is appalling. If you need wifi for work purposes (no 3G anywhere in aviemore) don't come here as signal almost non existent. 2. Electricity add on- I'm sorry but after paying nearly £700 for a weeks accommodation electricity on top is a joke- this needs sorted ASAP as although it was cheap we never had heating on (no need in summer) outwith then however you could be looking at a significant extra bill- 3. The picnic areas outside have no fence separating them bringing sitting outside having a lack of privacy- not good. 4. The A9 is just at back of village- it didn't bother me much but for light sleepers you could struggle to sleep.

So that's it really. Great location, spacious, clean villas let down by dreadful wifi set up, overhead electricity costs and lack of privacy in patio areas. I would return but only if wifi situation resolved.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasgow-Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My sister, brother , parents and I stayed here for 2 nights having previously been time share owners in the scandanvian village. Although we had not visited for a number of years, we were extremely impressed again by the place. We stayed In The Caledonian suite, apartment 66, which is a large 2 bedroom flat. The house was well kitted out, with large TV, sky, DVD player and wifi.

The kitchen is spacious and we ate in both nights. The bathroom is also good and had a good power shower. There is a tesco within walking distance and there are also a number of nice restaurants and coffee shops nearby. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMart2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights it was an exchange for our place in Cornwall, a one bedroom apartment ground floor spotlessly clean, good facilities and in good condition. We got a warm welcome at reception and a small map to show our apartment on the site. We were able to park outside the apartment very easy for off loading luggage etc. The apartments are self catering and the equipment is in good condition, we ate dinner in on the day of arrival, and had lunch in the apartment on one occasion. We found the laundry facilities very useful and they were included in the cost of the apartment it even included the washing powder. My wife used this facility on a couple of occasions. The apartment is ideally situated for travelling around the area, it is also well place for a walk into town to the supermarket or to cafes & restaurants, or the railway station if you decide to take a trip on the heritage railway or a day trip to Inverness. Great value and if you return then you qualify for a 10% discount. We will definitely go back for another week.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon2545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedlington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Would choose this place every time for a holiday. Apartments always clean and tidy and have excellent amenities. A great base to explore Aviemore and the surrounding areas. The apartments are self catering so you either have to cook or eat out, but this lets you be flexible when you want to eat. I have been here every year for the last 30 years and love it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed in the Scandinavian village during Easter holidays. Apartment was first class, everything in apartment spotless and in fabulous condition. Staff very helpful and other guests extremely friendly. Dog friendly so was able to bring our family dog. Amenities also great for families - lots of walks, restaurants and things to do. The folk museum in Newtonmore is a must - free of charge and will keep children well entertained for hours !! Do not use amenities at mc Donald hotel next door extremely over priced , however The Hilton at Coylanbridge accept non-residents to use swimming pool etc at fantastic prices.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alitay49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just returned from a one week stay in a one bedroom apartment, rented for significantly less than the annual maintenance costs for this type of property.

The apartment is adequate for 2 and probably a bit cramped for 4 adults.

Location is just off the main road and is ideal to access local shops, bars and restaurants.

The apartment also offers discounts, typically 10%, off meals in local restaurants.

The electricity bill for the week was less that £12, this was for adequate heating (and we had some cold days with snow) and daily showers for 2 so I can't understand some of the moans on here about this cost.

We had apartment 38 which faces the main road behind the development but with good double glazed windows this was not a source of noise.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul51_and_Marg52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.5 mi away
Silverglades Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandinavian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandinavian Village

Property: Scandinavian Village
Address: Aviemore Centre | Cairngorm National Park, Aviemore PH22 1PF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandinavian Village 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Scandinavian Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandinavian Village Hotel Aviemore
Scandinavian Village Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing