We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silverglades Holiday Homes
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
2 reviews
“Excellent family accommodation”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We arrived and were met with a friendly welcome. Our Macdonald house was lovely - clean, smartly decorated and all mod cons. Our only issue was with the baby's cot which was not suitable, but was quickly rectified by staff (bigger travel cot and extra sheets given). We would definitely stay again and plan to return next year. Garden was great and nice bench for sitting outside. Close to town centre too, could walk there through footpath in ten mins (drive in 5). Our daughter (age 2) enjoyed it too and Aviemore (and surroundings) has lots of things for her age group. All in all, a great experience with no unexpected hassles or problems, just plenty of relaxation and good service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverglades, Manager at Silverglades Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. All our staff tries to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable and relaxing stay, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to offering you a warm welcome when you stay with us again.

Regards

Julia Hay
Marketing Manager
Silverglades Holiday Homes
Aviemore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    44
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
115
59
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I have been up to Siverglades several times and I have been impressed by the standard and quality of the accommodation and the friendliness of the staff on site.My party stayed in accommodation close by the Strathspey railway this amused one of my party as he would go out and wave at the Steam train when it went by.The house is also close by to a footpath/cycle track that enables you to leave the car and take a short walk into Aviemore .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverglades, Manager at Silverglades Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for your review, it is good to hear from guests that have stayed with us a few times as you can review us on our overall standards. I was glad to hear you like the steam train, the journey from Aviemore to Broomhill station is lovely .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My family enjoyed a superb three night stay at Silverglades. The accommodation was spotless, well situated and had all the comforts of home. We would recommend staying here as the staff were very helpful and nothing was to much trouble for them.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverglades, Manager at Silverglades Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you come and stay again soon.



Regards

Julia Hay
Marketing Manager
Silverglades
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

excellent holiday once again. everything was perfect staff very friendly helpfull nothing but praise for the team we stayed in the rowan bungalow perfect for a couple loved the kitchen, and the furnishing first class.
so happy with the weeks experience booked again for november thank you once again .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra_duffy138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverglades, Manager at Silverglades Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you Sandra for your lovely comments; it is good to get reviews from guests that have stayed with us many times like yourself as you will have stayed in different properties over the years. We hope you continue to enjoy your stays with us.

Regards

Julia Hay
Marketing Manager
Silverglades
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atomic City
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I am familiar with this area and know it has a lot to offer but this is the first time I have stayed with Silverglades. The property was a good size and standard with good upholstery, bedding, beds and linen.
The garden was big with several birch trees and backed on to the old steam railway line which was a bonus for the kids, without being too noisy. The location is directly next to the footpath to Aviemore town centre (5 min walk with small kids) and a short walk to the Strathspey Way, which you can access through the nearby Dalfaber housing area. I would recommend these properties as a location for cyclists because of the easy access to cycleways/footpaths.
The Macdonald property was big enough for the kids to have space plus there was the garden and a plethora of wildlife outside - pheasants, rabbits, etc.
This is one of the few places that doesn't charge for metered electricity or have a coin metre, which is good as no-one needs the extra hassle of paying more for power.
The best features for me were the wood-burning stove and the washing machine (no more mountains of washing to do on returning home).
The only downside to our stay was that the standard of housekeeping was not quite up to scratch as there were some minor improvements needed to the cleaning routine. These were not anywhere near bad enough for me not to go back and stay again.
The staff were helpful and friendly.
I look forward to going back.

Room Tip: The Macdonald property is a good size for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StudioGhibli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverglades, Manager at Silverglades Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us so much. I am so sorry to hear that some housekeeping was not up to our usual high standards as this is usually an area that our guests praise us for. I will let the housekeeper know about your comments. I was glad you found the rest of your accommodation to be good and that you will be staying with us again.

Regards

Julia Hay
Marketing Manager
Silverglades
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Yet again,after a stay at Silverglades,we have nothing but praise for all the staff and the services they provide.We have been staying here going back to the 1990s.It is such a charming place to stay,with all facilities close at hand.Looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverglades, Manager at Silverglades Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for your review and thank you for being such a loyal customer, it is great to know that we have continued to offer you good customer service and comfortable accommodation again and again over the years. We hope you continue to stay with us.


Regards

Julia Hay
Marketing Manager
Silverglades Holiday Homes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed in McDonald house , dog friendly and with log fire, it was just lovely, great to have everything in the house ie washing machine/dryer , and not to be charged for electricity ( really makes a difference) the house is very deceptive as inside its very spacious, everyday we woke up to amazing views. The centre was only a short walk, but really felt in the highlands as the wildlife that came out late evening , as had 3 young deer nearby. Will defiantly be coming back, as Did not want to leave

Room Tip: McDonald house with log fire
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ls1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverglades, Manager at Silverglades Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you for your review, it is always good to hear from our guests and great to hear that you had such a good time with us. We are glad you got to see some of our wildlife. Most days we see red squirrels, rabbits and a verity of birds. Hope you come and stay again soon.

Julia

Marketing Manager
Silverglades Holiday Homes
Aviemore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
4.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverglades Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverglades Holiday Homes

Property: Silverglades Holiday Homes
Address: Dalnaby, Aviemore PH22 1TD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Silverglades Holiday Homes 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 28 stylish, 3 & 4 star self catering holiday homes in Aviemore, each with their own private garden, BBQ, patio area, private parking and fully equipped to meet all your holiday needs. To ensure your stay is a happy and pleasurable one we have staff on site at our reception to offer friendly support and information on the area and activities. Any day check-in and 2 nights breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Silverglades Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverglades Hotel Aviemore
Silverglades Holiday Homes Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing