We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HOLIDAY HORROR” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silverglades Holiday Homes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silverglades Holiday Homes
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“HOLIDAY HORROR”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

shabby dated HOUSING estate accommodation
was dirty and unkempt
careless staff
OVERPRICED
just dreadful

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELOHIM777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    44
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
113
59
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

Stayed at Silverglases in August in a 4 star select property. Having checked the internet I obtained a price for the stay however when I telephoned to enquire the price rose by £30. I was also under the impression that electricity was included as per the silverglades website but later informed that this is not the case and that the money is taken from your £50 deposit.

Although it does state on the website that you have access to Dalfaber Golf and country club you have to pay for swimming etc although I do believe you get 10% discount on meals. Overall a nice break but slightly disappointed with some elements of the forgoing.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigwScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

We booked the Rowan for 5 nights and i have to say it was a really nice house. It had everything you would need including an iron!!!
It was a 5-10 min walk to the main part of the high street with plenty of places to eat and have a beer, we took advantage of the Silverglades VIP card for discounts on meals. If you are a Whisky drinker like me then you must visit the Whisky Trail, so many Distilleries, so little time!! Would definitley go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOVEDAWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silverglades aviemore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

Having been to silverglades several times and had no problems at all I am sorry to say this trip was different. Pat Mackenzie was brilliant when trying to find us accomadation, and again when we said about the problems we encountered. I wish they were all as pleasant . We got charged twice which we only discovered when the bank called us. We got told it would be another £90 after I had confirmed details with pat. The member of staff was very rude. When we arrived at lodge upon opening the door i could smell the lodge had been washed with a dirty mop. When opening the cloakroom cupboard the smell was awful and the mop satyed outside for the full week. The livingroom windows had to be cleaned by my partner. Beautiful views could not be seen! The patio doors on the master bedroom were even worse. The bathrooms had been quickly mopped over and sink and bath wiped still evidence of body hair on floor and inside the pottery. The hoover smelt so bad i was retching and didnt use it for the remainder of the week. The sofas had to be hoovered and underneath them had not been done for a while. There was no dustpan so sweeping the floor was not an option. Yes I own dogs but that does not mean we have to put up with sub standard cleanliness and hygeine whilst still paying a lot of money for a weeks accomodation, £950 plus £50 deposit for a cairngorm. I also paid £90 for the dogs as there is extra cleaning to do! I dont think so . The buckets were not emptied although we put them over the dog guard so he did not have to enter the dogs area in the garden. The overall impression this time was not good. The gardener spent more time on his mobile talking and texting, or having a fag so it took about 2 hours to cut the grass. I think spot checks on the contractors should be undertaken on a regular basis. On previous visits the standard has always been high this time it was shabby and tired looking.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Indi95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead , Scotland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

For a few years now my family and I have gone up to stay at Silverglades in Aviemore either for a short break or a weeks summer holiday. We love the great outdoors and Silverglades has lots on its doorstep to keep active families happy while also being in a relatively quiet and child safe area (and Tesco is only a couple minutes walk away using the old Dalfaber rd). The same road leads you down to the Old Bridge Inn where you join the excellent cycle path which runs all the way to Loch Morlich where you can enjoy loads of watersports and forest trails in the summer or if you want to travel another few miles there is Loch Inch or Landmark which has even more activities. During the winter you can have a great time skiing or boarding at either Cairngorm Mountain or at the Lecht where families are particularly well looked after. The lodges are of a very good standard ,spacious and clean with ample parking. This year we were delighted to get an upgrade to an Eagle lodge which had four bedrooms and a sauna along with plenty space for the children to play in. Even when the weather turns sour there is the leisure centre at Dalfaber Golf and country club or the superb leisure centre at the Macdonalds Highland hotel to keep most people amused and if you stay at Silverglades then you get a generous discount when buying a short break leisure pass. The service that we have recieved from the staff these last few years has been of the highest order as there is always a smile when you go in to ask for local information. Keep it up girls , we'll see you again next year .

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skiboy_robertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

My wife and I spent a week here in June. Absolutely wonderful. We had a fully equipped one bedroom bungalow at the end of a quiet cul-de-sac. Our enclosed private back garden had a field below and views across the Cairngorms. The kitchen has an oven, hob, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, fridge etc, although apart from breakfast, we were on holiday so didn't use it!!
It was a ten minute walk into Aviemore where there are plenty of places to eat and drink.
Although semi detached we never heard our neighbours at all. A very peaceful location

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Indysassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east lothian scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2008

well, well well, where do i start?
we have been going to theses holiday homes for over 4 years now every november time and they are fantastic, they are so reasonably priced, spotless clean, fresh clean bedding, just pure heaven. they are home from homes, all you have to bring is your clothes and food and toiletries, they have all got washing machine to tumble dryers to toast racks to egg cups, all kitchen utensils, there rooms are spacious with beds made up on arrival.
there are t.v's with freeview and video players but you will have to hire the dvd players.
there are about 6 different bungalows that you can hire some with log burner stoves, all have un-suits and a separate bathroom.
some have private saunas in them too
you will have to pay a £50 deposit but the electricity will be deducted from the deposit and a cheque will be sent out after your stay.

its only 5 min walk away from the town centre of Aviemore.
also you can take your pets with you at a cost too.

these are great place to stay if you like the out doors or if you like me just to chill out.
so much to say about the place , but if you want to know just ask and i will get back to you!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank eastlothianguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.6 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverglades Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverglades Holiday Homes

Property: Silverglades Holiday Homes
Address: Dalnaby, Aviemore PH22 1TD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Silverglades Holiday Homes 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 28 stylish, 3 & 4 star self catering holiday homes in Aviemore, each with their own private garden, BBQ, patio area, private parking and fully equipped to meet all your holiday needs. To ensure your stay is a happy and pleasurable one we have staff on site at our reception to offer friendly support and information on the area and activities. Any day check-in and 2 nights breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Silverglades Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverglades Hotel Aviemore
Silverglades Holiday Homes Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing