We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room shame about the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Park Guest House
Ranked #10 of 29 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We had a family room which was more than we could have hoped for. On entering the room you are immediately in the first bedroom with two comfortable single beds, coffee & tea facilities and an smalll lcd tv on the wall ( TV has SD card slot, nice!). You then go down a few stairs into a corridor which has two bathrooms and at the other end has the other bedroom with the same facilities as the first except with a double bed. On our initial night we ate in the restaurant having previously enjoyed a night at I.S in Edinburgh but they're not the same, the food was no where near as good. Breakfast the next day was better with a great selection. It's a very clean place with very pleasant staff and maybe I'm being tight cause I think it was too expensive at £220 for dinner bed and breakfast for two adults and two kids.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolariddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2010

Hotel and rooms were nice, modern and very clean.
Breakfast was tasty.
Hotel price was great value for money compared to the close by MacDonalds resort.
Best of all was Fraser and his staff who were all very friendly, informative and helpful in providing a great serivice.
We would definitely stay at IS again when visiting Avuemore next time.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickJMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Definately more of a restaurant with rooms than a hotel. However, the restaurant is great and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was a great price and was ideal as we spent most of our days out and about in Aviemore and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eilth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

This hotel is good vallue for money. It is clean and modern set in the middle of the village. The only complaint is the lack of power from the shower. Staff are friendly. Evening meal menu is different rather than have a seperate starter menu the bulk of the main menu are starters. Although the food is good the evening menu is not right for everybody.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Great hotel - Fraser and Karen are very welcoming and excellent hosts. Been staying here for a number of months on business and would highly recommend this hotel.
Food great, rooms clean and tidy. Well done!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIGJ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We have stayed at Aviemore IS on a number of occasions now, great for a last minute getaway from the busy streets of Scotland's Capital. We have eaten on too many occasions to count at IS in Edinburgh's Leith, so it was fantastic to enjoy very different surroundings with the same attention to detail when it comes to serving food.

Fraser (owner, manager) is always on hand to make sure we are being looked after and the rest of the staff were great, you can tell the place is family run, not something you get to experience on many occasions.

The Room was very pleasant and clean, we had a few drinks in the bar area before enjoying a lovely meal in the restaurant which was busy but not rushed.

Thoroughly enjoyable and will return again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmorr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We stayed in the hotel for one night. The staff were friendly and attentive. The room (number 11) was small and at the back of the hotel, which was fine. However, the standard of housekeeping was poor. There were cobwebs hanging from the ceiling, dust in the air (until we opened the window), a few strands of hair in the shower and lots of visible dust and hair in the corners of the bathroom. This is very off putting and it makes you wonder what else hasn't been cleaned properly. Although, I can advise that the toilet, wash basin and bed linen were clean.
The main attraction of the hotel (to us) is its location on Grampian Road, which is handy for visiting pubs and other places of interest.
Breakfast is included in the price and it was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collilh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
0.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
808 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Carn Mhor Bed and Breakfast
6.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#5 of 8 in Carrbridge
247 reviews
6.1 mi away
Craigellachie Guest House
Craigellachie Guest House
#3 of 8 in Carrbridge
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Guest House

Address: 131 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RL, Scotland (Formerly International Starters Restaurant & Rooms)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range: £69 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Starters Restaurant & Rooms Hotel Aviemore
International Starters Restaurant And Rooms
The Park Guest House Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing