We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Fish & Chips”
Review of Happy Haggis

Happy Haggis
Ranked #12 of 62 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Hi there, We are a family run Restaurant with a takeaway serving a wide variety of classic Chip shop food along with an extensive menu in our award winning, liscensed Restaurant. We pride ourselves in excellent quality food and great service. A great place for any occassion.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish & Chips”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were in Aviemore for a few days and the restaurant had been recommended to us - its a short walk from the station and well worth a visit.
Great food and service - and we even braved a deep fried mars bar - which was definitely worth it!
Only word of 'warning' - the portion sizes of the fish and chips are very generous, so be hungry! it seemed like such a shame to leave such good food on the plate.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ElBas99tardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    88
    33
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stopped here when heading south to Perth from Inverness. It is just on the outskirts of Aviemore. Had the fish and chips with peas. very well cooked fresh haddock with light batter and well cooked proper chips. well worth a stop.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cardross25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ms Cassidy Pratt”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

The food was amazing and the food was100% percent and delicious. The Owner was very nice and friendly. He was talking with us and always smiling.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cassidy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“£45 from a chippie!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

we have dinned at happy haggis every time we are up in aviemore, and now find it extremely over priced for what you get. the service is good the decor is good, the menu is fish and chips only kind of menu and because we were eaten in i would think they would have a slighty different menu ie: salad, sadly no.
sorry happy haggis, can do so much better!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pvec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Service - good Food”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Excellent traditional chip shop with lots of choice, we always use this chippy when we are in Aviemore for a sit down meal. Lots of choice on the menu and the staff are very friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Happy Haggis also viewed

Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to Happy Haggis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing