We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't pay attention to bad reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mackenzies Highland Inn
Ranked #25 of 28 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Great place for the price! Read some poor reviews before coming and was not hoping for much. Room is brilliant and it's a great friendly place! Bad reviews must be from grumpy *****s. a room in this town at that price is excellent. No complaints at all.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Gavceltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

On our touring holiday through the UK we moved off the Highway into Aviemore and chose the Mackenzie Highland Inn to stay for the night. Check in was completed without fuss. Our room was on an upperfloor away from the Sunday Karaoke. The bedroom was reasonably large and spacious, but the bathroom was very small and cramped and we had to compete for space with the toilet paper dispenser when on the throne. The shower also was very small and cramped and made even smaller by the shower curtain around two sides. Routine maintainance needs to be improved and all fittings regularly serviced. The bed was soft and comfortable but there were mystery stains on the underside of the duvet. Breakfast was big and well cooked. Cereals and fruit and yoghut could be improved.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from sound of live music
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockyj837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

stayed here for one night and it will be the last night i ever spend here the bedrooms are grubby the shower door wouldnt close properly,now for the breakfast i really have to state this is worst cooked breakfast i have ever tasted,the menu never stated it would be smoked bacon which was rank,sausages black on 1 side and white on the other tomatoes burnt,soggy black pudding and haggis and burnt white of fried egg and under cooked yolk i would recommend cereal if you stay at this dive

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rep777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Anyone looking for value for money, this is the place to stay. Warm and friendly staff who were very helpful as we had 70 odd year old parents with us, one whom isnt able to accomodate stairs very easily, so we were given our rooms together on the ground floor. We had arranged an additional teenager (14) to have a z bed in our room and as the hotel had to have a change of plan we were accomodated with extra room free of charge. Food was good, we ate at night and had a good traditional scottish breakfast next morning too!! Rooms all had good tellys too!
We were up for one night for Steam Train experience,on Strathspey Steam Railway and would recommend both for all our friends!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms six, seven or eight we had all three!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shrek6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

Cannot fault the service from the owner helpful & friendly but everything is very poor dirty, dated rooms. Breakfast is very greasy and certainly not the best, cheap horrible cutlery, cheap slice white bread carried out with hands, no pasteries, yogurts etc. Very noicey bar rooms 4 & 5 unbearable. It's not particularly cheap either at £65 a night.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pitchisshifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

great place,great host, great breakfast. warm , welcoming . will be back. I have spread the word to all my friends about the best value hotel in aviemore.For people looking for a night out in a friendly atmosphere this hotel / bar offers it all. enjoy

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Not the worst hotel I've staying in but no where near the best. There are quite a few missed bits, such as a click with no battery and a broken lock on the bathroom. You could hear a shower coming from another room, and a band was playing in the bar both nights and was heard better from the room that sat downstairs with a drink. The breakfast was ok, but could be improved. Dust on top of the coffee in the help-yourself pot was a bit of a turn off. Staff were very nice and friendly. I don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BazM_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
4.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
817 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eriskay
Eriskay
#13 of 28 in Aviemore
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Park Guest House
The Park Guest House
#10 of 28 in Aviemore
267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carn Mhor Bed and Breakfast
6.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#5 of 8 in Carrbridge
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackenzies Highland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackenzies Highland Inn

Address: 125 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range: £38 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackenzies Highland Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contepory Scottish Inn serving fine fayre, great grog and highland hospitality. Come join the Clan!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Mackenzies Highland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzies Highland Inn Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing