We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday funday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mackenzies Highland Inn
Ranked #26 of 29 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“sunday funday”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed one night, it happened to be the night the karaoke was on, which lasted until 1am would have been very loud but we were quite happy to have a few drinks in the bar and watch the others joining in.
Not the warmest of bars, very drab decorated.
The room was small but adequate for one night.
The breakfast in the morning was fantastic, choice of cereals etc, toast, tea or coffee and also a full cooked breakfast if you wanted one.
Staff were pleasant and helpful, location was great
We would definitely stay again, value for money, compared to the more expensive places.
Not the poshest of places but great value.

Room Tip: Ask for one NOT above the bar if staying on a Sunday
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isobel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    41
    45
    33
    98
See reviews for
50
121
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here recently over two nights in a family room which was very comfortable with ensuite bathroom . The proprietor , Andy Farmer , is a chef and the food is amazing . I urge you to try the gourmet burgers with a pint of real ale , which my husband says, in his opinion , is to CAMRA standard . Andy is charming and his staff are professional and most welcoming . Joanne , the lady who assists at breakfast and is in charge of housekeeping , is an absolute star and nothing was too much trouble for her . She has a wonderful disposition . Mark , the barman with whom we had several conversations , is most helpful and charming . Our young son loved the pool table , free for residents during the day . The scenery is stunning and we will definitely return . I highly recommend a visit to this Highland gem .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diva62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Highlands
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We had an overnight stay at Mackenzies recently and were not disappointed. The accommodation was comfortable and spotlessly clean, extra tea bags were no trouble and the offer to help with the luggage was much appreciated.

We were persuaded to try the special menu and were surprised by the quality and QUANTITY of the portions. The regular menu choices were also good and contained something for everyone.

I overheard a chap being offered tasters of beer when he couldn`t decide what kind he wanted, and all the staff were very friendly and helpful.

There is a comfortable residents lounge where the wifi reception seems to be the best.

Plenty of car parking and outside seats and a sheltered, conopied area with tables and benches for the smokers.....or those who just wanted to take the evening air.

Breakfast was HUGE.............when we go back we would share a breakfast between us.

The hotel has recently been taken over by Belhaven brewery and my advice to them is not to try to make this hotel into yet another in a chain......its unique character is something special.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgt_mack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Great food, service, staff and rooms, can't fault it....Great parking,
wi-fi....friendly bar ...it has everything you need, and I felt more than comfortable as a woman on my own....excellent value too...I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarilynChildsDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aviemore
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stopped by for a late lunch with friends. Menu has a good selection and there is also a specials board with a selection of main courses for £5. Had a Mackenzies sharing platter for 2 @ £10. In a word - fantastic. Friends had filled rolls of pulled pork with melted cheese and red onion - looked tasty and we were informed, were very tasty. No hesitation in recommending this place. Food good, service good ans all reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TazAviemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I went here with my wife, we where drawn in by 2 meals for £10 which is very good. I was not expecting much but I was surprised when my burger game out, the portion size was very good and it tasted great! My only complaint would be that they forgot to put the pasta in my wife's pasta bake but I think is was a genuine mistake and over all the food was good and I would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mickey87123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We had a lovely stay here. There was a slight problem with our room that was handled extremely professionally and I can honestly say that I think the customer service skills of all staff at McKenzies is exemplary. The food is amazing and very reasonably priced. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hipster4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.1 mi away
The Park Guest House
The Park Guest House
#9 of 29 in Aviemore
262 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#5 of 8 in Carrbridge
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vermont Guesthouse
Vermont Guesthouse
#16 of 29 in Aviemore
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eriskay
Eriskay
#12 of 29 in Aviemore
105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carn Mhor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackenzies Highland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackenzies Highland Inn

Property: Mackenzies Highland Inn
Address: 125 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackenzies Highland Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contepory Scottish Inn serving fine fayre, great grog and highland hospitality. Come join the Clan!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mackenzies Highland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzies Highland Inn Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing