We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby with expensive breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mackenzies Highland Inn
Ranked #26 of 29 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Came here for breakfast with family. The full breakfast cost £7 and tea/toast extra £2 - per person. So, that's £9 for a breakfast that's advertised on the blackboard out front as 2 for 1. Except once your are seated, the small print on the menu states offer is only valid during week day. Not the best breakfast we ordered, and we had a 30 min wait plus the surroundings did not constitute a cosy family friendly atmosphere (al fresco dining with the smoking area alongside, sticky tables, filthy high chair etc) hotel generally quite run down and food not great. Will try mountain cafe for breakfast next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank RedTartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here in May 2014 and was unfortunate that it was a Friday night. We were kept awake until 1am by an absolutely tone deaf band and singer directly below our room.(which we were not warned of when we booked)
The hotel is old, tired and dirty! Some of the staff could do with going on a customer care course also...not a good advert for the Scottish tourist trade!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Were staying in this hotel for 2 nights in room number 2 first impressions were no battery in smoke alarm no cover on it either in the toilet it had black mould around the toilet and in shower it was in need of a full clean up bed was ok and clean went down to breakfast and it was not good needless to say never went down this morning this hotel is needing to be reviewed reading the reviews from previos guests I wonder were we in the same hotel it is needing a lot of tlc I had left better at home.

Room Tip: Diont go then you wont be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorwheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night last night, the staff are lovely and more than happy to help. The room we had was room 4 and it was perfect for what we needed and I slept all night. Breakfast was fantastic and filling, the lady at breakfast was polite and friendly. Wee shops just a minute walk from the inn. We will both be back x

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank superviicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have stayed in Aviemore many times over the years and always found it very expensive. MacKenzies proved to be the best value for money stay I have had in many years. Single occupancy double room which was basic but suited my needs for one night. Comfortable and good value for money. Well stocked friendly bar. Great breakfast. Couldn't ask for more at that price. Well done to the staff. Will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed for 6 nights. The staff where amazing all the time they couldn't do enough for us. The rooms where spotless, the beds so comfortable. Going down for breakfast and straight away you were met with a smile. I couldn't even pick which member of staff was the nicest. Live music in the evening. We wanted to go somewhere special for my birthday and the bar staff suggested a nice little restaurant/bar and even booked us a taxi. This being our first time in Scotland, we will be going back. Kev and Suzie

Room Tip: Our room was on the front and looking out first thing in the morning you will see the Caingorm Mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The staff were friendly and helpful.However in the cramped ensuite there was more species of mould growing in there than a laboratory also around the bedroom window.the breakfast was really good.shame because for the price had there not been all that mould(no exaggeration) our stay would have been good

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greig Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
4.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,335 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#5 of 8 in Carrbridge
244 reviews
0.7 mi away
High Range Hotel
High Range Hotel
#1 of 25 in Aviemore
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Park Guest House
The Park Guest House
#10 of 29 in Aviemore
267 reviews
12.3 mi away
Glenan Lodge Guest House
Glenan Lodge Guest House
#17 of 29 in Aviemore
68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 29 in Aviemore
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackenzies Highland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackenzies Highland Inn

Address: 125 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range: £29 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackenzies Highland Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contepory Scottish Inn serving fine fayre, great grog and highland hospitality. Come join the Clan!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mackenzies Highland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzies Highland Inn Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing