We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not that bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mackenzies Highland Inn
Ranked #28 of 31 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Flensburg, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not that bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

If you decide to stay at Mackenzies you must know that you'll get what you pay for. The Highland Inn is not a 4 star accomodation but it is definitely worth the money you have to pay for. The food is good and the staff is friendly. Our room was tiny, but clean and comfortable. Because of the price I dind't expect more.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M-Vormann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    39
    45
    30
    88
See reviews for
50
111
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We go to thunder in the glen every year and spend most of our time here!! Great food, great drinks and great friendly staff that take time out to get to know you! They even remembered what we drank! Going to book a room in winter time! Food n drink are well priced!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We visited this hotel in July and stayed for two long nights. Unfortunately, all other rooms in area filled. The staff and food were good, but the hotel itself was in need of a lot of TLC. Our room was tiny, there was about 2 feet of space around the bed, could not even roll in my suitcase. Bathroom was like a closet, mildew in the shower. The bed was like a rock, pillows were flat. There was one tiny window, which was covered with a lace curtain that was falling off the curtain rod. When we arrived back to the room for night #2, the bed was barely made, it looked like the spread was just thrown on the bed.Both nights we asked if kitchen was open, it almost felt like an inconvenience to the chef to prepare another dinner, it was not even late. The outdoor tables were a nice idea, but the grass was badly in need of cutting which made everything seem more rundown. It seemed as though no one cared about the place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sue11sandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We have ate at Mackenzies,before but had not tried their burgers. Great bun, with great taste and presentation.
We just had to go back on the Wednesday for their two steaks and wine deal. The steak was prefect and had a great taste, not only this but the choice of any wine on the list! All this for £30! We will definitely be back - thanks to Matt and the rest of the guys.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JCBoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

After our wonderful trip up the Cairn Gorm we made our way to Mackenzies Highland Inn for lunch.
We chose our meal from the Special's board, we both had Hake, Chips, Salad and Garden Peas I must admit I was unsure of Hake, I really only eat Haddock, Cod on the rare occasion, Jonny assured me it was a white fish and very good. He was right, I was surprised when the meal arrived, it was huge I have to admit it was very good, hot and tasty.
We were made to feel very welcome and we would go again for lunch. It was good value for money, £5 pp.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirerose1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed for one night at Mackenzies Highland Inn. I did not realize before we got there, but be advised that the pub has live music on Fridays and Saturdays until past midnight, and if you stay on that side of the hotel you will feel it coming through the floor even if you manage to drown out the sound by playing white noise and covering your head with a pillow. When the live music ends they replace it with loud stereo music until 1am when the pub closes, so I imagine it might be an issue on other nights as well.

We stayed in a double, with the most uncomfortable bed I've experienced in years. I slept on top of the comforter and in a lot of clothes because I didn't trust the blanket in the closet to be clean (it had been shoved in the closet without being folded). The carpet needed a steam clean pretty badly, and the room smelled faintly of cigarettes until we had aired the room out for a few hours. The shower itself was fine, but the sliding door to close it was really difficult to open and close.

We left before breakfast was served so I can't speak to that. The highlights were that they left us Mrs. Walkers shortbread with the tea/coffee station and that it's in walking distance to lots of restaurants. The lowlight was definitely the bed. You could feel every spring, with no padding on top.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the pub if you want to go to sleep before midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inez S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrigaline, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Mackenzies Highland Inn is centrally located clean and with very friendly and helpful staff. On the down side it is a fully functioning pub and as such can be noisy late at night but what do you expect if you book a room over a pub? We stayed 2 nights for £130 that is for bed and breakfast. Breakfast was very good and the room was small but clean and comfortable I have no complaints and believe we got great value for our money. If you want opulence stay else where but for that money we were very happy customers and would return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
0.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park Guest House
The Park Guest House
#9 of 31 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#4 of 9 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eriskay
Eriskay
#12 of 31 in Aviemore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.8 mi away
High Range Hotel
High Range Hotel
#1 of 26 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aviemore Youth Hostel
Aviemore Youth Hostel
#11 of 26 in Aviemore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackenzies Highland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackenzies Highland Inn

Property: Mackenzies Highland Inn
Address: 125 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackenzies Highland Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contepory Scottish Inn serving fine fayre, great grog and highland hospitality. Come join the Clan!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mackenzies Highland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzies Highland Inn Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing