We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of High Range Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
High Range Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

stayed for one night with my partner. must say we loved how spacious the room was, with a lovely big modern bathroom, with power shower. Had table and chairs in the room, near a very large window that had lovely views over the cairngorm mountains. Very comfortable double bed, warm duvet. Had a great nights sleep. Also had a modern tv on the wall, with Dvd. Had all we needed for our stay, coffee, tea making, hair dryer too. Walking distance to all the shops and some lovely gorgeous views. will be back soon, great value for money

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parisbell10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    111
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
89
166
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Very clean room with sofa and coffee table in what is essentially a motel. Good sized firm bed with very warm duvet. Great bathroom with power shower. Exceptional room for the money and friiendly helpful staff as a bonus.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

stayed here with a group of friends on motorcycles. rooms were large and clean and well fitted. hotel is perfectly placed with a short walk to the town. spent a couple of days there, good bars and places for breakfast and easy to get to the bus stop for transport to cairngorms, which was well worth a visit too.... good value for money. not really much to say about service, wasnt that sort of place, we booked in , were given our keys and that was it, but thats all you want !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yamriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Stayed in this hotel with my husband whilst up in Aviemore to run the 10k event. We had friends staying in the hotel at the same time so we had about 6 rooms booked in total. This hotel has recently been refurbished and the signs are clear to see. The rooms were immaculate. The furniture was modern and brand new, the bed was comfortable. the shower/toilet facilities were new and met our needs fully. We even had a couple of easy chairs in our room and a small coffee table. The hotel's location is excellent as it is immediately at the roundabout coming in to Aviemore so just a short walk to everything. There is an Italian restaurant directly outside the hotel which was good for meeting our friends for a snack/drink in the evening. The only negative I would have is that it is room only (which is fine) but the Italian next door doesn't open in time for breakfast. What a missed opportunity for them, so you have to walk into Aviemore for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Footiewidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

My wife and I along with our two young kids stayed here for 3 nights in Oct. Rooms are just what you'd find in a standard city centre hotel chain along the lines of Travel Lodge and Premier Inn. Interior was good quality. The kids slept on a pull out sofa bed.

For breakfast I'd recommend Cafe Bleu located centrally in Aviemore. Decent breakfast for the 4 of us came in at approx. £15. The Taverna restaurant on-site is excellent. We've dined there a lot and the all you can eat buffet offers excellent value. It also does brilliant takeaway pizza which the kids loved.

For about £69 per night this hotel offers good value especially considering we stayed during the school October holidays in Scotland.

With the weather being so cold and the daylight hours limited we did find we missed the kids entertainment that we usually enjoy at the local Hilton and MacDonald resorts. However this hotel would be perfect for the summer months when the kids can stay out late and the weather is hotter.

We'll no doubt be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDouglasClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

stayed two nights in august ,excellent base for touring the highlands , place was spotless service excellent , in fact so good the group i ride with want to book up there next year, the main town is only a very short walk from the hotel and within easy reach of bus tours to the cairngorns .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Booked a family room for three days. Could not find fault with anything. Great price, spotless, huge room, peaceful , short walk into Aviemore. Excellent restaurant at bottom of road. Will be going back !

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.3 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 31 in Aviemore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Range Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Range Hotel

Property: High Range Hotel
Address: Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — High Range Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly completed, on the site of the old Motel chalets, this splendid 20 bedroom Motel building contains a selection of outstanding rooms, Double, Twin, Family, Superior and a specially designed and well appointed double room for the disabled. Each spacious bedroom is en-suite and are furnished to a very high standard providing all that is necessary for your comfort, every room has wall mounted LCD Panel Television, DVD player, hair dryer, tea & coffee making facilities as standard. The Family rooms either twin or double beds with a sofa bed; each room will accommodate very comfortably 2 adults and 2 children sharing a sofa bed.Superior rooms have extra quality furnishings, ensures they are both spacious and gracious, with lovely views from the sitting areas. These bedrooms also have a trouser press and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your High Range Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Range Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing