We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed!”
Review of High Range Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
High Range Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just what we needed!”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We have stayed twice at the High Range Motel - both times when doing off-road cycle trips which necessitated a stopover in Aviemore. The accommodation is first class for what it is - friendly reception staff, a spacious clean room with nice linen, additional seating and a brilliant shower. A perfect base to re-group and venture into town for a bite of supper or visit the adjacent pizzeria.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calum840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    119
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
95
176
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballachulish, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This lodge is based on Premier Inn/ Travel Lodge but on a more expensive interior. It was a birthday gift and was a great stay, friendly staff, clean accommodation and excellent facilities in the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Reception was friendly and check-in was no problem at around 12 o'clock, clean and modern room was quite spacious for a motel-style accommodation, beds were comfortable and at 60 Pounds, it was also a real bargain. We had pizza in the restaurant next door which was also very good. Breakfast is not being offered, but there are some options in the centre of Aviemore available. Although unfortunately Wi-Fi wasn't working, it was a great stay and we would happily return to High Range Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olibaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canvey island
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Our second visit in May 2013. as before clean and tidy in modern room of good size. Staff so friendly and helpful. The Italian restaurant at the front of the site is wonderful. we enjoyed the food and could walk back to our room. \cold and wet for our visit but we enjoyed the comfort of our room

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Booked this last minute and wasn't disappointed. Reviews are all accurate, it's nice, clean, spacious and good value for money. Will happily stay there again. Ate at the attached Italian and had a lovely meal. Nice touch : the tray for the walking boots! Great shower and loved the "double door" to the bathroom! Sad, I know!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile



I actually stayed in the caravan site which is part of the complex and I must say its one of the best wee sites ahve stayed at with my caravan,the toilets are the cleanest Ive ever used on a site,absolutely immaculate,showers were so warm and powerful,makes a change from the norm on sites,I was well greeted when arrived and the owner was so helpful,site is 5 min walk from aviemore town centre and also right on the doorstep of the cairngorms,I would recomend this wee site to anyone whether camping or caravaning

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We have stayed at the High Range Motel on a number of occasions and have alweays been blown away by the quality of the accommodation and the low price. Perfect distance from the town centre, a lovely walk in any weather, and the Rothiemurcus area for beautiful nature walks. Staff are always really friendly and helpful, and with the amazing Italian restaurant on site, it simply cannot be beaten in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
7.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.8 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Range Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Range Hotel

Property: High Range Hotel
Address: Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — High Range Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly completed, on the site of the old Motel chalets, this splendid 20 bedroom Motel building contains a selection of outstanding rooms, Double, Twin, Family, Superior and a specially designed and well appointed double room for the disabled. Each spacious bedroom is en-suite and are furnished to a very high standard providing all that is necessary for your comfort, every room has wall mounted LCD Panel Television, DVD player, hair dryer, tea & coffee making facilities as standard. The Family rooms either twin or double beds with a sofa bed; each room will accommodate very comfortably 2 adults and 2 children sharing a sofa bed.Superior rooms have extra quality furnishings, ensures they are both spacious and gracious, with lovely views from the sitting areas. These bedrooms also have a trouser press and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your High Range Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Range Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing