We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Gem”
Review of High Range Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
High Range Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed here a few times now, camping, Motel and campsite. The motel is 4star and value for money. Checking in etc is vey easy. But must say what we paid for our pitch this year for the motorhome was the most expensive we paid while touring scotland and the pitches need a bit of an upgrade. A little TLC, more gravel on the pitches, some conifers between the pitches wouldnt go a miss. Showers, toilets very cleen and the management seem to be very hard working, but a little smile or a few words of welcome from the owner wouldn't go a miss...he was more engrossed in his computer than we were booking in to his complex !!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Really nice place , fresh & modern all round with generous and quiet rooms .

The room decor was very fresh and clean with a sofa , coffee table , tv , comfortable bed & nice bathroom with a powerful shower which was just the job after driving all day .
Managed a really good sleep & the room was very quiet which was a massive improvement on the hotel we slept in the night before.

Would have no hesitation in returning again and staying longer next time .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have just returned from our 3rd stay in the High Range and I still cannot find anything to find fault with. I was greeted well at Reception and directed towards my room even though they knew I had stayed before. Our room was spotless and the linens brilliant white. We noticed new paintings in the room and hall which were very bright and cheerful and I wish I had a shower as powerful at home as the one in our room. We love it and will not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaddingtonJinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

It was very interesting to read the "knight in shining.." review so i'm thinking the chap who was at reception was perhaps having an off day. We arrived from Ulapool at 12 noon, an early morning ferry ride from the Outer Hebrides so looking forward to a nice shower and expecting a warm Highland welcome like all the others we had experienced. The man at reception took time to look up from his computer. We waited. We attempted to engage in a little repartee - it didn't happen. We listened. The words efficient and business like spring to mind but not warm, friendly or welcoming. Then the showers - closed for 3 hours from 12 - 3pm. Ouch! I understand cleaning is essential but if the caravan club can do a 45 - 60 min closure, is a 3 hour shut down necessary?When i did get a shower it was very spacious and clean but what is with the set temperature? It was hot and humid outside and the last thing we needed was a hot shower. I needed another one after getting dried and dressed! My young daughter couldn't tolerate it at all so she had to have one in the motorhome. The site is just off the busy A9 road but unfortunately, so was our pitch. My husband is a light sleeper so lets say that he didn't have a restful night or a long lie. The dog was also offended by the "keep dogs on a SHORT lead" sign. There did not appear to be a motorhome grey waste disposal point??? There was only one fresh water tap situated up a steep hill away from the touring pitches. My cousin stayed in the motel and was greeted warmly by a young girl at reception (wish she'd been there when we arrived!).The family room was spacious, modern and very clean. They had a lovely stay with the exception of the fold down sofa which was lumpier than my aunt Louise's custard. Thank goodness for the great family friendly restaurant "La Taverna" affiliated to the site.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I have just got back from staying here for 1 night with my partner and our 2 year old daughter. It was lovely! Quick into our room and the room was lovely and spacious. It was very quiet and set in a lovely location and the rooms were pretty much spotless. Only wish we'd stayed longer than the one night! I would highly recommend staying here and will definitely be coming back again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hutchie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

campervan broke down towed onto High Range campsite.
we were very worried because campervan was unmoveable.
Robbin in charge of site made us very welcome showing us all facilities and how to use them
if we required anything he would help us
We have never had such a friendly welcome.
it took all the pressure off us worrying about campervan.
We enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to our next visit.
thanks the Carmichaels from Hawick.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed here recently for 3 nights,accomodation spacious,quiet and spotless. Very modern (recently done i think) there was lots of effort put in and excellent value for money - highly recommended would stay again

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lillytu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
794 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Range Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Range Hotel

Address: Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range: £64 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — High Range Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly completed, on the site of the old Motel chalets, this splendid 20 bedroom Motel building contains a selection of outstanding rooms, Double, Twin, Family, Superior and a specially designed and well appointed double room for the disabled. Each spacious bedroom is en-suite and are furnished to a very high standard providing all that is necessary for your comfort, every room has wall mounted LCD Panel Television, DVD player, hair dryer, tea & coffee making facilities as standard. The Family rooms either twin or double beds with a sofa bed; each room will accommodate very comfortably 2 adults and 2 children sharing a sofa bed.Superior rooms have extra quality furnishings, ensures they are both spacious and gracious, with lovely views from the sitting areas. These bedrooms also have a trouser press and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your High Range Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Range Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing