We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, central and cheerful”
Review of High Range Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
High Range Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Good place to stay for a short visit to the Cairngorms, very clean comfortable, but would have
Iiked a fridge seeing breakfast/food not available. Close to river spey, even though close to road, not noisy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for High Range Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in August. we booked through one of these last minute booking sites and this was the cheapest hotel with rooms available. Was perfect - we had a double room and there was plenty of space -a settee and coffee table, wardrobe, desk, etc.
Good lighting, and a magnifying mirror - so my husband could shave and i could put in my contact lenses !
Good shower - the water was warm and stayed warm with good pressure
If I had to think of something that could be improved - it would be the mattress. Felt like it was maybe a bit tired - but it didn't stop me from sleeping! and there was no wifi which would have been helpful.
But this wouldn't stop me from returning here.....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Situated at the roundabout at the southern end of Aviemore, this motel forms part of a camping, chalet and restaurant complex. We had booked for four nights to explore the Cairngorms, and were delighted with our choice. The motel rooms are off a broad internal corridor accessible by the hotel key. We had a superior room, which was very clean, and kept so throughout our stay, spacious, with two easy chairs and a table in a corner with windows on two sides, and all the usual facilities. Parking is in the car park close by, with steps or a ramp to access the main entrance. There is no breakfast option here, but that is not an issue as there are so many places in Aviemore, just a 10 minute walk to the centre, or the delightful "Active" cafe over the activity shop nearby. The Taverna Restaurant just behind the motel is open from midday until late and provides a wonderful selection of Italian meals and salads.
During our stay we had a small maintenance request, which was dealt with efficiently and immediately.

Room Tip: Superior room was excellent, we didn't see the standard rooms
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracerWarwick_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed overnight en route home from Aberdeen so we could visit the Cairngorms. Printed the directions off the internet but couldn't find it at first as the entrance is located off a busy roundabout which doesn't allow drivers much time to sit and look around! Eventually spotted the sign up a grass banking on the opposite side of the road but some clear signposting at or before the roundabout would be helpful for first time visitors - including secondary signage to direct drivers up the correct driveway! The reception area wasn't signposted either and is easily missed, being situated further up the car park and side-on to the accommodation building.

The accommodation itself was very clean but didn't offer the views we were led to expect from the information we'd read on the website and despite paying for an executive room there was hardly any space for manoeuvre between the bed and the table and chairs. It was basically a double room with additional furniture squeezed in.

The bed was extremely comfortable but being woken by the sound of glass bottles being thrown in to a skip by the restaurant next door wasn't exactly the wake-up call we had expected.

Room Tip: Don't waste money on an executive room and ask not to be at the end of the corridor near the res...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Doonsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed here for one night on a short tour of Scotland. chose this site as we could walk into town having looked at one a few miles out of town first. Very pricey - £26 for a tent, 2 people and electric, pitches are all marked out with borders between, in the trees, the ground is sandy/soily tho reception do have rock pegs you can borrow for a deposit. The toilet block is good, clean with a swipe card to get in, with washing machines and inside dishwashing area and very warm which was good once the temperature dropped outside.
Reception were very helpful and friendly.
Unfortunately, staying in one of the lodges was a very loud party who felt it was ok to sing and shout from 2am til 3.30am, which woke the whole campsite up. having read reviews on a different forum, this doesnt appear to be an isolated incident, so maybe something to consider if you are staying here.
For such a high price i would have liked to have seen a warden or some sort of security. all in all i think you are paying for the location of this site, but i would return if in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ange f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed here a few times now, camping, Motel and campsite. The motel is 4star and value for money. Checking in etc is vey easy. But must say what we paid for our pitch this year for the motorhome was the most expensive we paid while touring scotland and the pitches need a bit of an upgrade. A little TLC, more gravel on the pitches, some conifers between the pitches wouldnt go a miss. Showers, toilets very cleen and the management seem to be very hard working, but a little smile or a few words of welcome from the owner wouldn't go a miss...he was more engrossed in his computer than we were booking in to his complex !!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Really nice place , fresh & modern all round with generous and quiet rooms .

The room decor was very fresh and clean with a sofa , coffee table , tv , comfortable bed & nice bathroom with a powerful shower which was just the job after driving all day .
Managed a really good sleep & the room was very quiet which was a massive improvement on the hotel we slept in the night before.

Would have no hesitation in returning again and staying longer next time .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
782 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Range Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Range Hotel

Address: Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range: £59 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — High Range Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly completed, on the site of the old Motel chalets, this splendid 20 bedroom Motel building contains a selection of outstanding rooms, Double, Twin, Family, Superior and a specially designed and well appointed double room for the disabled. Each spacious bedroom is en-suite and are furnished to a very high standard providing all that is necessary for your comfort, every room has wall mounted LCD Panel Television, DVD player, hair dryer, tea & coffee making facilities as standard. The Family rooms either twin or double beds with a sofa bed; each room will accommodate very comfortably 2 adults and 2 children sharing a sofa bed.Superior rooms have extra quality furnishings, ensures they are both spacious and gracious, with lovely views from the sitting areas. These bedrooms also have a trouser press and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your High Range Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Range Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing