We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”
Review of High Range Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
High Range Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Excellent acommadation very clean nice furnishings beautifully tiled bathroom and modern shower cubicle and heated towel rale beds very comfortable wall mounted tv and heater in room and lovely view over the Cairngorms from window very peacefull this was a twin bedded room my son and wife had double superior room which was also nice and also had a safe. we will certainly stay here again and also recommend to friends all rooms have kettle tea and coffee and shortbread

Room Tip: All rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianegallagher419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    116
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
92
172
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sumburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed for 1 night, booked last minute with my husband. As we booked just a couple of days prior to staying, room configurations were few. Either a twin (which we prefer not to have) or superior. We chose superior. Very spacious room, with huge bed, desk, table and chairs and flat screen tv.
never having seen the other rooms, I don't know how superior they are, but it was very clean, and bathroom was great.

We dined in La Taverna, a few steps from the door-and right outside the window. Surprisingly, no noise from there to keep us awake. However, the same cannot be said for the 2 families who were staying in the room opposite and beside us. Children in nappies, screaming up and down the corridor at 10 o clock at night. I eventually had to poke my head out of the door, as the parents seemed to be congregating there too...It did eventually quieten down.
The walls are a little thin as we could still hear them speaking after they had gone in their rooms, and in the morning, we could hear someone snoring!
The bed/mattress was a bit hard, as were the pillows, but that is just personal taste.
The only things that would possibly deter me from returning, is the lack of wifi and breakfast option.
Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sharalee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I've just come back from Aviemore after spending a night in the High Range Hotel. My girlfriend and I booked this hotel as it was the cheapest in Aviemore and we just took a punt on it. It is in a very good location, just off the main road as you come towards Aviemore. It is 10 minutes walk from both Aviemore and Rothiemurchus and there is a bus stop right outside the hotel that has buses going to Cairngorm.
The hotel itself is bascially a motel and it does look quite dated from the outside but the rooms are of an excellent quality. The room we had has been very recently updated and it was clean and comfortable. We had a double room that had a lot of space for all of our outdoor kit and a huge comfy bed! A mounted TV had the usual channels and there was a wee table and chairs if you want to sit and have a bite to eat. Tea and coffee making facilities were available but no fridge so that could be a problem for packed lunches.
The bathroom was a decent size and with a good shower. The shower was very powerful, actually painful if you had it on too high and of a good temperature. Towels were in the bathroom along with some soap and shower cream.
The walls to other rooms are not the thickest so we were woken by a group of drunken guys but the majority of the guests seemed to be outdoorsy types and it was a good atmosphere. There is a hotel restaurant available but we didn't sample this.
There is a car park with no extra cost for parking.
All in all, a great hotel. I would definately use it again if I was going up to sample the delights of Aviemore.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBenedict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Booked two rooms for just one night. Great shower, but bed a little too firm. No breakfast available, and no fridge in room either. My son's sleep was disturbed by banging from the plumbing for a good part of the night, which I only heard first thing in the morning. 10 minute walk to the rather charmless centre of Aviemore. Surrounding countryside more than makes up for this however!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Have just returned from a trip to the Highlands and stayed at the High Range for a few days in a superior double (room 18). Entry to the motel is by secure key card only so you feel safe in the knowledge that only guests have access. We weren't really expecting very much but we were more than pleasantly surprised by the accommodation. Everything was spotlessly clean; infact our room was cleaned to within an inch of its life everyday, so well done to the housekeeping staff. We were a little concerned that there may have been noise from the road and the nearby restaurant but our fears were unfounded. Slept like a log in the firm king sized bed. Our only criticism would be that we felt a fridge in the room would have been useful but understand that some people may find the whirring of a fridge in the room at night unbearable.

The location of the accommodation was excellent with just a short 5/10 minute walk into Aviemore centre. We had breakfast at a couple of the suggested cafes and can highly recommend the Mountain Cafe (opposite the Police station). Not only delicious but very well presented.

We also experienced the Strathspey Steam Train which we thoroughly enjoyed. Also travelled on the Funicular Mountain Railway - little disappointed as 'all round' views were somewhat restricted (we remember going up the mountain in the open chair lifts years ago with great uninterrupted views)

We had an excellent holiday and had we not booked a hotel further south for our trip we would have extended our stay at the High Range by another 3 days.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayLover0856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Good place to stay for a short visit to the Cairngorms, very clean comfortable, but would have
Iiked a fridge seeing breakfast/food not available. Close to river spey, even though close to road, not noisy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in August. we booked through one of these last minute booking sites and this was the cheapest hotel with rooms available. Was perfect - we had a double room and there was plenty of space -a settee and coffee table, wardrobe, desk, etc.
Good lighting, and a magnifying mirror - so my husband could shave and i could put in my contact lenses !
Good shower - the water was warm and stayed warm with good pressure
If I had to think of something that could be improved - it would be the mattress. Felt like it was maybe a bit tired - but it didn't stop me from sleeping! and there was no wifi which would have been helpful.
But this wouldn't stop me from returning here.....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
737 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Range Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Range Hotel

Property: High Range Hotel
Address: Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — High Range Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly completed, on the site of the old Motel chalets, this splendid 20 bedroom Motel building contains a selection of outstanding rooms, Double, Twin, Family, Superior and a specially designed and well appointed double room for the disabled. Each spacious bedroom is en-suite and are furnished to a very high standard providing all that is necessary for your comfort, every room has wall mounted LCD Panel Television, DVD player, hair dryer, tea & coffee making facilities as standard. The Family rooms either twin or double beds with a sofa bed; each room will accommodate very comfortably 2 adults and 2 children sharing a sofa bed.Superior rooms have extra quality furnishings, ensures they are both spacious and gracious, with lovely views from the sitting areas. These bedrooms also have a trouser press and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your High Range Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Range Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing