We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas stay”
Review of High Range Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
High Range Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Friendly and helpful staff. Perfect for Aviemore location and local walks all within close proximity. Spotlessly clean with good facilities. Excellent food at la taverna.

Only slight negative was the noisy neighbour which we had the first night but this didn't detract from our overall hotel experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for High Range Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

Couldn't fault this place. Rooms are spacious, well decorated, modern, cosy and clean.

Freeview on the TV is good, complimentary tea, coffee and shortbread, hair-dryer and excellent bathroom facilities.

Only a 10 minute walk into Aviemore.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MegThom89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The place is fantastic. Feels like real top end hotel. The rooms are spacious and very well equipped. Bathroom big with facilities for disabled people. We would definitely book it again because it is a great value for money. There is a pizza place just around the corner. Very close to shops in Aviemore.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petersonpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We chose the motel on price and location, planning to spend one night there. We were met with an efficient and friendly check in and found the family room to be clean and well presented.

Having tramped up Cairn Gorm we decided to extend our stay and were offered the same rate for the second night, at a discount to the regular weekend rate.

We ate at the Italian buffet the first night, which was reasonable.. 13 pounds or so a head, Decent selection with OK quality..

Based on price, location, convenience.. I'd choose to stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4lly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Night no. 5 on the Lands End to John O’Groats road trip and we had ended up in Aviemore. We were on a budget so passed over a couple more salubrious looking and expensive hotels and ended up at the High Range where I think we had the best value stay of our trip.

Reception lady was lovely, polite, friendly and helpful.

The whole place felt well maintained and clean and the room was fantastic. Sometimes one wants character and atmosphere, sometimes one just wishes to have somewhere warm and clean to crash for the night and this stay was the latter. n that respect, the High Range ticked all the boxes. The room itself was big and well appointed. Spotlessly clean and the biggest bed of the trip (I have become a bit bed obsessed). The en-suite too was beautifully clean and the shower the best performing of the trip - I have also become a bit shower obsessed.

The Italian restaurant on the doorstep is reviewed separately but was also great value with good service.

All in all, does what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domesticlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed for two nights in the motel section of the resort and have no complaints. Staff were lovely and helpful. Rooms were spotless, spacious and had everything we needed. There was free tea, coffee and shortbread! Shower was fine, hairdryer was good and tv freeview reception was excellent. Room was quiet and the view was okay. There was wifi we could connect to but it was difficult to get a signal. Wifi was not supposed to be included with the room so this didn't matter. A nice touch would be the hotel adding wifi to all the rooms. Hotel is around a 15 minute walk to the train station and town centre. The on site restaurant 'La Taverna' was nice and reseanably priced. Breakfast is not included which is a shame. Would have been good to have a cooked breakfast included. Overall a good stay and would recommend this hotel if you don't mind not getting a cooked breakfast

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurendillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Excellent acommadation very clean nice furnishings beautifully tiled bathroom and modern shower cubicle and heated towel rale beds very comfortable wall mounted tv and heater in room and lovely view over the Cairngorms from window very peacefull this was a twin bedded room my son and wife had double superior room which was also nice and also had a safe. we will certainly stay here again and also recommend to friends all rooms have kettle tea and coffee and shortbread

Room Tip: All rooms have good views
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianegallagher419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
782 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Range Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Range Hotel

Address: Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range: £59 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — High Range Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly completed, on the site of the old Motel chalets, this splendid 20 bedroom Motel building contains a selection of outstanding rooms, Double, Twin, Family, Superior and a specially designed and well appointed double room for the disabled. Each spacious bedroom is en-suite and are furnished to a very high standard providing all that is necessary for your comfort, every room has wall mounted LCD Panel Television, DVD player, hair dryer, tea & coffee making facilities as standard. The Family rooms either twin or double beds with a sofa bed; each room will accommodate very comfortably 2 adults and 2 children sharing a sofa bed.Superior rooms have extra quality furnishings, ensures they are both spacious and gracious, with lovely views from the sitting areas. These bedrooms also have a trouser press and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your High Range Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Range Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing