We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super views of badgers”
Review of Speyside Wildlife

Speyside Wildlife
Ranked #4 of 17 Tours in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Speyside Wildlife, the Scottish tour operator, offers wildlife watching experiences to suit everyone. We run fully inclusive, fully guided, bird, whale and mammal watching holidays, in Scotland and around the world, for enthusiasts of every ability, plus tailor-made wildlife watching tours of any length to suit your requirements. Visit our evening mammal watching hides in the Cairngorms National Park for close up and personal views of Pine Marten, Badgers and more! Accredited by VisitScotland, Green Tourism Business Scheme and Wild Scotland.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Super views of badgers”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Brilliant value - £20 for three hours of wildlife watching from a warm hide. While we had hoped to see the pine martin and did not, the three badgers, two young stags and a wood mouse were great. Our guide was very knowledgeable, while not being overbearing.

Don't take a big lens, you don't need it. Great photos are available with a point and click!

Really, really good evening.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SMS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    14
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent wildlife-watching experience”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I've just been on an evening wildlife-watching excursion with Speyside Wildlife. I paid £18 online for a three hour session in the hide. I thought it was good value for money and would recommend it, especially for those wanting to see Pine Marten, as your chances of seeing them elsewhere without a baited hide are slim to none. As with watching all wild animals, their appearance is unpredictable, we waited about half an hour in the hide before a single Badger appeared, then upto 5. These then disappeared when the ground-based food was finished. We then waited another half an hour before a female Pine Marten circled the hide then came to the food off the ground, she was very shy and wary, but we had good views for about 5 minutes. After that we were given the option to stay till the end of the paid time period rather than leave straight away, we did that hoping the male Pine Marten might come in for the remaining food, it didn't and we saw nothing more. on the way back to the car we saw a large herd of Red Deer feeding distantly in a field. Hope this review helps!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Saw Badgers and Pine Martin”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

If you like wildlife, this certainly delivers. As well as Pine Martin and Badgers we also saw a group of Red Deer and wood mice which were very entertaining pinching nuts. The animals were all within a couple of meters away if not closer. This didnt take away from the fact that these are wild animals that not many people have the privilage to see. Would reccomend a visit.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank petehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“So much all around!”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Brilliant wildlife opportunities in the area.
Golden eagles possible views- peregrine and Buzzards frequently seen.
Otters at the fish farm and on the river, and Ospreys fishing at the fish farm in the Summer!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank starpyrowhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“We were not as lucky as the other guests & be careful with on-line booking”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

A great set up and one not to miss as you can hopefully see the evening animals in comfort and warmth. However, our expereince was not as good as the others recorded here, so you need to go with that in mind. We would have dearly liked to see pine marten(s) but we didn't. I am surprised to read that others did by waiting until 11.00pm? Our trip was clearly over by 10.00pm although we would have waited longer, but this wasn't on offer. Also, although it clearly says no children under the age of eight, we had one who was only three (in the group - not with us) and we were quite alarmed the whole experience would be compromised. In fact the child was very well behaved and quiet at the appropriate times, but we only saw three badgers and a mouse. Red squirrel / red deer we saw elsewhere and we have seen badgers before so the pine marten was the main attraction for us. I had a mix up with booking online too as I tried to book using PayPal. I was using the hotel computer but as there was no mobile phone coverage the verification call didn't get through. I phoned (from another room) to ask advice and was helpfully booked on the trip by the Speyside Wildlife office but charged the full amount (instead of the on-line offer price). A minor detail but a bit annoying!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Birdbrain1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Speyside Wildlife also viewed

 
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to Speyside Wildlife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing