We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Vermont Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vermont Guesthouse
Ranked #16 of 29 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Stewarton
1 review
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Have stayed here several times and can say it is a great family run B&B. The rooms are spotless and well equipped. Good Scottish cooked breakfast and also plenty of choice of cereal. A good base for all the activities in the Aviemore area. The owners are very friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend it and stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewarton2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    19
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Old house, noisy. You hear the neigbours from the other rooms very good. Also the tv. You are waking up around 6 in the morning by noices from of the owners or the gasts who are renting à room for a longer time. It is not ok.
The curtens are totaly not dark so you can't sleep before 12.00 am. The beds are peeping when you are turning around in bed.

If you want à good night sleep, go some where else....!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebby78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen T, Owner at Vermont Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
We do have notices in the rooms asking guests to keep TV's low after 10pm and I'm afraid I have no control over guest rising at an early hour in the morning. disagree with the comment on the décor the room you occupied has only recently been decorated so do not understand this comment at all. we do try our best to make our guests comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
419 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

You are made to feel welcome from the first greeting!
Nice warm room with comfortable beds. Very helpful landlady.
No distance from all Aviemore attractions, yet peaceful situation.
Good breakfast.
Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prudol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Of Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed here on an over night stay, wish it was longer, throughly enjoyed our short stay, rooms were very comfortable and spotless, plenty of room to manouver in the room, breakfast very filling, hosts very friendly and nothing is too much bother for them. Aviemore Centre is only 5 minutes walk with lots of activities for all the family.

Room Tip: Recomended for short / long stays... :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnTuras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Good location, very friendly and helpful owner.
The place has had its day and a lot of the wall paper etc is peeling away and the beds are pretty dodgy/ lumpy. If whole lot had a good paint/decorate it would be more worth the money, but you pay for the area I guess.
We were dissapointed that the distinctive 'Scottish' breakfast was no more Scottish than regular English????
Having said that we would return if ever back in Aviemore

Room Tip: 1st floor.... Think they are warmer??
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ems1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen T, Owner at Vermont Guesthouse, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
In response to your review I did email you to find our which room you occupied to check your comments regarding the bed being lumpy so I did a survey from guests who occupied the room after yourself and had no complaints either about the bed or the décor, actually some of the recent reviews are of the same room. it's all a matter of opinion In these matters. we do try to do our best to please and make all comfortable in our home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This guesthouse is just a little gem .Nothing is to much trouble to Mrs Tannock this was my second time in 3 years and it is without question worth every penny.Its location within the town is spot on five minutes walk and you are at the center of Aviemore

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Excellent B and B,with a very friendly host. Everything during the stay was flawless and brillant. Would strongly recommen.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinlennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
6.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 29 in Aviemore
499 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carn Mhor Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
The Park Guest House
The Park Guest House
#9 of 29 in Aviemore
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vermont Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vermont Guesthouse

Property: Vermont Guesthouse
Address: Grampian Road, Aviemore, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Vermont Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vermont Guesthouse Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing