We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, tasty food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Tandoori

Royal Tandoori
Ranked #29 of 61 Restaurants in Aviemore
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gifford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good, tasty food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Had a take away from here whilst on holiday and it was pretty good. The pakora is a bit on the greasy side but the curries are very tasty and it is good value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SKSAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    129
    42
    33
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Naga Madras”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

My Naga Madras was a bit one dimensional, if that makes any sense. It was hot (as I like), but simply hot with no other characteristics. The other 3 diners were far happier with their meals.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JOHN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best meal in Aviemore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We visited the Royal Tandoori in Aviemore during the Easter weekend in April 2014. Despite the restaurant being busy, the service was good and the food excellent. Certainly one of the best Royal Masala and curries we ever had. Staff were very friendly and even added a heart shaped cream detail to our Masala. The Royal Tandoori is certainly maintaining its reputation for excellent food and atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Curry!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Visited here and was very happy with my meal. Felt the food was good and eaten in array of indian restaurants in my time the food was better than most. The service was good and I enjoyed my evening.

Helpful?
Thank Fcav92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Would not go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Our night got off to a bad start when we had to send a glass of wine back as it tasted more like sherry !! I was told to pick something else to drink as that was the only wine they had. The meal was okay but have had far better food else where.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowAnnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Tandoori also viewed

Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to Royal Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing