We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ingredients!”
Review of Royal Tandoori

Royal Tandoori
Ranked #30 of 62 Restaurants in Aviemore
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great ingredients!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were there on a busy evening, with a couple of large groups (12+) in the restaurant; service was slow, but the staff coped well, in good spirits - our wait was eased with poppadums & pickles & sauce on the house! Our starters & main courses were excellent, and good portions, the four of us all having chosen a wide variety of dishes. A pleasant, noisy, cheerful evening in a well-run establishment.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grufflux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    134
    43
    38
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hallett Cove, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
“Great choice for lunch”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Family of four stopped by for their business lunch deal. Well priced, good selection of food, all nicely cooked and presented. Left feeling very satisfied.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Super food”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Went there tonight and had a fab meal. Really tasty food. Especially enjoyed the poppadons with pickles but the mains were super too. Excellent.

Helpful?
Thank pthes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worst meal that I have had at the Royal Tandoori”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have been visiting Aviemore every summer for the last 15 years and I have been a regular visitor to the Royal Tandoori.

I went there last night with family and friends and had a disappointing meal. My draft pint of lager was warm but they did replace it with a cold bottle. The meal was not very hot and quite tasteless. The other people I was with found it disappointing as well.

This used to be my favourite restaurant in Aviemore but I wasn't impressed with the service. I don't think I'll be going back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty but nothing special either”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very tasty food, bit weird experience picking up my takeaway as the staff were not particularly welcoming to a tourist and made me feel a bit out of place !!! Would possibly eat here again though

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BabsThePanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Tandoori also viewed

Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to Royal Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing