We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful! FIVE Stars all Round!”
Review of Glenmore Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aviemore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenmore Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful! FIVE Stars all Round!”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Firstly, let me say the staff at Glenmore Lodge are absolutely fantastic, especially Nancy and the front of house staff. So knowledgeable and polite, they made the course I did superb. Rooms are very basic but clean, food healthy and tasty. If you're at the lodge for a course I doubt there are better instructors in Europe, that's how good they are. Practical skills are backed up with in-depth lectures and the whole place has a very health-conscious atmosphere, as you'd expect. Thoroughly recommend Glenmore Lodge. Five stars to everyone, well done folks.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougieRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    13
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
9
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Wonderful location, but I can't stand organisations and hotels spouting about their environmental credentials when they waste energy.
The buildings energy rating was G, the worst. In fact it was way off the scale, 173 where G was only up to 100.
This centre could have used geothermal / wind / much more solar / water power, for it energy needs. Instead the vast majority is from the grid and because the building rating is so bad, most of that is wasted.
Having your packed lunch in biodegradable plastic bags bags looks like it being 'kind' to the environment but not when course delegates are are flying there from all over the UK.

Room Tip: Bring a fan heater in very cold weather. The room are cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zachuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon F, Public Relations Manager at Glenmore Lodge, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
We are sorry that you felt that our efforts towards the environment were just lip service. All of us here at Glenmore Lodge work hard every day to lessen our impact on the environment, that is why we have been awarded the Green Tourism Business Scheme Gold award two years in a row and are currently shortlisted for an award placing us in the top 48 of the 2400 businesses registered for the scheme.

You are correct that our building rating is 173, however as we are currently listed in the wrong category we are not being compared with similar sized and building usage. Once we have our reclassification approved our 'letter' rating will significantly improve.

At the point of your stay had already installed solar energy and are about to commision either biomass or ground source as a greener energy alternative. We have been sourcing this for a number of months but the planning and regulation within a national park is a much longer process than in a city as environmental awareness for us means much more than just a reduction in CO2.

Throughout the year the room temperatures are maintained at what we beleive is a comfortable level and rarely receive comments. If guests are cold then we would always be able to provide additional duvets or blankets which we beleive is a better solution envirnomentally.

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed at Glenmore Lodge for 8 days, on the above course. The facilities were excellent, the staff friendly, professional and efficient and the catering was wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seabhag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Glenmor Lodge provides an unusual experience. Set in stunning location as part of an outdoor centre, it won't give you the frills of a hotel but the rooms are of a high quality if you manage to get the right wing. Food is simple and lacks choice as it caters for the outdoor enthusiasts on courses but is tasy and nutritious. The small bar has a comfortable feel, just right for a relaxing night after being in the coutryside.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyk0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2011

I have stayed at Glenmore Lodge on numerous occasions over the last few years. The facilities are second to none in the area: climbing wall, dry ski slope, gym, sauna, pool, bar, etc.

The location is great, set amidst a forest with views over the northern corries, and only a few minutes drive to the ski centre.

The lodge is mainly there to provide outdoor intstruction courses for everyone from beginners and proffesionals getting their qualifications and it is testamount to their pedigree that people regularly travel up from the south of england to train here.

Cant fault the place.

Room Tip: Tell the receptionist what you are wanting??????...............
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank big-holiday-addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

This is a mountain lodge with quite a few rooms that trains people in outdoor activities at a very serious and very advanced level (although I am sure they also take complete beginners). I was looking for a place for the night and stumbled on this place. Aside for not allowing dogs to sleep in the rooms it is a perfect place. There is tones of info on outdoor activities, the rooms are comfortable and clean and not expensive. bathrooms are a bit small but can't have everything. they have have a pub and serve meals. They also sell some supplies and have a sauna, gym and laundry facilities. This is a great spot to set out from on hikes and even for skiing in winter.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtProperty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
4.9 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
6.0 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
9.7 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cairngorm Lodge Youth Hostel
5.8 mi away
Silverglades Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmore Lodge

Property: Glenmore Lodge
Address: Glenmore, Aviemore PH22 1QU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Scotland's National Outdoor Training Centre located in the heart of Cairngorms National Park. Learn, develop or qualify in an adventure sport of your choice. Our goal is to inspire adventure by teaching beginners, coaching intermediate/advanced and delivering training and assessment courses for leaders and instructors.Our role is as a national resource to the outdoor industry and community. Whether you are an individual, company, freelancer or offical body, we are here for you.Unless stated, our UK residential courses are fully inclusive of instruction, accommodation the night before your course commences, full board and accommodation during the course, course transport & equipment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenmore Lodge Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing