We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glenmore Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boat Hotel(Boat of Garten)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairwinds Hotel(Carrbridge)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairngorm Hotel(Aviemore)
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
55
18
3
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
18
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswinter skills coursedrying roomclimbing wallexcellent facilitieshot showerwild campingreindeer centretwin roomminute driveaccommodationpintsnowhighlands
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Friendly welcome from staff, all details of location activities available explained. Kids welcomed and made to feel like special guests.
Great food in bar with quick service.
Good selection of Malt Whisky!!!

Relaxing and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dougalfrugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

Excellent mountain training courses, with superb guides. All kit available to hire fir free. We had a wonderful time on the winter skills course. The food provided was amazing and extensive! Excellent bar with cairngorm real ales and a massive malt whiskey list! Rooms were adequate if basic, but the shower was the best I've met in a hotel ever! Sauna, pool available. Overall a fabulous experience (if tiring!!!)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaroGrinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The main purpose of the visit was definitely the winter skills course and not the accommodation. The accommodation is a few steps up from a youth hostel, it is not hotel standard, beds were rock hard, not ideal after a few days in the hills. The mobile phone reception and the Wi-Fi is also very poor to non-existent. However that said the instructors knowledge, lectures, organisation and skilled instruction was excellent, couldn't fault it. The breakfast and evening meals provided were really good and as far as possible locally sourced. So in summary, great people, great courses, great location, great food and will definitely be back for more.

Room Tip: Rooms are shared, be prepared.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alba_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I had been to Glenmore Forest before and wanted to return, as it is such a beautiful place and much nicer than Aviemore, just down the road. I happened across the fact that Glenmore Lodge offers b&b by a lucky accident. This is a centre for outdoor activities and b&b places depend on whether there are spare rooms once the courses are booked but if you are lucky enough to be wanting to stay when they have a room available, it is definitely worthwhile. Our room was a large twin bedded one with a patio door looking out on the lawns, surrounding trees and more distant mountains and the room contained leather seats as well as the beds. We had been told that we would have to use the shared shower facilities but this actually only applies after 8pm in the evening and, as we were there before that we were able to use the shower in the en suite in our room, which turned out to be the most high pressure shower we have ever had! (The water in the shower is no longer heated after 8 but is hot again in the morning).
We had a meal in the bar before taking possession of our room (which is not available until after 7pm). The meal, at £10 for a main course and a pint of beer, was really good value and extremely nice. We are vegetarians and there was a choice of vegetarian food ... and not the usual boring choices you often get in pubs. Obviously, one can have more than one course if you want to pay for it. My husband was particularly happy about the choice of around 50 different whiskies that are available at the bar. For more healthy options, guests can have free use of the gym, sauna, pool and climbing wall.

Glenmore Lodge is situated on a hill just above Loch Morlich, which is a stunningly beautiful loch. It has a large, inland beach and is surrounded by forest, with a number of walks, either around the loch, in the woods or next to the river which feeds the loch. The funicular railway which takes you to the top of the Cairngorms is at the top of the same road, about 10 more minutes drive up the road and there is a reindeer centre and a sledding centre next door.

As a couple of not especially fit pensioners, we had wondered whether we would feel comfortable in Glenmore Lodge but thought we would try it. There was a lot of talk in the bar about 'getting out of your comfort zone'. However, we can happily report that we were well within ours. The staff were very helpful and made us feel very comfortable, and at £54 for a twin room and breakfast this represented excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

We went to Glenmore on the 5 day Summer Mountain Skills Hillwaking Course and absolutely loved every minute of it and it was great to be pushed out of our usual comfort zone under safe instruction.The course left us far more confident in our route planning and navigation skills, to the extent that we are now far more adventurous in undertaking mountain walks and have even done some scrambling. Every aspect of the week exceeded our expectations. The equipment available to borrow to supplement our own was of excellent quality. The course was essentially all inclusive and all of the plentiful food provided was great - breakfasts, packed lunches, cake and dinner (home made soups were particularly good). Everyone we met on other courses appeared equally impressed and we met quite a few people up hills/munros in Skye this week who had coincidentally also trained at Glenmore and couldn't speak highly enough!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeorgieGirl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews