We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Skills Course”
Review of Glenmore Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aviemore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenmore Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Winter Skills Course”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Myself and partner stayed at Glenmore Lodge for a 2 day winter skills course which included all meals during the course. The accommodation is nice and simple but comfortable with great showers and a nice bar with good food for days when your meals aren't covered by the course fee. From the moment you arrive the staff are very helpful and give you all the information you need in order to ensure you arrive on time and at the correct place for your briefings, meals and lectures. All of the food was very good and in plentiful supply so you don't need to worry about running low on energy out in the mountains.

The course itself is very well run and no expense is spared to ensure any items of equipment you would ever want to use are available to borrow for no cost (This is one of the main reasons we went with Glenmore Lodge for this course). Out in the mountains anything can happen with the weather but the instructors have seen it all and keep a close eye on everyone in the group to ensure they are learning and not struggling in what can be pretty hardcore wind, snow, rain.... etc etc. At the end of our course our instructor spent well over an hour with us discussing gear for a trip we hope to take in the coming months which added no end of value to our experience.

Over all we were very impressed and would highly recommend Glenmore Lodge!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blyth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    14
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
9
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We didn't stay here but came for a meal while staying at the campsite which is very close. We had a fantastic meal - just right for a cold and rainy evening, wine and beer also very good. The service was excellent - attentive and very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueRob7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aviemore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Didn't stay here but stopped off for a meal in the Lochain Bar. Food was excellent and good value for money. Service wasn't brilliant - empty plates left on table while waitress/barmaid sat at bar and ate her dinner - but I will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TazAviemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

it offers a fantastic location, a good choice menu and a well-stocked bar. Not cheap at £54 B&B - ask for a discount you might be lucky. Reception and bar staff are friendly and efficient and the food is very good. You get that training centre institutional feel when you meet other staff on site - a smile costs nothing! A good night's sleep? Wafer thin walls offer little protection from noisy kids and wide-awake room neighbours.

Room Tip: Take some ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munrotop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

A lovely place to stay for summer or winter exploration of the stunning Cairngorms hills near Aviemore. Rooms are basic, ski-lodge type. Bar does adequate good and drinks with further opportunities to ogle the beautiful mountain scenery.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanT372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Friendly welcome from staff, all details of location activities available explained. Kids welcomed and made to feel like special guests.
Great food in bar with quick service.
Good selection of Malt Whisky!!!

Relaxing and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougalfrugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

Excellent mountain training courses, with superb guides. All kit available to hire fir free. We had a wonderful time on the winter skills course. The food provided was amazing and extensive! Excellent bar with cairngorm real ales and a massive malt whiskey list! Rooms were adequate if basic, but the shower was the best I've met in a hotel ever! Sauna, pool available. Overall a fabulous experience (if tiring!!!)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroGrinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
4.9 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
6.0 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
9.7 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cairngorm Lodge Youth Hostel
5.8 mi away
Silverglades Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmore Lodge

Property: Glenmore Lodge
Address: Glenmore, Aviemore PH22 1QU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Scotland's National Outdoor Training Centre located in the heart of Cairngorms National Park. Learn, develop or qualify in an adventure sport of your choice. Our goal is to inspire adventure by teaching beginners, coaching intermediate/advanced and delivering training and assessment courses for leaders and instructors.Our role is as a national resource to the outdoor industry and community. Whether you are an individual, company, freelancer or offical body, we are here for you.Unless stated, our UK residential courses are fully inclusive of instruction, accommodation the night before your course commences, full board and accommodation during the course, course transport & equipment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenmore Lodge Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing