We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brlliant place, people and experiences”
Review of Glenmore Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aviemore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenmore Lodge
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Glenmore Lodge can be looked as two separate things - the accommodation and the courses.
This is the second course I've been on and both occasions the enthusiasm and quality of the instruction and the facilities provided were absolutely excellent. Learning was at a pace which wasn't so fast that we felt under pressure or had difficulty absorbing what we were being shown/taught, but we still did learn a lot. In the introduction to paddlesports course that became really obvious on the second day when we went onto moving water and all had the confidence to enjoy the day and play about on the water. Again, the skill and enthusiasm of the instructor was no small part of this. Having spoken to people doing other courses, the general feeling ion the instructors is the same – they re the best. Committed, skilled and excellent communicators keen to pass on their experience.
On the accommodation front, the rooms are spacious, comfortable, en suite and well-appointed. The beds are very comfortable and the showers are, well a bit of a blast. Food provided for people on courses is basic but generous helpings and very tasty. The choice is limited and if you don't like what there is, ask nicely and you'll get something from the bar menu. You won't leave feeling hungry. Breakfast is usual b&b stuff, a wide range of cereals, porridge and cooked stuff (no bacon though and the porridge wasn't great). Also packed lunches are provided – a couple of filled rolls, some cake, fruit and a biscuit. All good stuff. Or post adventure relaxing, after the debrief and dinner, there is the bar upstairs. Quite small with a decent range of whiskies covering a range of tastes and a couple of real ales, friendly service, comfy seats and magnificent views of the Cairngorms. All with friendly efficient service – what more could you ask? Not much. Food is available from the upstairs bar and although I never ate g=here, I did see a few meals being delivered and they looked and melt delicious. There's also a gym and sauna but I never used them so can't comment.
And there a pictures of the area hung around the place, some of which will take your breath away.
On top of all this, and I guess Glenmore can't take all the credit for this, the people who use the Lodge tend to be very relaxed and friendly. Both courses I've been on the group have been excellent company for the evening meal and drinks in the bar, but even on the fist night before you meet your coursemates, striking up conversation is the norm, possibly because everyone there has some form of connection with the outdoors, so there's something in common.

Room Tip: If you're on a course, take the accommodation option Take plastic bags for carrying lunch as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiltedladdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Location doesn't get any better, with Cairngorm National Park on the doorstep. Great spotless rooms and facilities, good value, good bar and food, friendly staff. Has a definite outdoor centre vibe (cos it is)... You'll love our loathe. I'm the former. Breakfast is functional, so if you want a hotel style fry up buffet you'll be disappointed.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Garry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We only visited the restaurant. The food was good standard pub fare but the choice was fairly limited. The desserts even more so. But for the price it is all good, they also have free wifi which is useful. The views are fine and the atmosphere pretty relaxed.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Calummurdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Myself and partner stayed at Glenmore Lodge for a 2 day winter skills course which included all meals during the course. The accommodation is nice and simple but comfortable with great showers and a nice bar with good food for days when your meals aren't covered by the course fee. From the moment you arrive the staff are very helpful and give you all the information you need in order to ensure you arrive on time and at the correct place for your briefings, meals and lectures. All of the food was very good and in plentiful supply so you don't need to worry about running low on energy out in the mountains.

The course itself is very well run and no expense is spared to ensure any items of equipment you would ever want to use are available to borrow for no cost (This is one of the main reasons we went with Glenmore Lodge for this course). Out in the mountains anything can happen with the weather but the instructors have seen it all and keep a close eye on everyone in the group to ensure they are learning and not struggling in what can be pretty hardcore wind, snow, rain.... etc etc. At the end of our course our instructor spent well over an hour with us discussing gear for a trip we hope to take in the coming months which added no end of value to our experience.

Over all we were very impressed and would highly recommend Glenmore Lodge!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blyth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We didn't stay here but came for a meal while staying at the campsite which is very close. We had a fantastic meal - just right for a cold and rainy evening, wine and beer also very good. The service was excellent - attentive and very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueRob7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Didn't stay here but stopped off for a meal in the Lochain Bar. Food was excellent and good value for money. Service wasn't brilliant - empty plates left on table while waitress/barmaid sat at bar and ate her dinner - but I will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TazAviemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

it offers a fantastic location, a good choice menu and a well-stocked bar. Not cheap at £54 B&B - ask for a discount you might be lucky. Reception and bar staff are friendly and efficient and the food is very good. You get that training centre institutional feel when you meet other staff on site - a smile costs nothing! A good night's sleep? Wafer thin walls offer little protection from noisy kids and wide-awake room neighbours.

Room Tip: Take some ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munrotop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
4.9 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
6.2 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,342 reviews
6 mi away
High Range Hotel
High Range Hotel
#1 of 25 in Aviemore
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmore Lodge

Address: Glenmore, Aviemore PH22 1QU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Scotland's National Outdoor Training Centre located in the heart of Cairngorms National Park. Learn, develop or qualify in an adventure sport of your choice. Our goal is to inspire adventure by teaching beginners, coaching intermediate/advanced and delivering training and assessment courses for leaders and instructors.Our role is as a national resource to the outdoor industry and community. Whether you are an individual, company, freelancer or offical body, we are here for you.Unless stated, our UK residential courses are fully inclusive of instruction, accommodation the night before your course commences, full board and accommodation during the course, course transport & equipment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenmore Lodge Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing