We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Reviewed 20 February 2012

the hotel was nice quite expensive ,we had free entry to leisure centre as hotel connecteted too it.very good peaceful there and u have the skiing and walks if u likethat there is local hotel and pubs too if u want a change .we went for a meal in hotel was beutiful but prces were over the top and we did not have a big choice in the evening meal so we went somewhere else and enjoyed it. also u had too go out off the building we were in too go for breakfast not so good we were told that was the quickest way by staff.would i go ther again for the price i would expect more so maybe not ?????

Room Tip: top floor was nice and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 246willf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

679 - 685 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

Stayed at the hotel in February 2012 with my girlfriend.

We eventually found the hotel having visited the four seasons hotel first (the larger building in the profile picture) due to lack on sign posts on the resort 'complex' itself.

Found the room by going down one corridor and up the next. Very poor furnished room including old CRT TV screen - however the bed was very comfy. No free Wifi in the hotel - BT Openzone - very poor this day and age.

Basically the hotel would have been nice about 20 years ago - needs seriously renovating. Definitely over priced - I have stayed a chain hotel in Columnybridge, Aviemore a couple of years ago and this was stunning in comparison. I will not be visiting again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We were passing Aviemore and needed somewhere to stay for the night. We phoned McDonald Resort and were offered a 4* double room b&b for £84. Considering it was very short notice (5pm) we thought this was quite reasonable.
On check-in we were offered to upgrade to DB&B for £115. The check-in clerk couldn't have been more helpful. We agreed and booked a table at their Italian restaurant, Giovanni's.
The room was disappointing, very average. As it had been billed as a 4* we were looking for a lot more. Don't get me wrong, it was clean and the bed was very big and comfortable BUT it was 0 degrees outside and there was no heating on in the room. There was a sign above the raidator saying it had been superseded by an electric heater but this was off on arrival and took a few hours to heat the room to a comfortable temperature. The bathroom was tiny and very ordinary; bath with overhead shower, toilet & small wash-hand basin - no shelves etc. to put toiletries. There was a cracked tile on the floor and the paint at the bottom of the door was really peeling off.
The carpet was a dark brown & red stripe, clean but the furniture had obviously been moved as there were many 'dents' in the pile of the carpet. Wood work was streaky - a small thing but just made the place look really down.
As I said above, we went to Giovanni's (which is in another building) for an Italian meal. It was nice enough, staff very friendly. None of the pavements or carparks had been gritted or salted so I was hanging onto my other half to stop me from falling!
Basically if you're looking for an average 3* hotel this is it. If you were looking for a little bit of 4* luxury try else where.
The only thing I can say that I considered 'excellent' was the staff, both in the restaurant and front desk. A make over of the rooms would really make this an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glasgow1Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We were a bit worried about this trip given some of the reviews but overall we were very pleased with our 3 night stay and felt it was extremely good value for money on a DBB basis. There were good points and bad - on the positive side the staff are excellent, knowledgeable and friendly, the food in the Aspects Restaurant is of a very high standard and our room was a good size. The bathroom was a bit dated but clean, The bed was very comfortable. The only real negatives were (i) trying to find hotel reception on arrival (as mentioned by other reviewers) as we went to the central reception first and found it locked and deserted - we were tired and cold and so this experience didn't make for the best first impression, and (ii) the temperature in the corridor outside our (nice and warm) room as the heater in the corridor did not work. We did not sample the leisure facilities or any other parts of the resort as all the other hotels and restaurants were closed during our mid-week stay in January. Overall the food, staff and comfy bed far outweighed any negatives.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyvoyagerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Me and my boyfriend arrived at 7.40 am on the Caledonian sleeper from London (which by the way is nice but my god the cabins are tiny! and we didn't sleep one bit probably due to the motion of the train!) we left Aviemore station and went across the road to the hotel (which was so handy at that dark hour) but it was so confusing to find where to check in ! we actually went around for about 40 minutes as its a big place with several different buildings , we found the right place and the staff were so lovely and let us check in early (so we could nap) .
Unfortunately there was no snow which was disappointing but Aviemore is a nice village , there is a pub right beside the entrance to the MacDonalds resort which shows football (thankfully for the other half) and I would recommend the Winking Owl down the road for nice atmosphere and great food .
The room was adequate for what we paid (£50 per night with breakfast for 2 people through hotels.com) we were given a twin rather than double but didn't change as we were so tired on arrival we just accepted it and napped on arrival.
The room itself had comfy if slightly dated decor , not great - but not bad, it was clean , quiet and comfy so for what we paid it really was perfectly fine .
The breakfast was buffet style and very nice, the staff in every instance were wonderful and friendly , all in all I would stay again .

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pami.eire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Character-building would describe a stay at The Highland Hotel. The food in Aspects Restaurant is superb and the staff are amazing - BUT our room was cold and dingy; broken floor tiles mould round the bath, buckled bath panel. The central heating does not work but there is an electic heater 'for your convenience'! NO HEATING in the bathroom at all!! After two days it was explained that if you turn the hot tap on and let it run for 10 minutes then the towel rail will heat up!!! " Why didn't you tell us before?" asked my husband. "Because I didn't know before" replied the receptionist. The fire doors are perpetually open so there is a gale down the corrridors and the fire alarm went off THREE times in our five day stay; once at 3.00am and another time during breakfast which meant 75 minutes to have breakfast and we missed our bus! Apparently the gas in the kitchen is automatically switched off for 15 minutes during an alarm. It seems that crafty smokers often set off the alarm - maybe they could put a notice in the rooms to let people know!
Even getting there is a challenge. "You can't miss it, it is right opposite the train station" I was confidently told when I rang to check. Really? Opposite the train station is the Cairngorm Hotel, but I spied the white concrete building behind which looked like what I had seen on the website. We trudged up the hill - the hotel, inappropriately names the Four Seasons was locked and empty. Then we went to the next white concrete hotel, also empty and locked, then a resort centre then spied a leisure centre (all closed up - it was 8pm) THEN 4th time lucky we found the Highland Hotel. Most of the other visitors went to all the hotels too - too difficult to put a sign by the road? Still we enjoyed it, comfy beds, fab food and very helpful staff - but definitely not for the faint-hearted.

Room Tip: It might be worth upgrading to executive, our standard room was very tatty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peggypickup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We are just back from another lovely stay at the Highlands Hotel which we have now had the pleasure of staying in a number of times. Right from check-in through to check-out we met with very friendly management and staff who were only too happy to make sure our stay was as comfortable as it could be.
Our room was fairly large and very well laid out with plenty space for two kids beds alongside our bed which it must be said was big enough for three people on its own. The leisure centre was just along the corridor which was handy for the kids going swimming plus there was a very well kitted out gym just in case we couldn't get out to play.
As far as food was concerned we enjoyed the faire in Giovanni's as usual with the breakfast in Aspects restaurant being just the thing to set you up for the day ahead. A wee touch that we appreciated quite a lot was a bottle of wine and some fresh fruit in our room on arrival. It is little gestures like that which make it a very easy decision to come back here time and again.
To Gina, Gordon and the rest of your very able crew keep up your good work and we will hopefully be back up for another skiing break in the near future.

Room Tip: Speak to Gina or Gordon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skiboy_robertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
1.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
5.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
809 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
24.7 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Aviemore Highlands, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: £87 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in style and complete comfort at the 4-star Macdonald Highlands Hotel. With 151 luxury rooms-with-a-view and its own signature restaurant, Aspects, boasting spectacular views of the Cairngorm Mountains, the Highlands Hotel is ideal for discerning business and leisure travellers. For relaxation there's direct access to Aviemore Activity Centre, a TV lounge with comfy sofas and a DVD player, and the cozy Laggan whisky bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Highlands Aviemore
Macdonald Highlands Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Hotel Macdonald Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing