We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Had a very pleasant stay for two nights at the Macdonald highlands hotel while attending a wedding at the nearby Inshriach House. Rooms were simple and clean - and the breakfast in the morning was fantastic. On Friday night the two restaurants in the complex closed at 9:00pm which was a bit of a bummer - but luckily we were able to order room service before 9:30pm when the main hotel kitchen closed. Overall, a very quiet and pleasant stay - would love to come back for the winter sport season.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamconner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

619 - 625 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed here for two nights, everything was lovely ( especially the buffet breAkfast!) bed was so comfy and the pillows were out of this world! Would recommend and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezza21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We had an enjoyable 3 night stay in the Highland Hotel. The hotel has some excellent facilities such as a cinema (not free), huge shop, great gym and a good sized pool. The hotel is starting to look a bit shabby and dated and in places could with a refurb. However on the whole it was a good stay.

Good Points:
Gym
Pool
Breakfast (buffet style) loads of choice,excellent professional serving staff.
Location
Rooms cleaned well
Friendly staff (cleaners, maintenance staff, gardners, breakfast serving staff)

Not So Good Points:

Jacuzzi was out of action for one day.
Noticed a very large queue of people waiting to be seated at breakfast (we got there early so did not impact us)
Massive old style TV dominated the room
Dated look to the corridors and room.
Prices in bar
Paper thin walls
Fire doors always left open (any one could wonder around the hotel)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlasgowSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed her for 3 nights on our recent visit to Aviemore.

The hotel is nice, staff are friendly and breakfast good. (don't know about lunch or dinner as we always opt to eat out at one of the many other places in Aviemore).

The only tips I would give the hotel (for staying the the Highland Executive Suits) are as follows;

- Better pillows, far far to soft, it was like it I didn't have one, let alone two.....
- Better TV. I wasn't aware CTRs were still in use.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I took my wife away for a long weekend and booked this hotel because it seemed to have what we were looking for. A spa, restaurants and in a fantastic location. We were not disappointed! After originally booking the stay i had e-mailed the hotel with additional requests - extra meals, mountain bike hire, extra spa treatments - and the hotel were very helpful in replying and arranging everything. Check in was very quick and easy and the room was lovely. The view over the car park wasn't ideal, but thats really trying to find fault! The bed was very comfortable and there was a complimentary fruit bowl which was a nice touch. Slight disappointment that the mini-bar was empty, but the room was close to the hotel bar when we did want a drink. The two restaurants - Aspects and Giovanni's - both served lovely food, although i would strongly suggest booking dinner as part of the stay package as it saves a lot of money!! The spa treatments that we booked in advance were, i'm assured by my wife, good value and on time! We hired mountain bikes through the hotel and they were even delivered to the hotel for us which was nice. On checking out the final bill was very clear with no nasty surprises. Overall it is a lovely place to stay and would definitely recommend it to others and we intend to return again in the future.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an executive room if you can!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjonesy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed in room 2295, on arrival this room had a damp smell. Looking at cealing water marks were present with cealing paper hanging lose. No attempt to decorate over. Bathroom was cramped and looked tired, overall workmanship of bathroom was poor. Downlighting looked at botch job, infact if this was my hotel I would be embarrassed to sign off work carried out. In desperate need of upgrade. Toilet seat was left hanging off, easily fixed by re attaching the plastic plugs, something cleaners should be seeing to? Hotel we stayed at lacked signage to reception, it was a warren of runs trying to find. Hotel hot tub/jacuzzi was broken, staff not concerned when approached. The only positive from our stay was friendly staff and location.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dons82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Rooms and service not quite up to a four star. Pool was too cool for young children but a good size. Wasn't expecting to pay extra for soft play but it was good for under fives. Aspects restaurant in the evening however was very good in terms of service and quality of food. Breakfast in aspects also good. There is enough to do around complex with young children and overall the price was reasonable. I would go back.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
781 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,300 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Aviemore Highlands, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: £112 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in style and complete comfort at the 4-star Macdonald Highlands Hotel. With 151 luxury rooms-with-a-view and its own signature restaurant, Aspects, boasting spectacular views of the Cairngorm Mountains, the Highlands Hotel is ideal for discerning business and leisure travellers. For relaxation there's direct access to Aviemore Activity Centre, a TV lounge with comfy sofas and a DVD player, and the cozy Laggan whisky bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Highlands Aviemore
Macdonald Highlands Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Hotel Macdonald Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing