We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Hotel but could do with training their staff a bit more .....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Okay Hotel but could do with training their staff a bit more .....”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Hotel was okay, not very clear on where the main reception was in the Highland Hotel ... poorly light at night as we arrived after 7pm .... a huge tree in front of hotel stops anyone at night seeing where to go ....

Receptionist upon arrival advised problems with the keycards and maintenance guy was coming to fix .... waited with 2 sleeping kids and wife in reception .. after 20 mins I asked her what was happening she said ... sorry the guy has fixed it for you so you can now go unto your room .. even tho she saw us standing there, chose to not say anything and let us wait around ....

£4 per child for the soft play area is a bit of a rip off to be honest .. so we refused to pay that.

We were also not advised what was included with the DBB option we had taken .. so we had to ask ourselves .....

Giovanni's restaurant was very nice, service, staff and food was great.

Overall I gave this a 3 outta 5, could of been better if our start to the hotel was not interrupted by the rude receptionist.

Room Tip: Hilton Coylumbridge is better value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your check in experience after having trouble finding the reception. We always aim for the highest guest service available – and we take it seriously when guests do not find this to be the case. Please note that you comments have been passed on.
Thank you for your kind words regarding Giovannis restaurant – I am happy that you had an enjoyable dining experience.

We look forward to welcome you back again,

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    250
    184
    96
    52
See reviews for
212
352
17
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We booked a last minute two day break at an incredible price. We were very happy with our room which was comfortable and gave us a good nights sleep. The swimming pool, sauna and steam room was an added bonus which we thoroughly enjoyed......but.....Aspects Restaurant was just wonderful, food delicious, mmmmm I will definitely have to revisit even if just for the food!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietraveller03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review to share your resort experience.
I am absolutely delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.
Thank you very much for you wonderful words regarding your dining in Aspects Restaurant. Your wonderful comments were well received by our restaurant staff.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Great location as a base for visiting the area with good sized pool (jacuzzi broken just now - no information provided on when it would be fixed when asking). Room was not luxurious but was comfortable, quiet and the bathroom had a powerful shower. Wifi at no charge a bonus (hopefully Hilton are watching their competitors on this point). Request to provide extra pillows and fix broken bathroom door handle was dealt with efficiently, however, we queried why only one dressing gown/slippers but no explanation nor resolution given. Breakfast was good with a wide range of food at a high quality - disappointed that our request to sit at a quieter table was declined; several noisy children running between tables were off putting. (I'm sure this was frustrating the staff as well.) Returning to the bar one evening after dinner elsewhere, we were welcomed with a smile and service was impeccable.
Only a 2 minute stroll into the village centre, this hotel is probably hard to beat if you can get a good rate. Some other reviewers have mentioned decor; our room was well decorated and furnished as were the public areas; a hotel of this size is always going to need attention somewhere; the only down side worth mentioning is the no doubt eco-lighting does leave the rooms and restaurant a bit too dimly lit.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tuppenceworthreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time and effort taken to write a review and share your resort experience.
I am delighted to read your review and learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
It is a pleasure to see that you found the staff so welcoming during your stay, I know they will be delighted to hear your lovely comments.
I am happy that you enjoyed the breakfast, it is always something that tends to be popular with our guests.

We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Just back from a three night half-term break with the kids and are really happy with our experience at the Macdonald Highland hotel. We've been going to Aviemore on and off for the last 6 or 7 years and had the feeling that the Macdonald resort was going downhill, but this year's visit has restored our confidence.

The rooms are comfortable with traditional decor - boutique hotel it's not, but we knew what to expect and weren't disappointed.

Where we saw a big improvement was in the restaurants, which seemed to be more tightly managed than in previous years. We were on a DB&B package and ate twice in Giovanni's and once in Aspects. Giovanni's is very family friendly - starts dinner service at 5 and with a decent choice for adults and kids. Good service, friendly and efficient staff. My only slight criticism is that the pizza bases seemed to be "bought-in" rather than home-made - you would expect better if paying £12-14 for a pizza.

The highlight was definitely Aspects - dinner service was first-class, staff working really hard and the food was of a high standard - a great chance for the kids to experience fine-dining. Go early if you are able - it got busier after 8 and service inevitably slowed down. The breakfasts here were also great - full buffet including fab sausages and Stornoway black pudding - yum!

The resort had lots organised for the kids - on our last evening we went to the Scottish night and we're pleasantly surprised - a top-notch ceilidh bands and a superstar ents coordinator (Louisa??) who clearly loves her job and couldn't have done more to keep the kids entertained.

Well done Macdonald Aviemore - we'll be back next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarkies77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken out of your schedule to write a review to share your resort experience. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the resort accommodating for you and your family.
Thank you for all your kind words regarding your dining experience - it is such a pleasure to read and I know the staff will be happy to hear that you enjoyed the restaurants so much both for breakfast and dinner as well.
It is great that you really had the chance to enjoy every aspect of the resort and enjoyed the childrens activies and evening entertainment.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had a great stay. The only downfall was the fact that there were no nets or blinds on the bedroom windows. We had a ground floor room which looked directly on to facing parked cars which meant the curtains had to be drawn to have some privacy from other clients of the hotel going back and forwards to their cars.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room on an upper floor if you want some natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeymac57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review - I am happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the resort. I am sorry to hear that you were not perfectly happy with the location of your room, I do wish you would have brought it up with us during your stay in order to possibly find you another room that you would find more accommodating.

We hope you welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Been here a few times with my wife & young kids and it is an ideal family break during the school holidays.

Staying in the Highland Hotel this time (courtesy of an upgrade) on a 3 night break, it was adequate for our needs, offering breakfast in Aspects restaurant each morning which was plentiful and well serviced.

The food overall is good with a choice of 4 restaurants to choose from, one of which is located a short drive from the main complex which we have still to sample.
We ate in Giovanni's Italian on our 1st night the food being good, but the service painfully slow.
Next night we chose the carvery in the main hotel area which was a bit slap dash, and lacking a pleasurable dining experience.
Aspects was our final choice on the DB&B package which always comes up trumps, even if a slice of hand cut bread with butter or balsamic vinegar & olive oil, comes in at a hefty £1.75 per slice.

During one of the days I wanted to order a sandwich or light snack but to my surprise their is no light bite menu available outwith regular meal times. Surprising for a hotel offering so much, to miss a trick like that.

The facilities here are excellent, they cater for youngsters brilliantly with plenty on offer, with afternoon activities, and entertainment provided in the evening. The leisure club is excellent, including a well laid out gym and large pool area incorporating sauna's.

I would ceratinly recommend The McDonald Hotel in Aviemore as an ideal family short break destination, even if some of their pricing is a bit out of kilter.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSausageRoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review of your resort experience. I am happy to read your review and learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the resort accommodating for yourself and your family.
I am delighted that you enjoyed the food in Aspects restaurant - your kind comments have been passed on. Please also note that you feedback regarding both the service in Giovannis and atmosphere in the Carvery has been passed on to the relevant departments. We do offer room service menu in the Highlands hotel that has sandwiches that are available 24 hours for our guests if they want anything light during the day.
It is great that you had the time to really enjoy the resort and use the leisure facilities and entertainment offered on site and enjoyed both.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in July, we had a large room and bathroom, no complaints very comfy bed. corridors of hotel could do with an update but this is the only complaint. Breakfast was excellent, very good selection and waiting staff on the ball. We were on a DBB basis and food was excellent, dined in the Italian restaurant twice also Aspects restaurant is worth visiting, very good service and again food excellent . The steak club at Spey Valley golf club is very good with free transport. .
Pool area very good with wave pool & flume, daughter loved them both, areas very clean.
Again Macdonald Hotels is a winner!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carb08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to share your resort experience with us.
I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time staying with us and that the resort was accommodating for your and your family. Thank you for your kind words regarding the dining offered on site - I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed it as much as you did.

We look forward to welcome you back to the resort again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
1.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,284 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
8.5 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Property: Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Address: Aviemore Highlands, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in style and complete comfort at the 4-star Macdonald Highlands Hotel. With 151 luxury rooms-with-a-view and its own signature restaurant, Aspects, boasting spectacular views of the Cairngorm Mountains, the Highlands Hotel is ideal for discerning business and leisure travellers. For relaxation there's direct access to Aviemore Activity Centre, a TV lounge with comfy sofas and a DVD player, and the cozy Laggan whisky bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Highlands Aviemore
Macdonald Highlands Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Hotel Macdonald Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing