We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Nearby Hotels
Fairwinds Hotel(Carrbridge)
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boat Hotel(Boat of Garten)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairn Hotel(Carrbridge)
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Range Hotel(Aviemore)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cairngorm Hotel(Aviemore)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairngorm Lodge Youth Hostel(Aviemore)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveller rating
220
272
202
110
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
272
202
110
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaspects restaurantexecutive roomswimming poolleisure centreaviemore resortbuffet breakfaststeam room and saunamain receptionitalian restaurantweekend breakstayed here for two nightstea and coffeespey valleydb benjoyable stayplay areatwo night stay
Filter
Updating list...
536 - 541 of 867 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at the highlands hotel for the 3 night hogmanay break. Hotel was nice, clean and the staff were very attentive. We were a bit unsure before staying at this hotel due to the previous negative reviews but personally we couldn't fault the hotel. Breakfast was fantastic with a good range of hot and cold food. Food was very nice in the aspects restaurant. If you stop for hogmanay and do not have young children, I would recommend upgrading to the dinner dance in the peregrine suite as this was brilliant. My mum is a coeliac and it is normally a battle to find gluten free food but not at this hotel, they had gf bread for breakfast and gf options for dinner. The staff are very helpful when advising which food was suitable. The hotel is a short walk into aviemore so perfect location. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 885emmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a reivew on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us over the Hogmanay period and found the resort accommodating for yourself and you family.
Thank you for your kind words in regards to the dining offered on site - it is wonderful that you enjoyed it and I know the restaurants will be delighted to hear your wonderful comments.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Another brilliant visit to this hotel. The staff are so attentive and make the children feel special. The children's menus include real food, not just frozen nuggets and fish fingers! There was so much going on on resort that we didn't even try to leave this time, just enjoyed the Christmas activities and various trips to the pool. Only negative point is that the pool area was a bit grotty - especially the floors in the changing room. Hard to keep clean with such busy flow of people, but more effort could be made in this regard. That said, we all enjoyed the flume and the waves and we even took it in turns for some chill out time in the sauna - bliss.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the time taken to write a review. I am delighted that you and your family had such a wonderful stay with us – it is a pleasure to read.
Thank you for your comments regarding the leisure facilities – they have been taken on board.
We look forward to welcome you back again soon.
Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This is our second stay at this hotel as Aviemore has a serious lack of decent accommodation and we feel that this one is the best out of a bad lot! Our room was clean and they do provide many welcome extras but I have a real problem with this hotels halls, it feels like walking through a dingy prison with scuffed walls and doors, they really need a handyman in to attend to this as it is a major letdown. Breakfast was very good again and the breakfast chef is always very pleasant. We probably will stay here again as we don't have any other choice in Aviemore.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rj&lj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry that you were let down with the décor of the resort – I am happy to inform you that investment into the resort will ensure that we offer the best possible guest service.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and thank you for you kind words in regards to our chef.
We look forward to welcome you back again in the future.
Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

After a recent visit to MacDonald's Cinema Aviemore I felt i must write to commend a member of the resort staff - Duncan MacDonald. I am not trip advisor user but a felt i must report this positive, helpful, professional and friendly experience thanks to this young man. MacDonald's should be very proud.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank cesari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review regarding our member of staff – it is a delight to read and I know Duncan will be pleased to hear he made you feel welcome whilst visiting our cinema.
We look forward to welcome you back again.
Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Spent the weekend here for the "santa experience". Kids had a great time, lots to keep them occupied. Large, well kept, clean rooms, friendly, helpful, professional staff. Great pool and soft play area. Food was good although a bigger variety may have been better. Ate at the Italian on our last night, great food in a relaxed atmosphere although the service was a bit slow ( may just have been that we were all tired and wanted to get to bed ) Breakfast was amazing, great choice would definatley go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you back at the Resort in the very near future.
Best Regards
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews