We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hugely disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hugely disappointed”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Two days at this 4 star hotel was enough. It just seemed so disorganized, queues everywhere and guests complaining. Check in and out was always a queue, one lady on reception who continually answered the phone while making guests in line wait. Lovely breakfasts, staff looked very tired and disinterested in life.Aspects "fine dining experience" was a big exaggeration.
Sauna and Steam room very small. Room very clean, bathroom tiny. Good heating control in bedroom.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1990P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review - all guest feedback is always much appreciated.
I am sorry to hear that you were left feeling dissapointed following your stay with us.
Please rest assured that your comments and concerns have been passed on to the relevant departments for further investigation.
I am happy to hear that you had a lovely breakfast - our guest always tend to enjoy it.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    249
    182
    95
    50
See reviews for
211
349
17
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Ok so as my headline states there is building work until April 2014. Having had a room below the building work you will get noise between 9 am and 6pm which ranges from the on odd bit of knocking to a full on concrete drill.

That's the bad news out the way. Why would you come to this outstanding part of the UK and stay in your room?

We had a recently refurbished room. Nice and comfortable with all the mod cons. Nice big shower maybe at the cost of making the rest of the bathroom feel somewhat cramped.

Staff are (without exception) a true pleasure. This is an understated gem of a resort. 3 restaurants, an enormous health club and huge grounds, sandwiched between mountains either side. Parking is a plenty and you can be at the summit of The Cairngorms for skiing in around 20 minutes by car.

Eg of service excellence. My son caught a large trout in a nearby loch. The hotel cooked it to order and served it at my sons table. The result was a 9 year old who felt like a God!

You would have got a 5 if it wasn't for the building work. Great stay and would definitely recommend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to share your resort experience.
I am delighted to read your review and learn that you had such a wonderful stay with us and did not let the improvements of the hotel spoil your stay.
Thank you for your wonderful words regarding our staff - it is something that we work very hard on and I know they will be delighted to hear your wonderful comments.
It is wonderful that you had time to make use of all the leisure facilities on site and enjoyed them as well.

We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My partner and I booked four nights at half term 16 to19 Feb for a Ski Break. Room was ok but not at all set up for skiers. Nowhere to hang ski jacket or gear to dry out. Suitcases have to be carried up or down a half-landing. Breakfast was good. Ski resort is a no-hoper compared with European resorts. All this could have been suffered except that the hotel is a building site with drilling, banging and digger moving round car park, all kicking off from 08.45 until 7.00pm. The management was both dull-witted and impervious to complaints of noise and disturbance, the Duty Manager preferring to point out that the notice on the front desk asking for patience while they made the hotel better for our future was sufficient disclaimer and he could not offer an alternative room. They just don't know how to care about customers. We left after the second noisy night in disgust.

Room Tip: Don't go there until building work is guaranteed to be finished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnw_brophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your review with us. I am sorry to read your review and learn that you were left feeling dissapointed with your recent stay with us. It is always our top priority to offer the best possible guest service and we take it seriously when guests feel that this is not the case.
I am sorry that the current improvement of our resort caused you disturbance - and I apologise for the inconvenience this caused.

If you would like to discuss your dissapointment in more detail with us - please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent location. Hotel good. Food excellent in Aspects dining room but in the business centre of hotel food was VERY POOR. We had food that was lukewarm, dry & tasteless & tasted like it had been left out ALL day. All in all staff were friendly & courteous & would recommend just stay away from carvery restaurant.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your resort experience with us.
I am sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with the quality of the food your received in the Spey Valley Carvery - please rest assured that your concerns have been passed on.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed all other aspects of the resort - thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel and Aspects Restaurant, your wonderful comments have been passed on.

We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penkridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

To get the good parts dealt with, I booked an executive room, which was a good size and spotlessly clean. The room was also well equipped.

All of the staff we came across were incredibly polite and helpful.

Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice, although I have come across better in Scotland.

The downsides, work was going on in the hotel that we'd not been made aware of at the time of booking. The complex itself may appeal to some, but I couldn't help but feel like I was walking around a university campus.

Strangely and I appreciate that the hotel has no control over this whatsoever, the guests staying there were the most rude bunch I've ever come across. No manners and full of arrogance. I guess we were just unlucky.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Goat_Herder78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your resort experience with us.
I am sorry that you were not informed about the improvements currently being made to the hotel prior to your arrival - for this I apologise and hope that it did not cause too much of a disturbance.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room you stayed in accommodating. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff - it is something that we work very hard on and I will ensure to pass on your wonderful words.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Isles Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Major refurbishment of rooms is underway which meant that we had to work our way around workers to get to and from our room which was well away from the works.
Room was spacious and very comfortable. Welcome goodies of fruit, bottled water and a bottle of wine was much appreciated.
Dinner was excellent with a good choice of menu. Staff were extremely helpful and polite.
Superb leisure facilities with a soft play area to keep children amused.
£10 drinks/ food voucher reward for booking online.

Room Tip: Make sure it's well away from refurbishment and ideally away from the busy A9 which runs behind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hearach282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your resort experience with us.
I am delighted to read your review and learn that you had such a wonderful stay with us.
Thank you for all your kind feedback and comments.

We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow/Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

There is upgrading work going on in this hotel and it's all around the rooms. We stayed on a weekend so there was no work getting done but we checked out on the Monday and the noise at 9am was shocking, so I would hope that they strategically place their guests during the week. Having to go outside everytime you wanted to leave your room for the bar, breakfast, pool, entertainment etc was really annoying as it was the middle of winter. The room was small but bareable. The staff were amazing and I couldn't fault them. Most were foreign staff but all spoke beautiful English and were extremely pleasant. The breakfast was amazing. We paid £200 for double room, two nights bed and breakfast with dinner on one night, wine in the room and a £10 drinks/food voucher. Can't comment on the pool etc as we were skiing all day and just slept at night.

Room Tip: I wouldn't book this hotel if you are going to be in the hotel more often than not. If you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayley101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the taking out the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the breakfast we offer.
Thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our staff - is it something we work very hard on and always appreciate when our guests take the time to mention it.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
1.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,270 reviews
8.5 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Property: Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Address: Aviemore Highlands, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in style and complete comfort at the 4-star Macdonald Highlands Hotel. With 151 luxury rooms-with-a-view and its own signature restaurant, Aspects, boasting spectacular views of the Cairngorm Mountains, the Highlands Hotel is ideal for discerning business and leisure travellers. For relaxation there's direct access to Aviemore Activity Centre, a TV lounge with comfy sofas and a DVD player, and the cozy Laggan whisky bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Highlands Aviemore
Macdonald Highlands Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Hotel Macdonald Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing