We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biking round the Highlands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Used this hotel as a base for some biking up around Sutherland. £80 for a twin room bed and breakfast is a pretty good deal, although they were originally going to charge over £100 until I mentioned the deal I'd seen on the internet. Room was clean and quiet. The staff were very helpful and the buffet breakfast was excellent. Been here before and no doubt I'll be back again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Pedro J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your resort experience.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the resort and facilities on onsite accommodating.
Thank you for your kind words regarding breakfast - it is something that our guests always tend to enjoy.

We look forward to welcome you back again,

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 467 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights mid week a couple of weeks ago. We really enjoyed the stay, while we were here we had a couple of days skiing. The hotel is lovely and very well positioned in Aviemore. The bed is one of the comfiest I've slept on and the room is nice and spacious, we were on the ground floor. There was some refurbishment works being carried out while we were there, although this didn't impact on our stay.
Our first night we decided to eat in the main restaurant, we didn't prebook a table (it is recommended to prebook), we were told there would be a wait of 45 minutes, which was no problem as we then had a drink in the bar. The food was really tasty, service was very good. If you fancy more of a casual experience there is also a different menu that you can eat in the bar.
Breakfast is buffet style in the main restaurant, food was cooked to perfection. For our last morning we decided to have room service, there is a tray charge of £5, you can choose what you would like from a selected menu you then hang on the door before bed, if you are wanting a more of certain items it would be better to go for breakfast in the restaurant as for instance you only get one sausage, egg etc. but in saying that, the breakfast amount was enough to fill us up.
Overall, I would definitely stay here again, we really enjoyed our stay.
If you choose to stay here, you won't be disappointed with this fabulous MacDonald hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moo_wy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your resort experience.
I am delighted to read your review and hear that you had such a wonderful time whilst staying with us.
Thank you for all your lovely comments - it is a joy to read and we cannot wait to welcome you back to the resort in the near future.
Please note that all you wonderful feedback has been passed on to the relevant departments.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We used the Macdonald Highlands Hotel as a base on a recent 2 day skiing trip to Cairn Gorm ski area and found it to be perfectly adequate. As other reviewers have said the hotel is undergoing refurbishment at the moment but it caused us no inconvenience or annoyance whatsoever. Yes there was plastic on some of the carpets on the stairway and yes we did see workmen knocking about, but so what? Our room had not been refurbished yet as evidenced by the yucky decor but everything was clean and in order, and the daily visits from housekeeping left nothing to be desired. All the staff were very friendly including housekeeping, reception and dining room staff.The breakfast was excellent... good food and efficient, friendly service. Do be warned there is a dress code at Aspects restaurant in the evening which meant we had to give it a miss as we neglected to bring anything other than casual attire.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room when booking in the near future.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutAndAb0utDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a review.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the resort accommodating.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff - that is something that we work very hard on here at the resort.

We look forward to welcome you back again,

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Recently enjoyed another weekend break at the Macdonald Highland and again had a great time. Our room and bathroom were spotless as usual, although the latter was showing some signs of wear and tear. Heated towel rail also not working, which is disappointing. We ate at Aspects and Giovannis and these both exceeded the expectations which one might have about 'chain' hotel restaurants. Both were excellent. Once again, the Highland was a great, comfortable base for a weekend of outdoor activities in the Cairngorms!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiggScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a review.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the resort accommodating.
It is great that you had the chance to dine in our restaurants and enjoyed both - your comments have been passed on to the relevant department.

We look forward to welcome you back again,
Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We used hotel to break a long journey. Room very good as recently refurbished -make sure you get a refurbished room as work ongoing. Of particular note is the very friendly staff. Only slight negative was the toiletries in the bathroom were a tad minimalist. Lovely dish of fruit in room though.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished away from ongoing renovations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marina061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room you stayed in accommodating.
Thank you for your wonderful words regarding our staff - it is something that we work very hard on and your comments have been passed on.

We hope to welcome you back again,

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We are currently staying at the hotel and cannot fault the service we have received since our first day. The staff have been so polite helpful and friendly, the food in the restaurant is excellent, we are staying in one of the nice newly refurbished rooms. Part of the hotel is undergoing refurbishment at the moment but it hasnt interfered with our stay in any way, any workmen we have passed in the corridor have been polite, and any noise has been minimal.
We would definitely return back in the future. Many thanks to everyone that has made our stay a pleasant experience.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank SnakehipsDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your resort experience.
I am delighted to read your review and learn that you had such a wonderful stay with us.
We always aim for the highest possible guest service and it is always a pleasure when guests find this to be the case.
Please note that all your wonderful words regarding our staff have been passed on.

We look forward to welcome you back again,

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I hate to put bad reviews on trip advisor but really think this needs to be brought to the attention of the manager.

Me and my partner had the week off work and decided to go round scotland. We started at hilton at dunkeld which was fab. However our holiday was ruined by the service and state of the hotel.

We arrived and were checked in promptly. I was shocked to see there was workman everywhere and the noise was awful. The lift to our room wasn't working correctly and the floors were covered in plastic leading to the room. Was just vile. We got to our room and I couldn't believe it. Size was fine but it was decor from the 80s. I know the hotel is going through a refurb but it was horrendous. We phoned reception to see if we could move rooms and we even said we wouldn't mind paying for an upgrade however the receptionist was rude and told us all the rooms were the same and clearly a refurb was going on. She said she would call us back to see if she had anything available and funnily enough we received no phone call. I was quite annoyed but we decided to just make the most of it and went to the pool. The whirlpool was closed off and also half the pool was shut because of swimming lessons. The steam room and sauna on a positive was nice. We went out for dinner at the Italian tavern in aviemore and it was the best part of the trip. Food was amazing however we came back and the room was freezing, got no sleep as there was obviously a problem with the seal on the window as the wind was blowing through. I decided to go to the spa for a treatment the next day and it was fantastic, really made up for such an appalling stay. Rachel the therapist was amazing so full credit to her. After checking out we decided to go to the Spey shopping centre and what do you know? Closed for 3 days for a stocktake. Absolutely ridiculous. Clearly the macdonald are more interested in making money and are happy to have disgruntled customers. We will not be returning and they should be ashamed to call themselves a 4 star. I've stayed at hilton colymbridge and the cairngorm hotel and the macdonald really need to raise their game to compete with these hotels.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Kerri87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time and effort taken to write a review.
I am sorry to learn that you were dissapointed with your recent stay with us. We always strive for the best possible service and take it seriously when guests find this not to be the case.
I am sorry that you were unhappy with your room - unfortunately the hotel was fully booked and I apologise for the fact that no alternative room was available at the time.
I am happy that you enjoyed the steam room and sauna and thank you for your kind words regarding Rachel - your wonderful comments have been passed on.

If you would like to discuss your disapointment in more detail on a personal level - please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
1.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
5.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
802 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
24.7 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Aviemore Highlands, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: £95 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in style and complete comfort at the 4-star Macdonald Highlands Hotel. With 151 luxury rooms-with-a-view and its own signature restaurant, Aspects, boasting spectacular views of the Cairngorm Mountains, the Highlands Hotel is ideal for discerning business and leisure travellers. For relaxation there's direct access to Aviemore Activity Centre, a TV lounge with comfy sofas and a DVD player, and the cozy Laggan whisky bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Highlands Aviemore
Macdonald Highlands Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Hotel Macdonald Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing