We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whow.... Loved this birthday present :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My husbands parents booked this for me for my birthday, From the minute you hit The Cairngorm mountians the view is breathtaking. Once we reached our hotel it was of high class and very smart.
When booking a meal at the steak house they ordered us a private taxi to pick us up and then come back and collect us (no charge) the food was out of this world, all the meats were local produce and mouthwatering.
The room was gorgeous all tartans and very Scottish I LOVED IT. Complimentary sparkling and still water available and your normal teas and flavoured teas.
Breakfast - Gorgeous, Range from continental to full Scottish with a choice how i wanted my eggs cooked.
There was a complex which is spotless with shops and another small lunch like restaurant, we had a spot of lunch here when we arrived which was ok but was easy to tell it was end of lunch service. However 1st class service again.
I have no hesitation with telling it how it is, this place despite getting some outside work done is amazing and the bed was so comphy we had an amazing sleep...
We will be back & would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: We had no problems with our room, None!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaks_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am delighted to learn that you had such a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed every aspect of it.
It is such a pleasure to read your review and hear that everything from the room, dining and breakfast was accommodating and exceeded your expectations.

We cannot wait to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Great venue for family get aways. Staff all helpful, friendly and professional. Clean and good decor. Room a bit overstuffed with furniture but clean and with everything you need. Service and food great. We used the pool which was excellent and the kids soft play. Only a couple of small things that mean no top marks. I asked for a cot in the room and it wasn't there. I didn't chase it up as the bed was big enough for us. Could be annoying for others. All the doors in the pool changing room that I tried were damaged, stuck, rickety. Wouldn't be too much of a big deal to get this fixed. There is a four pound charge for the soft play area even if you are a hotel guest. This is really not on. Really needs to be part of the free facilities for residents in the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelk1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a review with us.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is great that you had the opportunity to make use of the leisure facilities on site and had a good time doing so.
Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff - I am delighted to hear that they were welcoming and helpful.
Please note that your feedback regarding the facilites has been taken on board.

We loo forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Have just returned from 4 nights DBB at this hotel. When you arrive do not be put off by the Reception/ Bar area which is very dated and inapprpriate for any hotel - there is a pillar right in front of the reception desk! The piped music will make you want to cry!!!
However once over this hurdle the staff are charming and attentive. The food in both Aspects and the italian restaurants is excellent as are the maitre,d and waiters/waitresses. The hotel is very well situated for all local attractions and also for Perthshire and Inverness. The pool is laso good. Definately a 4 star and worth a visit

Room Tip: Family rooms are a great size.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Trp Advisor.
I am delighted to read you review and learn that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our staff - it is a pleasure to hear that they made you feel welcome and were helpful.

We look forward to welcome you back to the resort.

Best regards,

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We recently had a 2 night stay at this hotel and are delighted to say it was an excellent choice. The room we had was clean spacious and warm. We were staying on a dinner bed and breakfast basis. The food in the Aspects restaurant was excellent but the breakfast was a buffet which means the food is usually lukewarm by the time you get it. Would prefer made to order breakfast. The most pleasing thing about our stay was the staff. They are surely the nicest , most friendly hotel staff you could find. A big plus! Overall a most enjoyable stay in Aviemore. Would recommend this hotel and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walshmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Trp Advisor.
I am delighted to read you review and learn that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our staff - it is a pleasure to hear that they made you feel welcome and were helpful.

We look forward to welcome you back to the resort.

Best regards,

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

3rd visit to this hotel. Stayed in Highland Hotel in a newly refurbished room. Breakfast self service with good selection. Leisure facilities undergoing refurb so no gym and jacuzzi out of order. Slightly disappointed with this as not told when booking

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MoCGuider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for the time taken to write a reivew.
I am sorry to hear that you were not advised about the gym currently being closed and offer you my apologies for that causing an inconvenience during your stay. Please note that your comments have been passed on.
Breakfast tends to be very popular with our guests and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed it as well.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had one night in this hotel. Not long enough to make use of the facilities there. Great for families with the cinema, shopping and pool.
Our room had a huge comfy bed and was obviously one of the newly refurbished ones and couldn't fault it.
We didn't eat at the hotel apart from breakfast which had a really good selection of cereals pastries yogurts etc. The cooked breakfast was ok. Buffet style so some of the food was a bit dried up. Great location for Aviemore- a 5 minute walk takes you there.

Room Tip: I'd definitely ask for a refurbished room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 653Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us.
It is great that you had the time to make use of all the leisure facilities that we offer onsite and enjoyed them all.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

To say we were disappointed with our room (family room) would be a huge understatement!! Very very basic. Three beds and a small ancient (box like) portable tv. Beds are rock hard and pillows (they do give you 2 extra to share between 4 people) are of the poorest quality. This hotel is more of a 1* NOT a 3*!! The internet images paint a very different picture from the room we were given and when asked (this resort has several 'hotels on it, all the same company) we were told the family rooms are different! This was not stated when we booked and is misleading to say the least!! I'd never suggest that anyone book here as a family as, unless you like to sleep on a board, you'll have very little sleep!!! Never will we book here again!!

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank MichelleKellyJonRiddoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
782 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,300 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Aviemore Highlands, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: £112 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in style and complete comfort at the 4-star Macdonald Highlands Hotel. With 151 luxury rooms-with-a-view and its own signature restaurant, Aspects, boasting spectacular views of the Cairngorm Mountains, the Highlands Hotel is ideal for discerning business and leisure travellers. For relaxation there's direct access to Aviemore Activity Centre, a TV lounge with comfy sofas and a DVD player, and the cozy Laggan whisky bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Highlands Aviemore
Macdonald Highlands Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Hotel Macdonald Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing