We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We decided to go for a last minute weekend break here taking our grandson who is only 4. The room was spacious and very nice but had no mini bar and no safe. The food in the Aspects restaurant was excellent both at dinner and breakfast and the service was first class but not intrusive.
The second night we had dinner in the Italian and once again the food was very good, but the service was dire. We had booked for 8 pm but my grandson was tired and my wife called reservations to ask that we move the time to 7.30, she was told that this was not possible as the restaurant was fully booked. We went just before 8.00 to find only 14 people in the restaurant and we were the last ones to come in that night. We ordered garlic bread which never arrived and they gave both my wife and I the wrong main course. Having said that the food was great and the portions were huge.

They advertise a gym but we found out on arrival that it had been shut for 6 weeks, with no mention of this on the website or when telephoning. This was a disappointment to say the least. To rub salt in to the wound on checking out we were asked if we had used the alternative gym which you could get a lift to. Why no mention of this on checking in?

They have a lovely spacious pool with a flume for kids. However, it appears that the flume is only open between 1100 and 1600, the very time when families are out for the day. We were in the pool three times and it was never open. They told us it was due to a lack of staff but on the Monday morning there were three staff in the pool are all talking together, but they still would not open the flume. My grandson was distraught as he wanted nothing more than to try it out.

Not sure what is going on in the hotel, but they advertise both fishing and a dry ski slope, but both are shut. All in all this did not work for us and we were a bit disappointed. It appears that the gym will be closed for a total of at least 10 weeks, why so long? The complex is in a great location but there are better around. Next time will probably try the nearby Hilton.

Room Tip: Do not pay for your meals up front. They charge £25 per adult for this but you can buy it when you a...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goansoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a reivew.

I am sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with certain aspects of your stay with us.
I apologise for the lack of communication during your check in procedure and that the alternative gym option was not brought to your attention. This has been passed on to the relevant department to ensure it will not happen again.
It is unfortunate that you were left feeling dissapointed the the hours of the flume in our leisure centre. It does only operate during specific hours to accommodate the various guest segments that stay on resort.
I am delighted to hear that you tried the dining options on site and enjoyed them - please not that your experience in Giovannis has been brought to their attention.

We hope you get the opportunity to welcome you back again,

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (795)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

425 - 431 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just back from the most amazing stay in Aviemore at the Macdonald highland hotel with my husband and two kids, I honestly can't praise this hotel enough, the staff were exceptional, the food in aspects and Giovanni's was of a very good standard as was the breakfast with beautiful service. All the staff were very friendly and attentive. We were in the old style rooms but I can't complain the rooms were very clean and had all the lovely touches a hotel should have, bathrobes, slippers, toiletries, shower caps, a little fridge for your own drinks and free internet! Which I just also returned from Hilton dunblane hydro which does not offer free internet, does not offer all the little touches and had lousy breakfast and service. Macdonald put the Hilton dunblane to shame! The Macdonald highland also had a fab clean play area for kids an amazing pool for families with flume and wave machine, spa facilities, shopping and a lovely cinema! Also the hotel grounds were very well kept and in a great location thank you so very much for making our holiday very special and memorable. We will return. Mrs L Queen.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 312Johnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your resort experience.

I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us - it really is a pleasure to read.
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our staff - it is something that we work very hard on and I am so happy to hear that they made you feel welcome and were helpfu.
It is great that you had the time to make use of our leisure facilities and enjoyed them - the swimming pool always tends to be popular with our guests.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Arrived after a long day, flew from Belfast had a 2hr wait then a long drive with my daughter
and 2 year old grandson who was sick. So looking forward to our 4 star stay. Our room was
like an attached staff quarters, with about 10 different doors to pass through with a sick child,
cases and a buggy. Room ok not 4 star though!! No information about breakfast what time etc.
Slept ok breakfast was good. Back to room to collect cases etc. came back out of room and painters had sheets on the floors and were starting to paint, WHAT!!!! and nobody seems to care.
Would never stay there again and would not recommend it either.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am sorry to hear that you were left feeling dissapointed after your recent stay with us.
It is always out priority to offer the best possible guest service and we take it seriously when our guests feel that this is not the case.
I am sorry that the current improvement of the resort caused you an inconvenience when you were vacating your room.
Please note that the comments and feedback has been passed on.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Has everything you could want, good food, large pool, play park and cinema ( massive screen) rooms excellent, you can choose standard and style and also a large shopping centre. The resort also excellent central location for visiting all the local attractions .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Nic O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a reivew.
I am delighted to hear that you had such wonderful stay with us.
It is great that you had the opportunity to make use of all the facilities and activities that we offer on site and enjoyed them.

We look forward to welcome you back again.
Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked a one night stay here on a B&B basis and wished we'd booked for longer.

We had a beautiful room at the back of the hotel. We had a complimetary bottle of very nice wine on arrival with proper wine glasses which was a lovely touch. Bathrobes and slippers, toiletries and a hairdryer were also provided for your convenience. The room had a huge bed which is the best bed I have ever slept in and the pillow's were to die for. So much so that I checked who they were made by and bought a pair in Inverness on the way home. Bathroom towels were also plentiful and very soft and fluffy.

Breakfast in the morning was a buffet with anything you wanted available and all piping hot. Service was also very good.

The only downside was being wakened up at 7am by the fire alarm going off. However this in no way reflects on the hotel, the manager kept us updated as to what was going on and was most apologetic when it was discovered a guest had set it off accidentally.

One of the best 4* hotels we have ever stayed in and we will definitely return again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tesco-bag-tourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a review.
It is a pleasure to read you review and learn that you had such a wonderful stay with us.
Thank you for your kind words and comments - it is wonderful that the hotel and dining exeeded your expectations.

We cannot wait to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night. While the room was very nice with a new bathroom, I was so disappointed it wasn't as Scottish looking as I expected - I expected a tartan theme as seen on the website and from friends and family who stayed there previously. The bathroom was lovely. The corridors are old and run-down, new carpet would make a huge difference. Still under renovations as there are paint fumes and wet paint around.
Lovely breakfast. Spa pool was out order. Mixed reviews but overall would stay again if they fix corridors up and everything in working order. Thanks for the stay

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a reivew.
I am sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with the theme of the room but it is great that it was still accommodating for your stay. Please note that your comments regarding the decor of the corridoors has been taken on board.
Breakfast always tends to be very popular with our guests and I am happy to hear that you found this to be the case as well.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My husbands parents booked this for me for my birthday, From the minute you hit The Cairngorm mountians the view is breathtaking. Once we reached our hotel it was of high class and very smart.
When booking a meal at the steak house they ordered us a private taxi to pick us up and then come back and collect us (no charge) the food was out of this world, all the meats were local produce and mouthwatering.
The room was gorgeous all tartans and very Scottish I LOVED IT. Complimentary sparkling and still water available and your normal teas and flavoured teas.
Breakfast - Gorgeous, Range from continental to full Scottish with a choice how i wanted my eggs cooked.
There was a complex which is spotless with shops and another small lunch like restaurant, we had a spot of lunch here when we arrived which was ok but was easy to tell it was end of lunch service. However 1st class service again.
I have no hesitation with telling it how it is, this place despite getting some outside work done is amazing and the bed was so comphy we had an amazing sleep...
We will be back & would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: We had no problems with our room, None!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaks_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am delighted to learn that you had such a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed every aspect of it.
It is such a pleasure to read your review and hear that everything from the room, dining and breakfast was accommodating and exceeded your expectations.

We cannot wait to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
1.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
783 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,302 reviews
8.5 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Aviemore Highlands, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: £109 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in style and complete comfort at the 4-star Macdonald Highlands Hotel. With 151 luxury rooms-with-a-view and its own signature restaurant, Aspects, boasting spectacular views of the Cairngorm Mountains, the Highlands Hotel is ideal for discerning business and leisure travellers. For relaxation there's direct access to Aviemore Activity Centre, a TV lounge with comfy sofas and a DVD player, and the cozy Laggan whisky bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Highlands Aviemore
Macdonald Highlands Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Hotel Macdonald Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing