We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Nearby Hotels
The Boat Hotel(Boat of Garten)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Range Hotel(Aviemore)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairngorm Hotel(Aviemore)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairwinds Hotel(Carrbridge)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairn Hotel(Carrbridge)
US$103
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairngorm Lodge Youth Hostel(Aviemore)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveller rating
220
272
202
110
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
272
202
110
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaspects restaurantexecutive roomswimming poolleisure centreaviemore resortbuffet breakfaststeam room and saunamain receptionitalian restaurantweekend breakstayed here for two nightstea and coffeespey valleydb benjoyable stayplay areatwo night stay
Filter
Updating list...
493 - 498 of 867 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed one night following a long day climbing Braeriach! All staff were very friendly and accommodating, from reception on arrival, bar in the evening and breakfast in the morning. Room was comfortable, clean and well maintained. Good buffet breakfast. Would defiantly use again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Peter88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review sharing your resort experience.
I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us.
Thank you for your wonderful words regarding our staff, I am happy that they made you feel welcome and were helpful.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We decided to go for a last minute weekend break here taking our grandson who is only 4. The room was spacious and very nice but had no mini bar and no safe. The food in the Aspects restaurant was excellent both at dinner and breakfast and the service was first class but not intrusive.
The second night we had dinner in the Italian and once again the food was very good, but the service was dire. We had booked for 8 pm but my grandson was tired and my wife called reservations to ask that we move the time to 7.30, she was told that this was not possible as the restaurant was fully booked. We went just before 8.00 to find only 14 people in the restaurant and we were the last ones to come in that night. We ordered garlic bread which never arrived and they gave both my wife and I the wrong main course. Having said that the food was great and the portions were huge.

They advertise a gym but we found out on arrival that it had been shut for 6 weeks, with no mention of this on the website or when telephoning. This was a disappointment to say the least. To rub salt in to the wound on checking out we were asked if we had used the alternative gym which you could get a lift to. Why no mention of this on checking in?

They have a lovely spacious pool with a flume for kids. However, it appears that the flume is only open between 1100 and 1600, the very time when families are out for the day. We were in the pool three times and it was never open. They told us it was due to a lack of staff but on the Monday morning there were three staff in the pool are all talking together, but they still would not open the flume. My grandson was distraught as he wanted nothing more than to try it out.

Not sure what is going on in the hotel, but they advertise both fishing and a dry ski slope, but both are shut. All in all this did not work for us and we were a bit disappointed. It appears that the gym will be closed for a total of at least 10 weeks, why so long? The complex is in a great location but there are better around. Next time will probably try the nearby Hilton.

Room Tip: Do not pay for your meals up front. They charge £25 per adult for this but you can buy it when you are there at the same price. In the Aspects restaurant the choice is only from 3 items for each course, but changes daily. It is a waste of time in the Italian as it is far cheaper to pay as you go. Even if you chose the most expensive item allowed from each course it still does not come to £25. Best pay as you go.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goansoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a reivew.

I am sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with certain aspects of your stay with us.
I apologise for the lack of communication during your check in procedure and that the alternative gym option was not brought to your attention. This has been passed on to the relevant department to ensure it will not happen again.
It is unfortunate that you were left feeling dissapointed the the hours of the flume in our leisure centre. It does only operate during specific hours to accommodate the various guest segments that stay on resort.
I am delighted to hear that you tried the dining options on site and enjoyed them - please not that your experience in Giovannis has been brought to their attention.

We hope you get the opportunity to welcome you back again,

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just back from the most amazing stay in Aviemore at the Macdonald highland hotel with my husband and two kids, I honestly can't praise this hotel enough, the staff were exceptional, the food in aspects and Giovanni's was of a very good standard as was the breakfast with beautiful service. All the staff were very friendly and attentive. We were in the old style rooms but I can't complain the rooms were very clean and had all the lovely touches a hotel should have, bathrobes, slippers, toiletries, shower caps, a little fridge for your own drinks and free internet! Which I just also returned from Hilton dunblane hydro which does not offer free internet, does not offer all the little touches and had lousy breakfast and service. Macdonald put the Hilton dunblane to shame! The Macdonald highland also had a fab clean play area for kids an amazing pool for families with flume and wave machine, spa facilities, shopping and a lovely cinema! Also the hotel grounds were very well kept and in a great location thank you so very much for making our holiday very special and memorable. We will return. Mrs L Queen.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 312Johnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your resort experience.

I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us - it really is a pleasure to read.
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our staff - it is something that we work very hard on and I am so happy to hear that they made you feel welcome and were helpfu.
It is great that you had the time to make use of our leisure facilities and enjoyed them - the swimming pool always tends to be popular with our guests.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Arrived after a long day, flew from Belfast had a 2hr wait then a long drive with my daughter
and 2 year old grandson who was sick. So looking forward to our 4 star stay. Our room was
like an attached staff quarters, with about 10 different doors to pass through with a sick child,
cases and a buggy. Room ok not 4 star though!! No information about breakfast what time etc.
Slept ok breakfast was good. Back to room to collect cases etc. came back out of room and painters had sheets on the floors and were starting to paint, WHAT!!!! and nobody seems to care.
Would never stay there again and would not recommend it either.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am sorry to hear that you were left feeling dissapointed after your recent stay with us.
It is always out priority to offer the best possible guest service and we take it seriously when our guests feel that this is not the case.
I am sorry that the current improvement of the resort caused you an inconvenience when you were vacating your room.
Please note that the comments and feedback has been passed on.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Has everything you could want, good food, large pool, play park and cinema ( massive screen) rooms excellent, you can choose standard and style and also a large shopping centre. The resort also excellent central location for visiting all the local attractions .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Nic O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a reivew.
I am delighted to hear that you had such wonderful stay with us.
It is great that you had the opportunity to make use of all the facilities and activities that we offer on site and enjoyed them.

We look forward to welcome you back again.
Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews