We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Congratulations”
Review of The Druie

The Druie
Ranked #14 of 60 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$38
Cuisines: Scottish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Druie takes its name from the burn(river) that rushes behind the restaurant and always seems in a hurry to carry clear, sparkling mountain water from the Cairngorms to the River Spey. We are open daily 9.30am - 5.00pm for locally roasted coffee, locally sourced tasty lunches,leaf teas and delicious homemade cakes, with a focus on dishes prepared from lovingly home produced beef from our pedigree herd of Highland cattle,our velvety venison from the ancient forest of Rothiemurchus and seasonal produce from specialist producers, served in a relaxed, friendly environment. Whilst enjoying your coffee or lunch at the Druie, you can enjoy the exhibition of local artwork which changes each month, especially selected by Ellie, who manages the Gallery at Loch an Eilein and is also a member of Creative Cairngorms.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Congratulations”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoyed our lunch of home made soup and cheese scones. The best cheese scones we had ever tasted. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 8Lindsay68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, Manager at The Druie, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for telling us how much you enjoyed your visit. The staff are extremely proud of the scones they make, they want them to be the best any customer will have anywhere, so are delighted to have succeeded! Hope we see you again soon - do try the fruit and plain scones which are also amazing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    98
    32
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windlesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“what a friendly place”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Its worth making the short drive out of Aviemore to find this little haven of a place to eat. John is a tonic on any given day; cheerful, friendly and patient with every order. Mel is the powerhouse chef who takes pride in her homemade menu.
Sit inside or outside....it's a treat either way.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Morag L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, Manager at The Druie, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for making the time to write a review of your experience at the Druie. The friendly staff team work really hard to make sure all our customers have a great time every time they visit and they very much appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Best Cullen skink ever - with shared sandwich - best lunch ever!!! So tasty - friendly service and nice atmostphere - if you have room lovely homemade scones and cakes and really good coffee too. Don't go by without visiting

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shellbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, Manager at The Druie, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We are really please you enjoyed your lunch, thank you for letting us know. As you know all our food is freshly prepared, most is locally produced - even the coffee is roasted locally specially for us and we find our customers appreciate the effort that goes into making sure it is always fresh and delicious. We hope you can come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“SCONES TO DIE FOR”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Called in for afternoon tea between walks. No plans to eat but the scones looked just too good, and they were. Very friendly service, decaf tea available and those scones ..... There were plenty of other choices, but we had a meal booked for the evening. Will just have to return when next in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, Manager at The Druie, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
The Druie and Rothiemurchus Centre team are very grateful to you for your review - thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A first class coffee stop experience”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Quite the best coffee we have had on this trip to Scotland served by three most courteous young waiters in most pleasant surroundings. Immaculately clean toilets too. Unreservedly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gehdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, Manager at The Druie, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
The Druie and Rothiemurchus Centre teams are delighted you enjoyed your visit and especially the coffee. They take immense care to make excellent coffee - the beans are specially roasted in Scotland and recently the team took a huge amount of trouble to choose the right new coffee making machine. Thank you very much for taking the trouble to tell us, they are very grateful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Druie also viewed

Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to The Druie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing