We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of The Druie

The Druie
Ranked #14 of 64 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$38
Cuisines: Scottish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Druie takes its name from the burn(river) that rushes behind the restaurant and always seems in a hurry to carry clear, sparkling mountain water from the Cairngorms to the River Spey. We are open daily 9.30am - 5.00pm for locally roasted coffee, locally sourced tasty lunches,leaf teas and delicious homemade cakes, with a focus on dishes prepared from lovingly home produced beef from our pedigree herd of Highland cattle,our velvety venison from the ancient forest of Rothiemurchus and seasonal produce from specialist producers, served in a relaxed, friendly environment. Whilst enjoying your coffee or lunch at the Druie, you can enjoy the exhibition of local artwork which changes each month, especially selected by Ellie, who manages the Gallery at Loch an Eilein and is also a member of Creative Cairngorms.
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The Druie is lovely. It's small and quaint but not overcrowded in seating.

The selection of cakes are lovely, the home made soup is delicious and the time and effort put into making the design on top of the coffee just shows the pride the staff have in their work.

Hopefully visit for dinner next time I'm in Aviemore

1  Thank Liam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, Manager at The Druie, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you very much for this recommending the Druie. We have a small committed team who are grateful for you appreciation. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 271 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had cappuccinos and a selection of their cakes and slices.Delicious but I don't think low calorie.
Not far out of Aviemore and definitely recommended place to stop.

1  Thank drron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, Manager at The Druie, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this - low calorie cakes are not our speciality. The staff aim to make the best coffee, cakes and scones and we look forward to seeing you again soon to enjoy them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Always pop in at least once when up in Cairngorms. Visited twice this holiday. Both times had coffee and cakes/scones. Delicious as usual. one particular staff member can be a little frosty but mostly they are really nice. Particularly like it because we can sit outside, but under cover if raining with the dog!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mmrb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, Manager at The Druie, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you very much for letting us know how much you enjoy our cakes and scones - all homemade, Very sorry one of the members of staff is sometimes a little frosty, they will all try harder to make sure that visitors can always enjoy their their lovely friendly personalities. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I went today expecting the best, this was not followed , service was really really bad, we were a group of 6 and 4 of us only got ours , we had to ask twice for the following and in the end did not get wa we asked for , because we confrounting the young girl her attitude was disgusing , we wanted to leave. Very over priced and will not be returning.ps the smell going around the cafe was like bad breath/fishy

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Hayldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, Manager at The Druie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We are extremely sorry and embarrassed that the service went so wrong and really have no excuses for this.

The Druie Team work so hard trying to offer the best service and unfortunately due to the unexpected business levels on a Monday (that would normally only be seen during peak season or at a weekend) they were unable to do this. What made it more challenging was that 90% of the customers for the whole day arrived within 90 minutes of each other and the weather was not good enough for people to sit outside so we only had half the seating available. The staff were overwhelmed. That is not an excuse for the service you received and we will be addressing how we can make sure that we always give outstanding customer -service whatever happens.

We really would like to see you return and experience our normal high standards of friendliness, coupled with excellent customer service. We thank you for your comments it’s just a shame we were so busy on Monday and we truly are sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Service was extremely poor, ordered coffee and cake for 3 people, which I would say is a simple order. It took 3 reminders for the cakes to come, the waitress' attitude was attitude was appalling.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Beggch0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, Manager at The Druie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We are extremely sorry that you had such a bad experience at the Druie. On Monday, the number of customers was exceptional and the weather meant that people could only sit inside so we were managing a long waiting list for tables and inundated by requests for takeaways'. However, there is no excuse for the service you received and we will be addressing how we can make sure that we always give outstanding customer service -whatever the circumstances..

The Druie Team work so hard trying to offer the best service and unfortunately due to the unexpected business levels on a Monday (that would normally only be seen during peak season or at a weekend) they were unable to do this.

We really would like to see you return and experience our normal high standards of friendliness, coupled with excellent customer service. We thank you for your comments it’s just a shame we were so busy on Monday and we are truly sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Druie also viewed

Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to The Druie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing