We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location”

Mackenzies Highland Inn Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 61 Restaurants in Aviemore
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel in great location easy to find with helpful and friendly staff. Room overlooking spectacular views of Cairngorm mountains topped with snow. Good room size, some patches of damp in on suite, and peeling wallpaper in room if you look closely, but great value for money. Evening meal was tasty, good service. Bar had warm inviting atmosphere, staff and locals welcoming and friendly. Live music good but quite loud, surprisingly not a concern when up in the room. Breakfast had good choice and variety. Checkout time very reasonable at 11 and was able to leave my baggage there as it suited me till much later in the day. Great hotel, good value money, would thoroughly recommend it!

Helpful?
Thank Rebekah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    41
    29
    24
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfectly cooked, massive steaks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We went there to try the Tuesday Special menu. The food was really good for the price. We enjoyed it so much we went there for steak night the following evening. The steaks were massive and perfectly cooked. The medium came medium and the rare came rare! There was also a good selection choice craft beer and real ales on tap to wash the food down with. There was football on the bar TV. We didn't find this a problem as the sound was already turned down and there was some cool rock music in the background. Very thoughtful of Mackenzies.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christhegraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Aviemore skiing visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Rooms were ok, typical for a snow sport visit, shower beds tv tea coffee facility. Beds and duvets were fab well needed after a long cold day on the piste. Breakfast was superb all you could want and more, the breakfast staff were fab shamefully I couldn't tell you her name. We had a room above the bar and we did hear some music but to be honest we were so tired it didn't bother us.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chayney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fab service, ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Ate on a blustery Saturday night. Service first rate, reasonably priced, good sized portions. Convenient, but not a destination.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda7645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“5 stars!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Fantastic breakfast (everything you could wish for!). There were loads of lunchtime deals from small plates to large sharing platters. Dinner was superb every time we ate there and take advantage of the daily menus and dinner clubs because you will not be disappointed!
All meals were beautifully presented, cooked to perfection and exceptionally reasonably priced. The bar was well stocked with a wide variety of drinks and snacks and the staff were always happy to help and provided a friendly service. Cannot fault this restaurant and compliments to the chef!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank the_blonde_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mackenzies Highland Inn Restaurant also viewed

Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to Mackenzies Highland Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing