We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Break”
Reviewed 11 April 2012 via mobile

We are regular visitors to this hotel, so no surprises. We choose it for the family friendly ambience, which it is clearly geared up for. If you don't like kids running around or making noise in the dining room, don't stay here!

The refurbished restaurant is lovely, and nothing like some of the bad reviews on here. Yes, we had to queue for breakfast but the hotel has a guide at reception showing the busy times. They offered drinks whilst queuing. Evening meals were great, and the kids loved the Italian buffet. Only complaint is the overpriced drinks.

The swimming pool area is quite tired and in need of refurbishment, but I believe this is imminent. plenty of other activities for children.

Our room was clean and quiet, no problems at all.

Overall, we had a lovely stay and will be back.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayceee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    1,025
    619
    331
    181
See reviews for
1,396
909
54
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed for one night with two adults, two children aged 9 and 12 and our dog (£25 surcharge). We generally liked this hotel close to Cairngorms funicular with plenty of of outdoor activities nearby. The hotel is set in mature landscaped grounds, but does not take advantage of the outstanding scenery. The main lounge has a view of the car park, and a slightly 1960's feel, which we liked but may not be to everyone's taste. Coffee in the lounge is expensive

Our room had a view of the swimming pool across a narrow courtyard. The decor was dated with Artex ceiling and Magnolia colour scheme, a poorly lit bathroom, and too small for 4 people and a dog. The beds were comfortable with good quality linen. In our view the room did not deserve a 4-star rating.

We liked the swimming pools (although the water was quite cold) and the sauna, and had a game of crazy golf in the slightly tacky Funhouse.

The 3 course dinner in the comfortable and beautifully decorated restaurant was outstanding, and the breakfast was generally an enjoyable feast. Our children liked the delicious giant waffles, but had to wait around 20 minutes for them. I had a boiled egg which was on the runny side of raw, and inedible.
The staff were generally friendly and helpful. .

Watch out for surcharges. Once you add up all costs the hotel is not cheap.
Avoid Aviemore, enjoy the Cairngorms!

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms may have better views. Pet owners seem to be grouped in the less desirable rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Just returned from a long weekend in Coylumbridge, utterly disappointed. Definitely not Hilton usual standard. As Hilton customers for a number of years and having stayed in Hilton properties in this country & others, we cannot state enough how far apart this is from other Hilton hotels. Every corridor is shabby and smells of mould/dampness. The bathrooms in the rooms are badly in need of renovating & the shower is little more than a dribble. The pool area is also shabby and the roof in the pool is black with mould. The food in the restaurant in the evening is nice but the restaurant is very noisy and tables take ages to be cleared. We sat for the duration of our meal one evening with at least 6 dirty tables around us. Unless you are at breakfast for opening time, it is simply a shambles of queuing firstly to get a table then for every thing that you want to eat. The hot food in the buffet breakfast is lukewarm. We would have been perfectly happy with this if we had been paying Travel Inn type prices but this is premium Hilton prices and certainly not worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BluAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights as a family of 3 in the spring of 2011. It is nothing like what you would expect from a Hilton and we were very disappointed.

The room was average. It was clean enough and there was no big problems. However it was very dark and I wouldn't have liked to stay in it for a longer period of time.

The hotel was full of young kids running around which made things like the foyer, meals and the swimming pool unpleasant.

The food was very poor. We tried to get an a la carte on the first night but by the time we went to book it the only available time was 8.30pm which was too late. We felt the staff should have told us that the booking list fills up quickly. We went on the second night instead and the food was very disappointing and the children's buffet was very bland. The standard of the breakfasts were okay. However we had to queue for half and hour to get in which is far too long. The wine was very expensive at about £22 for a normal bottle. The cocktails were also very expensive and they weren't even made with branded drinks.

Overall, the whole thing was a rip-off and it was ruined by the Butlins feel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EColi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed here with our 6 year olds and had a ball.We had a suite which meant the kids had their own room with bunk beds and TV Food was simply outstanding but had to queue to be seated for every meal.Also alcohol was steep at £23 for a bottle of house red! Loads for the children to do from soft play, crazy golf, climbing wall & mini dry slope all on site. Only problem was everything was quite expensive.Eg 4 climbs on the climbing wall was £5, 5 mins on large trampolines for £5
15 min drive to Landmark centre which was well worth a visit. 15 mins drive to funicular railway up Carngorms. Loads to do within 1/2 hrs drive
We will return as it had everything we wanted in a holiday base.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms every time. It looks as if one part of the hotel with bedrooms still has to be refur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidElizabeth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Just back from two weeks in a Lodge (Timeshare) at Hilton Colymbridge. The weather was fantastic !! The accommodation superb, really comfortable and well fitted out with everything we needed for self catering. We had a lovely view of the woods and has red squirrels on the patio as well as some beautiful birds. The Hotel facilities were available to us so was happy to be able to have a swim most days during the early morning or 'adult only' times and often had the large pool to myself. We enjoyed some lovely walks and toured around the area as far as the Isle of Skye. Stunning scenery everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Marketed as a destination for families with toddlers is great for them, but not so good for the rest of us. Overtired children in pyjamas running around the public areas after 11 pm and jumping on their beds and slamming doors at 2 am is not ideal for a romantic weekend away but probably not the fault of the management. However, the management could do something about ensuring bookings of tables for dinner were made as requested and something about organising breakfast - we queued for half an hour before someone took our room number and tried to find us a table that had been cleared and set for breakfast (one person seemed to be doing the clearing in exaggerated slow motion) and management could have identified that a single breakfast queue regardless of the type of breakfast required led to further delays, then we got coffee instead of the ordered tea. To add to the injury we were told the chaos at breakfast was our fault for choosing to eat at a popular time! On the plus side dinner was delicious, though they forgot to bring us our wine. At bill time they tried to charge us for a child (we honestly were not harbouring one in luggage).

Room Tip: Order breakfast in bed - at least if you are kept waiting you can keep yourself amused.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
1.5 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
737 reviews
7.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
218 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Property: Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Address: Coylumbridge, Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing